Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
My Brilliant Friend - Neapolitan Novels Book One - cover

My Brilliant Friend - Neapolitan Novels Book One

Elena Ferrante

Translator Ann Goldstein

Publisher: Europa Editions

  • 1
  • 11
  • 0

Summary

Soon to be an HBO series, book one in the New York Times bestselling Neapolitan quartet about two friends growing up in post-war Italy is a rich, intense, and generous-hearted family epic by Italy’s most beloved and acclaimed writer, Elena Ferrante, “one of the great novelists of our time.” (Roxana Robinson, The New York Times)   Beginning in the 1950s in a poor but vibrant neighborhood on the outskirts of Naples, Ferrante’s four-volume story spans almost sixty years, as its protagonists, the fiery and unforgettable Lila, and the bookish narrator, Elena, become women, wives, mothers, and leaders, all the while maintaining a complex and at times conflictual friendship. Book one in the series follows Lila and Elena from their first fateful meeting as ten-year-olds through their school years and adolescence. Through the lives of these two women, Ferrante tells the story of a neighborhood, a city, and a country as it is transformed in ways that, in turn, also transform the relationship between her protagonists.“An intoxicatingly furious portrait of enmeshed friends,” writes Entertainment Weekly. “Spectacular,” says Maureen Corrigan on NPR’s Fresh Air. “A large, captivating, amiably peopled bildungsroman,” writes James Wood in The New YorkerFerrante is one of the world’s great storytellers. With My Brilliant Friend she has given her readers an abundant, generous, and masterfully plotted page-turner that is also a stylish work of literary fiction destined to delight readers for many generations to come.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Hellbound Heart - A Novel - cover

    The Hellbound Heart - A Novel

    Clive Barker

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Frank Cotton's insatiable appetite for the dark pleasures of pain led him to the puzzle of Lemarchand's box, and from there, to a death only a sick-minded soul could invent. But his brother's love-crazed wife, Julia, has discovered a way to bring Frank back—though the price will be bloody and terrible . . . and there will certainly be hell to pay.
    Show book
  • The Red Ledger: 3 - cover

    The Red Ledger: 3

    Meredith Wild

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    She can’t outrun him…
     
    Isabel should have died the night we met. She has a gift for looking danger in the eye and coming out unscathed. She narrowly escaped DC with her life, and now she’s on the run again. I’m hardly her guardian angel, but I’m determined to keep her safe. More, I refuse to give her up. She’s under my skin, sparking more than a few latent memories. She’s made me feel again. Showed me I’m human in ways I never knew possible. 
     
    I’ll find my way back to her, even if that means contending with the organization that has promised to keep her hidden. Except they have a different way of doing business than I’m accustomed to. Now I have to decide who I really am. Man or mercenary.
    Show book
  • The Red Ledger: 2 - cover

    The Red Ledger: 2

    Meredith Wild

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    She’s the only link to his past…
     
    Six years ago, Tristan Stone was everything to me. My whole heart, my future. We were unshakeable, bound tighter by any force that tried to drive us apart. Then he disappeared from my life, leaving me in tatters, broken and running away to one of the most intense cities in the world. Somehow he found me, but now nothing is the same…
     
    Tristan claims someone wants me dead. He’s scarred and dangerous, but all of that seems to melt away when we touch. I might be the only one who can give him his memories, but I want more. The lover I could never forget is trapped inside the heartless man he’s become. I won’t stop until I reach him. I won’t stop until I find the answers he’s not giving me.
    Show book
  • Letters from the Dead - cover

    Letters from the Dead

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A satisfying dank and creepy chiller” about hauntings and horror in a broken-down beach house on the Virginia shore (Kirkus Reviews). A battered Ouija board promises entertainment for the renters of a crumbling seaside cottage a few miles outside Cochrane Crossing. But when they play, thirteen-year-olds Lindy and Tommy receive sinister messages about someone named “Roscoe”—and their mothers encounter even more disturbing visions in the tiny, gloomy town nearby.   Something terrible happened here long ago, and one of the vacationers is about to be drawn slowly into the grip of possession by a frightening force that may prevent them all from ever returning home . . .   From an international bestselling author of horror and suspense novels, including such titles as Concert of Ghosts and the Frank Pagan series, as well as the riveting personal memoir I Hope You Have a Good Life, this is a tale of the macabre for fans of Dean Koontz and Stephen King or anyone who enjoys a spooky occult thriller.  
    Show book
  • Paranormal Shifter Romance Sons of the Oracle Box Set BBW Dragon Shifter Paranormal Romance - cover

    Paranormal Shifter Romance Sons...

    Diane Hills

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    5 HOT and SEXY Dragon Romances At The Incredible Price Of $0.99 For A Limited Time! 
    Watched Over by Dragons 
    Ruled Over by Dragons 
    Fought Over by Dragons 
    Lusted Over by Dragons 
    The Dragons' Daughter 
    For fans of Milly Taiden and T.S. Joyce stories! 
    Each book in the Sons of the Oracle series can be read as a standalone and has a guaranteed HEA, no cliffhanger!
    Show book
  • Concert of Ghosts - cover

    Concert of Ghosts

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    International bestselling author Campbell Armstrong sweeps readers back to the psychedelic sixties in an atmospheric, page-turning thriller about a fugitive ex-hippie who must run for his life when he is caught up in a political conspiracy  Many years ago, Harry Tennant managed to escape San Francisco’s Haight-Ashbury hippie scene relatively intact, although his memory of that time is largely wiped out. Now Harry’s peaceful life is overturned when his upstate–New York marijuana farm is raided by the police and he’s thrown in jail.   Released on bail, Harry is contacted by Alison Seagrove, a reporter investigating a conspiracy connected to Harry’s hazy past. When she shows him an old photo of himself and four others, Harry barely recognizes himself and can’t remember his friends’ names—or why the photograph has global political implications. To avoid prison and stay one step ahead of the killers pursuing him, Harry undertakes a chilling journey back to Haight-Ashbury to unlock the mystery behind his shattered memory.
    Show book