Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Pollyanna - cover

Pollyanna

Eleanor H. Porter

Publisher: Open Road Media Young Readers

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

The timeless children’s story about a young orphan whose sunny outlook and effervescent spirit transform a Vermont town Alone in her big house in Beldingsville, Vermont, Miss Polly welcomes neither friends nor companions of any sort. And so when a letter arrives notifying her that her orphaned niece Pollyanna has been sent east to live with her, the cantankerous Miss Polly braces for her cherished calm to be shattered. Pollyanna seems to have little to be grateful for, especially when her aunt sends her to live in the stuffy attic of her stuffy manor. But rather than sulk over her humble accommodations, Pollyanna rejoices in the marvelous view that her attic window affords. She calls her positive attitude the “glad game,” a trick her father taught her to make the best of any situation. As she introduces the glad game to the downtrodden residents of Beldingsville, Pollyanna begins to rejuvenate the small New England town, proving that optimism and a good-hearted disposition can bring joy to anyone—maybe even stubborn, ornery Miss Polly . . .    This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Queen B* Strikes Back - The Queen B* #2 - cover

    The Queen B* Strikes Back - The...

    Crista McHugh

    • 0
    • 20
    • 0
    Alexis Wyndham isn’t quite sure what to think about her “friendship” with star quarterback, Brett Pederson. Sure, he has more intelligence than the entire football team combined. Not to mention that fact he’s a great kisser. When he asks her to help him with his college admission essays, she isn’t sure if he’s doing it to spend more time with her or if he’s just using her for her brains. But after her nemesis, Summer Hoyt, makes it clear she’s not finished chasing after Brett, Alexis begins realize how hard she’s fallen for Brett. Now the war is on, and the head cheerleader will find out why she should never take on a Queen B*.
    Show book
  • Vacations from Hell - cover

    Vacations from Hell

    Maureen Johnson, Sarah...

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    Life's a beach . . . and then you're undead?  
    in this must-have collection, five of today's hottest writers—Libba Bray (A Great and Terrible Beauty), Cassandra Clare (City of Bones), Claudia Gray (Evernight), Maureen Johnson (13 Little Blue Envelopes), and Sarah Mlynowski (Bras & Broomsticks)—tell supernatural tales of vacations gone awry. Lost luggage is only mildly unpleasant compared to bunking with a witch who holds a grudge. And a sunburn might be embarrassing and painful, but it doesn't last as long as a curse. Of course, even in the most hellish of situations, love can thrive. . . .  
    From light and funny to dark and creepy, these stories have something for everyone. You definitely won't want to leave this collection at home!
    Show book
  • The Nightworld - cover

    The Nightworld

    Jack Blaine

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Scraping by in classes, hanging out with his best friend Charlie, and trying to get a date with Lara Hanover, the prettiest girl in school—that was Nick Robbins’ life. 
    Survival was the last thing on his mind. 
    Then, a strange cloud appeared over the city. A cloud that kept growing. The darkness on the horizon consumed the light around it. And Nick’s dad, a Department of Defense energy physicist, might have something to do with it. Soon, it became clear that the world Nick knew would never be the same. 
    Now, night is never-ending. The temperature is falling as heat leaves the world. Plants and animals are dying and people are turning into predators waiting for any small advantage. But Nick is determined not to disappear like the fading light. Desperate to glimpse a familiar face in the shadows, Nick races to find his friends—and the one clue that’s his glimmer of hope.
    Show book
  • The Season of You & Me - cover

    The Season of You & Me

    Robin Constantine

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From Robin Constantine, author of The Promise of Amazing and The Secrets of Attraction, comes a funny and heartfelt summer romance set in New Jersey. Perfect for fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Jenny Han, and Morgan Matson. 
    Cassidy Emmerich is reeling from a sudden, humiliating breakup. The last thing she wants to do is stick around and be reminded of her ex everywhere she goes. On impulse, she decides to spend the summer with her father and his family at their Jersey Shore bed-and-breakfast. A different scene and a new job working as a camp counselor seem like the perfect recipe for forgetting Gavin as quickly as possible—not to mention for avoiding him until he leaves for college.  
    Bryan Lakewood is sick of nevers. You’ll never walk. You’ll never surf. You’ll never slow dance with a girl and have her put her head on your shoulder. Last year he made one false move—now he’s paralyzed and needs to use a wheelchair. But this summer, he’s back at his camp job and is determined to reclaim his independence—and his confidence. 
    Cass is expecting two months of healing her broken heart. 
    Bryan is expecting a summer of tough adjustments. 
    Neither is expecting to fall in love.
    Show book
  • The Crown of Dalemark - cover

    The Crown of Dalemark

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    When this final book of Diana Wynne Jones's quartet of novels about the mythical kingdom of Dalemark was published in 1995, it earned the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature. 
    The Crown of Dalemark continues the adventures of Mitt after his flight from Holand as a fugitive accused of attempted murder. Since his arrival in the North of Dalemark, Mitt has become disillusioned. The North seems no more free than the South from which he came. And now he has been given an order to kill someone he doesn't even know, or else risk the lives of his friends. 
    Forced once more to flee, Mitt is joined by Moril, the quietly powerful musician, and Maewen, out of her time but mysteriously fated to play a part in their quest. For the evil powers of the mage Kankredin are re-assembling, and only the Adon's gifts-the ring, sword, and cup-can reunite Dalemark. 
    The Countess and Lord Keril send Mitt to kill a young woman Noreth Onesdaughter, who claims to know where the lost crown is hidden.
    Show book
  • Never Cry Werewolf - cover

    Never Cry Werewolf

    Heather Davis

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Moonlight can totally change your life.  
    And it all starts so simply.  
    You. Him.  
    The moon.  
    You're toast. 
    Okay, so maybe Shelby has made a few mistakes with boys lately (how was she supposed to know Wes had "borrowed" that Porsche?). But her stepmother totally overreacts when she catches Shelby in a post-curfew kiss with a hot senior: Suddenly Shelby's summer plans are on the shelf, and she's being packed off to brat camp. It's good-bye, prom dress; hello, hiking boots. 
    Things start looking up, though, when Shelby meets fellow camper (and son of a rock star) Austin Bridges III. But soon she realizes there's more to Austin than crush material—his family has a dark secret, and he wants Shelby's help guarding it. Shelby knows that she really shouldn't be getting tangled up with another bad boy . . . but who is she to turn her back on a guy in need, especially such a good-looking one? One thing's for sure: That pesky full moon is about to get her into trouble all over again.
    Show book