Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Savage Liberty - A Mystery of Revolutionary America - cover

Savage Liberty - A Mystery of Revolutionary America

Eliot Pattison

Publisher: Counterpoint

  • 1
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

For fans of Geraldine Brooks' novels, Caleb Carr's The Alienist, or Laird Hunt's Neverhome, Elliott Pattison is an exciting talent, capable of weaving the most page-turning of historical thrillers
Set during the American Revolutionary War, Book 5 of the series is sure to capture the widest readership yet
Blood of the Oak, the last book in Pattison's Bone Rattler series, was named a Best Book of 2016 by Publishers Weekly

Other books that might interest you

  • A Simple Favor - A Novel - cover

    A Simple Favor - A Novel

    Darcey Bell

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig 
    "Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author 
    She’s your best friend. 
    She knows all your secrets. 
    That’s why she’s so dangerous. 
    A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. 
    It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.  
    But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over. 
    Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.  
    A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.
    Show book
  • The Alice Network - A Novel - cover

    The Alice Network - A Novel

    Kate Quinn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Featuring an exclusive excerpt from Kate Quinn's next incredible historical novel, THE HUNTRESS 
      
    NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY BESTSELLER 
    #1 GLOBE AND MAIL HISTORICAL FICTION BESTSELLER 
    One of NPR's Best Books of the Year! 
    One of Bookbub's Biggest Historical Fiction Books of the Year! 
    Reese Witherspoon Book Club Summer Reading Pick! 
    The Girly Book Club Book of the Year! 
    A Summer Book Pick from Good Housekeeping, Parade, Library Journal, Goodreads, Liz and Lisa, and BookBub 
      
    In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947—are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption.  
    1947. In the chaotic aftermath of World War II, American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She's also nursing a desperate hope that her beloved cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive. So when Charlie's parents banish her to Europe to have her "little problem" taken care of, Charlie breaks free and heads to London, determined to find out what happened to the cousin she loves like a sister. 
    1915. A year into the Great War, Eve Gardiner burns to join the fight against the Germans and unexpectedly gets her chance when she's recruited to work as a spy. Sent into enemy-occupied France, she's trained by the mesmerizing Lili, the "Queen of Spies", who manages a vast network of secret agents right under the enemy's nose.  
    Thirty years later, haunted by the betrayal that ultimately tore apart the Alice Network, Eve spends her days drunk and secluded in her crumbling London house. Until a young American barges in uttering a name Eve hasn't heard in decades, and launches them both on a mission to find the truth...no matter where it leads. 
    “Both funny and heartbreaking, this epic journey of two courageous women is an unforgettable tale of little-known wartime glory and sacrifice. Quinn knocks it out of the park with this spectacular book!”—Stephanie Dray, New York Times bestselling author of America's First Daughter
    Show book
  • Until Proven Guilty - cover

    Until Proven Guilty

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    “Any story by Jance is a joy.” —Chattanooga Times Now fans of the enormously popular Sheriff Joanna Brady suspense series by J.A. Jance can discover another side to the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author. Until Proven Guilty—a riveting tale of the very worst kind of murder—marks the debut of Seattle Homicide Detective J.P. Beaumont. This Premium Plus edition of Until Proven Guilty—the classic novel that put the incomparable Jance on the crime fiction map—indisputably proves that she truly belongs “in the elite company of Sue Grafton and Patricia Cornwell” (Flint Journal).
    Show book
  • Standing Still - A Scottish police procedural - cover

    Standing Still - A Scottish...

    Caro Ramsay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Something very sinister is going on behind the scenes at Glasgow’s West End Festival parade in the compelling new Anderson and Costello mystery.  
     Paige Riley has been missing for a week. Not that anyone cares much about the homeless heroin addict. The case remains open but inactive; left standing still until something comes up.  
     Meanwhile, Glasgow’s citizens are in celebratory mood for the annual West End Festival parade. But beneath the jovial surface lurks something darker. A confused young woman is found wandering among the clowns, stilt-walkers and jostling crowds, claiming to have been abducted by aliens. She had originally disappeared the night before. What happened to her in those intervening hours?  
     Before DCI Anderson and DI Costello can find out, a body is discovered. Is there a connection? As the two detectives investigate, it becomes horrifyingly clear that a depraved killer has taken advantage of the busiest day of the year to carry out a gruesomely macabre plan.
    Show book
  • Summer Rain - An Inspector Banks Short Story - cover

    Summer Rain - An Inspector Banks...

    Peter Robinson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A mystery from the past bursts in upon the present in this gripping Inspector Banks short story— featuring an excerpt from Peter Robinson's new novel In the Dark Places ("Thrilling"—Louise Penny).  
    Acclaimed by Michael Connelly as "a man for all seasons," Inspector Alan Banks is among the most beloved characters in contemporary fiction. And now Banks confronts one of the most puzzling cases of his career— when a tourist claims that several decades earlier, in a previous life, he witnessed a murder committed nearby. 
    Banks doesn't believe in the supernatural. Or superstition. But when evidence of a crime comes to light, he begins to wonder: How did this mysterious visitor know about a killing possibly committed before he was born? 
    Ingenious, atmospheric, and poignant, 'Summer Rain' is perfect for both longtime Peter Robinson fans and those who have yet to discover one of the world's most popular mystery writers.
    Show book
  • Inside the Echo - The Flint K-9 Search and Rescue Mysteries #2 - cover

    Inside the Echo - The Flint K-9...

    Jen Blood

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    K-9 handler Jamie Flint and her team – both human and canine – search for a group that’s mysteriously vanished during a dog sledding expedition for battered women in Maine’s Mahoosuc Mountains. When the authorities learn that a rogue gunman was at the heart of the disappearance, the question turns to which abusive partner is behind the violence. Jamie Flint, herself a survivor of domestic abuse, is haunted by memories of her own experiences as she and her dog, Phantom, fight to find the missing women before the shooter does.
    Show book