Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Savage Liberty - A Mystery of Revolutionary America - cover

Savage Liberty - A Mystery of Revolutionary America

Eliot Pattison

Publisher: Counterpoint

  • 1
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

For fans of Geraldine Brooks' novels, Caleb Carr's The Alienist, or Laird Hunt's Neverhome, Elliott Pattison is an exciting talent, capable of weaving the most page-turning of historical thrillers
Set during the American Revolutionary War, Book 5 of the series is sure to capture the widest readership yet
Blood of the Oak, the last book in Pattison's Bone Rattler series, was named a Best Book of 2016 by Publishers Weekly

Other books that might interest you

  • Summer Loving - cover

    Summer Loving

    Rachel Ennis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    July in Polvellan brings the Summer fete and regattas up and down the coast. It’s usually a happy time – but Jess Trevanion’s relationship with Tom Peters is in trouble, as he wants a greater commitment than she is ready to make.
    
    Jess soon has other things on her mind – she has to use all her investigational skills to try and prove a woman innocent of infidelity, but it causes long-hidden secrets to come to the fore.
    
    Jess’s friends aren’t having much luck, either – teenage neighbour Tegan is being bullied over her pregnancy and Ben and Morwenna’s wedding plans are turned upside down by two huge shocks – will their big day go ahead or is it too late?
    
    The fifth in the best-selling Polvellan Mysteries by Rachel Ennis, set in beautiful Cornwall.
    Show book
  • Country Roads: A Tale of Rural Terror - cover

    Country Roads: A Tale of Rural...

    Wayne Kyle Spitzer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I let off the gas immediately and slowed down before veering into the lane behind them, even as the operator asked calmly, "Are you able to see the license number? If so, read it to me—as carefully as you can. Are they Kentucky plates?" 
    I was distracted by the men in the payload, who appeared to be lifting something heavy, but quickly focused on the plate. "Yes. Kentucky 527 CXS, Franklin County." I squinted in the fog. The lettering didn't look right. "I—I think it's been altered. I'm following as close as I dare, and it looks like—" 
    "You are behind them?" 
    "Yes. One of them was—" 
    "Sir, be advised that units are on the way and that you are not to pursue. Repeat, do not pursue. Pull over immediately and wait for officers to arrive. What is the make and model of your vehicle?" 
    "I—it's a blue Toyota—a Camry. 2004, I think. I'm—I'm slowing down. But so are they. There's men in the payload. It, it almost …"  
    I was about to say that it looked like they were lifting, well, a trough, to be frank, one of those big aluminum vats used to water horses, when the men heave-hoed the thing twice … and sent its contents hurling toward my windshield. At which point the thick, viscous stuff hit the glass like a hammer—exploding everywhere—and turned the world black. 
    Black and blood red.
    Show book
  • Red Hand of Fury The - A pre-World War One historical mystery - cover

    Red Hand of Fury The - A...

    R.N. Morris

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    A series of bizarre suicides leads Detective Inspector Silas Quinn to revisit his own troubled past … June, 1914.  A young man is mauled to death by a polar bear at London Zoo. Shortly afterwards, another young man leaps to his death from a notorious Suicide Bridge. Two seemingly unconnected deaths – and yet there are similarities.Following a third attempted suicide, DI Silas Quinn knows he must uncover the link between the three men if he is to discover what caused them to take their own lives. The one tangible piece of evidence is a card found in each of the victims’ possession, depicting a crudely-drawn red hand. What does it signify? To find the answers, Quinn must revisit his own dark past. But can he keep his sanity in the process?
    Show book
  • Palm Trees in the Snow - A Novel - cover

    Palm Trees in the Snow - A Novel

    Luz Gabás

    • 9
    • 121
    • 0
    Letters from the past transport a young Spanish woman into the mysterious lives of her father and her uncle during the waning years of colonial rule in Guinea When Clarence comes upon a series of letters from her family’s past, she starts to piece together the story of her father’s travels with his brother, and she becomes curious about her origins. Sifting through the clues and assembling the narrative, Clarence embarks on a journey to the exotic African isle of Fernando Poo, where the 2 brothers, Jacobo and Kilian, landed after fleeing their conventional, safe lives in the Spanish Pyrenees.   A secret rests at the heart of this tale as it moves back and forth between generations and spaces. For Clarence, in 2003, the life that Jacobo and Kilian created 50 years ago on the island as 2 expatriate cocoa cultivators starts to unfold. The brothers explore a culture that is starkly different from Spain, and in the midst of discovering what it means to grow the perfect cocoa beans, they build a strong friendship—and learn the dangers and delights of forbidden love.
    Show book
  • Children of the Siege - cover

    Children of the Siege

    Diney Costeloe

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    A lost child, a family divided, the bitter backdrop of war – the ingredients of this classic Diney Costeloe story, set in 19th-century France. 
     
    After the Franco-Prussian War and the siege of 1870-71, the St Clair family return to Paris, seeking refuge and security, only to be swept up into the terrible cruelties and violence of the Commune. 
     
    Here their young daughter, Helene, falls ill and a cruel twist of fate leads her to be separated from her family. Alone and frightened, she is captured by renegade French soldiers before escaping to fend for herself on the war-torn streets. Meanwhile her two brothers face each other as mortal enemies across the barricades. 
     
    Heartrending and unputdownable, this classic Diney story shows the courage of one family in the face of deadly peril.
    Show book
  • At the Midway - cover

    At the Midway

    J. Clayton Rogers

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In 1906 a detachment from the U.S. Signal Corps is attacked by three Tu-nel. The Tu-nel are descended from the therapsids, mammal-like reptiles that evolved in the Triassic Period--before the dinosaurs. They co-existed with the dinosaurs of the Jurassic and Cretaceous Periods. During the 135 million years of their existence, they have undergone major evolutionary changes. These helped them survive the mass extinctions of the dinosaurs and, much later, the giant mammals 
     
    The scene shifts to Hampton Roads, Virginia. Teddy Roosevelt is launching his Atlantic Fleet on a world cruise. It is an audacious enterprise, mainly because of the political tensions between the United States and Japan. The oldest ship in the Fleet is the Florida, commanded by Captain Oates. His vessel is constantly in the "Observation Ward" because of poor performance, a position that does not improve after the Fleet sets sail for South America. It is his ship that will ultimately confront the Tu-nel off Midway Island.
    Show book