Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Pollyanna - cover

Pollyanna

Eleanor H. Porter

Publisher: Open Road Media Young Readers

  • 0
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

The timeless children’s story about a young orphan whose sunny outlook and effervescent spirit transform a Vermont town Alone in her big house in Beldingsville, Vermont, Miss Polly welcomes neither friends nor companions of any sort. And so when a letter arrives notifying her that her orphaned niece Pollyanna has been sent east to live with her, the cantankerous Miss Polly braces for her cherished calm to be shattered. Pollyanna seems to have little to be grateful for, especially when her aunt sends her to live in the stuffy attic of her stuffy manor. But rather than sulk over her humble accommodations, Pollyanna rejoices in the marvelous view that her attic window affords. She calls her positive attitude the “glad game,” a trick her father taught her to make the best of any situation. As she introduces the glad game to the downtrodden residents of Beldingsville, Pollyanna begins to rejuvenate the small New England town, proving that optimism and a good-hearted disposition can bring joy to anyone—maybe even stubborn, ornery Miss Polly . . .    This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.

Other books that might interest you

  • Finding Katie - The Diary of Anonymous A Teenager in Foster Care - cover

    Finding Katie - The Diary of...

    Beatrice Sparks

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This appealing teen read tells the story of Katie, a teen from an abused home, and her journey through foster care. 
    Katie is always surrounded by wealth, but feels terribly alone because of the secret horror of her angry, abusive father. When she's thrown out of her house and put into foster care, it seems like the end of the world. 
    But as she moves through the foster care system, she begins to realize that she can help others. Can she, at last, find courage and strength of her own?
    Show book
  • The Fill-In Boyfriend - cover

    The Fill-In Boyfriend

    Kasie West

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she decides to do the unthinkable…convince the cute guy waiting to pick up his sister to pretend to be her boyfriend for the night. The task is simple: two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. 
    The problem is that days after prom, she can't stop thinking about her fill-in boyfriend. But can Gia turn her fake boyfriend into a real one without exposing her lie and possibly destroying her friendships and her newfound relationship? 
    Smartly observed and wonderfully romantic, Kasie West's talent shines in this tale of one girl's unexpected quest to find love…and possibly herself.
    Show book
  • The Elite - cover

    The Elite

    Kiera Cass

    • 4
    • 21
    • 0
    The second book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    With even more glamour, intrigue, and swoon-worthy romance, this sparkling sequel to The Selection will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection, and to win Prince Maxon’s heart. Now six girls remain, and the competition is fiercer than ever—but America Singer is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it Prince Maxon—and life as the queen—that she wants? Or is it still Aspen, her first love? 
     
    Show book
  • Guardians of Fire (A Dark Faerie Tale #8) - A Dark Faerie Tale Series - cover

    Guardians of Fire (A Dark Faerie...

    Alexia Purdy

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Guardians of Fire is book 8 in A Dark Faerie Tale Series.  
    Fate is coming. 
    When the magic of Faerie fractures, the land demands the ultimate price. Hearts will shatter and alliances will be crushed, but one power might just save them all. 
    Follow your favorite Dark Faerie Tale characters once more in another world shattering adventure for the all-consuming quest for power and magic. 
    Books in this series: 
    The Withering Palace 
    Evangeline 
    Ever Shade 
    Ever Fire 
    Ever Winter 
    The Cursed 
    Ever Wrath 
    History of Fire 
    Without Armor 
    Ever Dead 
    Legends of Fire 
    Guardians of Fire
    Show book
  • The Courage to Compete - Living with Cerebral Palsy and Following My Dreams - cover

    The Courage to Compete - Living...

    Elizabeth Kaye, Abbey Curran

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A remarkable memoir by Miss Iowa USA Abbey Curran about living with cerebral palsy, competing in Miss USA, and her inspiring work with young women who have disabilities. 
    Abbey Curran was born with cerebral palsy, but early on she resolved to never let it limit her. Abbey made history when she became the first contestant with a disability to win a major beauty pageant. After earning the title of Miss Iowa, she went on to compete in Miss USA. 
    Growing up on a hog farm in Illinois, Abbey competed in local pageants despite naysayers who told her not to. After realizing her own dream, she went on to help other disabled girls achieve their goals by starting Miss You Can Do It, a national nonprofit pageant for girls and women with special needs and challenges, which became the subject of an HBO documentary with the same name. This is Abbey’s story. 
    Show book
  • Cut Both Ways - cover

    Cut Both Ways

    Carrie Mesrobian

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A TOP 10 RAINBOW LIST BOOK 
    William C. Morris YA Debut Award nominee Carrie Mesrobian delivers a “raw, sympathetic coming-of-age story [that] uncovers the messy, painful, yet vitally important process of self-discovery” (Booklist, starred review) when a high school senior comes to terms with his attraction to both his girlfriend and his male best friend. 
    It took Will Caynes seventeen years to have his first kiss. He should be ecstatic…except that it was with his best friend, Angus, while they were both drunk and stoned. Will’s not gay, but he did sort of enjoy whatever it was he felt with Angus. Unsettled by his growing interest in Angus, Will avoids his friend and even starts dating a sophomore, Brandy. When he’s hooking up with her, he’s totally into it, so he must be straight, right? Then why does he secretly keep going back to Angus? 
    Confusing as Will’s feelings are, they’re a welcome distraction from his complicated home life. His father has started drinking earlier each day when he should be working on never-ending house renovations. And his mom—divorced and living in a McMansion with her new husband—isn’t much help, unless she’s buying Will a bunch of stuff he doesn’t need. Between the two of them, neither feels like much of a parent—which leaves Will on his own in figuring things out with his girlfriend and best friend. He loves them both, but deciding who to be with will ultimately hurt someone. Himself, probably the most.
    Show book