Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Savage Liberty - A Mystery of Revolutionary America - cover

Savage Liberty - A Mystery of Revolutionary America

Eliot Pattison

Publisher: Counterpoint

  • 1
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

For fans of Geraldine Brooks' novels, Caleb Carr's The Alienist, or Laird Hunt's Neverhome, Elliott Pattison is an exciting talent, capable of weaving the most page-turning of historical thrillers
Set during the American Revolutionary War, Book 5 of the series is sure to capture the widest readership yet
Blood of the Oak, the last book in Pattison's Bone Rattler series, was named a Best Book of 2016 by Publishers Weekly

Other books that might interest you

  • Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey - cover

    Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey

    Patrick G Cox

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the vein of Horatio Hornblower, Patrick G. Cox weaves an exciting, authentic tale of Harry Nelson-Heron, a young midshipman in the British Navy in the early 1800s. Born in 1789 during the Irish Rebellion, Harry must overcome the prejudice against the Irish, the ancient enmity between his family and another, and the usual hazards of an active and inquisitive youth in order to realise his dream of becoming an officer in Britain’s Royal Navy. When he and his faithful friend and companion Ferghal make the treacherous journey to London to find a ship, fate smiles on them. Harry is appointed a midshipman, and Ferghal joins him on the HMS Bellerophon as a seaman. Corsairs, diplomacy, and exploration challenge their skills as the seafaring life takes Harry and Ferghal across the seas and beyond. This book is entirely a work of historical fiction. Be sure to read book two in the series, Harry Heron: Into the Unknown, to see where the adventure leads.
    Show book
  • Harry Heron: Into the Unknown - cover

    Harry Heron: Into the Unknown

    Patrick G Cox

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Harry Heron: Into the Unknown continues the exciting story begun in Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey, the flagship book in the series. A freak accident on board the HMS Spartan during a sea battle with the French navy in 1804 catapults Midshipman Harry Heron and his shipmates Ferghal O’Connor and Danny Gunn four hundred years into the future, landing them on the NECS Vanguard, flagship of the World Treaty Organisation Fleet. While Captain Blackwood and Major Heron sort out the mystery and determine whether the young men are alive or dead, Harry and his friends are faced with the challenge of learning new roles aboard a spaceship. Just as they have found their footing, they are called upon to assist the Fleet in a rescue mission on the planet Pangaea, giving them the opportunity to prove that their unique skills from the past are still very relevant in the far distant future.
    Show book
  • The Bride Price - cover

    The Bride Price

    Anne Mallory

    • 3
    • 43
    • 0
    Winner take all . . .  
    Sebastien Deville, the debauched, dangerously handsome illegitimate son of the Duke of Grandien, has waited his whole life for revenge—and suddenly it is there for the taking. A competition sponsored by the ing has all the ton talking. The winner will receive an immense fortune, a newly created title, sponsorship, and a well-born bride—everything Sebastien needs to reclaim his mother's stolen lands and to wield the colossal power itching beneath his fingertips. His victory is all but assured . . . until he meets Caroline. 
    Caroline Martin knows all about Sebastien, the legendary heartbreaker who leaves women weeping in his wake, and she is determined not to see him win the competition in which he would claim her friend as his bride. Yet sabotage is so very hard to concentrate on when the target's searing glances promise incredible pleasure and his skillful hands vow unimaginable desire. She knows the danger he presents, the temptation he offers, yet she is willing to risk everything for all she holds dear. 
    But Sebastien Deville will do anything to win . . . and Caroline's heart may become the ultimate prize.
    Show book
  • The Lion Triumphant - cover

    The Lion Triumphant

    Philippa Carr

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Played out against the seething rivalry between Inquisition-torn Spain and Elizabethan England, The Lion Triumphant traces the linked fates of strong-willed Catherine Farland and Captain Jake Pennlyon Called “The Lion,” Captain Jake Pennlyon is a fearsome and virile plunderer who takes what he wants, and his sights are set on Catherine Farland. Blackmailed into wedlock and haunted by memories of the gentle boy she was forbidden to wed, Cat vows to escape. Fate intervenes when she’s taken prisoner aboard a Spanish galleon . . . unaware that she’s a pawn in one man’s long-awaited revenge. Beginning as Elizabeth takes the throne of England, and spanning the years until the legendary defeat of the Spanish Armada, The Lion Triumphant follows Cat’s journey from the thrill of a first passion to the ferocity of a mother’s love. Despite the twists of history, her fortunes—and her heart—will remain tied to one seductive buccaneer. 
    Show book
  • Palm Trees in the Snow - A Novel - cover

    Palm Trees in the Snow - A Novel

    Luz Gabás

    • 8
    • 106
    • 0
    Letters from the past transport a young Spanish woman into the mysterious lives of her father and her uncle during the waning years of colonial rule in Guinea When Clarence comes upon a series of letters from her family’s past, she starts to piece together the story of her father’s travels with his brother, and she becomes curious about her origins. Sifting through the clues and assembling the narrative, Clarence embarks on a journey to the exotic African isle of Fernando Poo, where the 2 brothers, Jacobo and Kilian, landed after fleeing their conventional, safe lives in the Spanish Pyrenees.   A secret rests at the heart of this tale as it moves back and forth between generations and spaces. For Clarence, in 2003, the life that Jacobo and Kilian created 50 years ago on the island as 2 expatriate cocoa cultivators starts to unfold. The brothers explore a culture that is starkly different from Spain, and in the midst of discovering what it means to grow the perfect cocoa beans, they build a strong friendship—and learn the dangers and delights of forbidden love.
    Show book
  • Miss Mary's Daughter - cover

    Miss Mary's Daughter

    Diney Costeloe

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    A new emotional and gritty drama from the bestselling author of The Throwaway Children. 
     
    After her mother's death, twenty-year-old Sophie Ross is left orphaned, with only her erstwhile nursemaid and faithful friend, Hannah for company. Penniless and little chance of an income, she looks for work as a governess in London to avoid destitution. 
     
    But unbeknown to Sophie, her mother instructed Hannah to post a letter to Trescadinnick House in Cornwall upon her death. The letter will be the catalyst that changes Sophie's life forever as she learns of her mother's doomed romance and family she left behind in Cornwall. 
     
    The Penvarrow family welcomes Sophie into their fold, but the new life she's built is threatened by secrets and lies that soon come to light... 
     
    What readers are saying about Miss Mary's Daughter: 
     
    'Diney Costeloe's books are always first on my list, she writes such wonderful stories' 
     
    'I loved everything about this novel. It's an intriguing plot with a well-rounded group of characters and a beautifully written setting'.
    Show book