Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Listen online to the first chapters of this audiobook!
All characters reduced
Elizabeth Barrett Browning and Christina Rossetti - cover

Elizabeth Barrett Browning and Christina Rossetti

Elizabeth Barret Browning

Narrator Rachel Bavidge, Georgina Sutton

Publisher: Naxos Audiobooks

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0


Elizabeth Barrett Browning (1806–1861) and Christina Rossetti (1830–1894) were both regarded as the female poet laureates of their time, and between them their writings spanned almost the entire Victorian age, from the end of Romanticism to the beginnings of Modernism. This selection of their shorter works contains all the major themes that animated them – social justice, faith, love and mortality – and some of the best-loved poetry in English, including In The Deep Midwinter and How Do I Love Thee? These poems reflect the changing world in which they were composed, but they also reflect the complex passions of two extraordinary women.
Duration: about 1 hour (01:17:37)
Publishing date: 2009-01-01; Unabridged Selections; Copyright Year: — Copyright Statment: —