Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Pollyanna - cover

Pollyanna

Eleanor H. Porter

Publisher: Open Road Media Young Readers

  • 0
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

The timeless children’s story about a young orphan whose sunny outlook and effervescent spirit transform a Vermont town Alone in her big house in Beldingsville, Vermont, Miss Polly welcomes neither friends nor companions of any sort. And so when a letter arrives notifying her that her orphaned niece Pollyanna has been sent east to live with her, the cantankerous Miss Polly braces for her cherished calm to be shattered. Pollyanna seems to have little to be grateful for, especially when her aunt sends her to live in the stuffy attic of her stuffy manor. But rather than sulk over her humble accommodations, Pollyanna rejoices in the marvelous view that her attic window affords. She calls her positive attitude the “glad game,” a trick her father taught her to make the best of any situation. As she introduces the glad game to the downtrodden residents of Beldingsville, Pollyanna begins to rejuvenate the small New England town, proving that optimism and a good-hearted disposition can bring joy to anyone—maybe even stubborn, ornery Miss Polly . . .    This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.

Other books that might interest you

  • Beware the Wild - cover

    Beware the Wild

    Natalie C. Parker

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Southern Gothic gets a whole new twist in this debut novel, sure to appeal to fans of the New York Times bestselling Beautiful Creatures series.  
    The swamp in Sterling's small Louisiana town proves to have a power over its inhabitants when her brother disappears and no one but Sterling even remembers that he existed. Now Sterling, with the help of brooding loner Heath, who's had his own creepy experience with the swamp, must fight back and reclaim what—and who—the swamp has taken. 
    Beware the Wild is a riveting and atmospheric page-turner readers won't want to miss.
    Show book
  • Jokes for Kids: Jokes Riddles & Tongue Twisters That Will Tickle Your Ribs & Make Your Funny Bone Laugh - cover

    Jokes for Kids: Jokes Riddles &...

    Nicole Townsend

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Jokes for kids is wonderful entertainment for kids. Kids love to laugh and be silly. Jokes and riddles for kids are funny and hilarious and kids will love them. What kid doesn't enjoy: knock knock jokes, riddles, and tongue twisters that they can share with all of their friends. They will tickle your ribs and make your funny bone laugh! Treat your child to some laugh out loud fun! They will become the joke teller too, once they have giggled their way through this fun book.
    
    A sneak peek inside:
    
    
    Why Jokes Are Fun	
    What is Laughter?	
    What Happens When You Have a Good Laugh?	
    How Much Do You Laugh?	
    Want to Write Humor?	
    Tips for Writing Jokes and Humor	
    Welcome to the World of Laughter	
    Funny Question Answer Jokes	
    Best Knock-Knock Jokes	
    Some More Jokes	
    Awesome Riddles	
    Tricky Tongue Twisters	
    Fabulous Puns	
    Now It’s Your Turn to Write	
    
    Knock, knock, who's there? Get your copy now to find out!
    Show book
  • Please Explain Anxiety to Me! - Simple Biology and Solutions for Children and Parents - cover

    Please Explain Anxiety to Me! -...

    Laurie Zelinger, Jordan Zelinger

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    What's happening to me? This book translates anxiety from the jargon of psychology into concrete experiences that children can relate to. Children and their parents will understand the biological and emotional components of anxiety responsible for the upsetting symptoms they experience. Please Explain Anxiety to Me, 2nd Edition gives accurate physiological information in child friendly language. A colorful dinosaur story explains the link between brain and body functioning, followed by practical therapeutic techniques that children can use to help themselves. Children will: learn that they can handle most issues if they are explained at their developmental level understand the brain/body connection underlying anxiety identify with the examples given find comfort and reassurance in knowing that others have the same experience be provided with strategies and ideas to help them change their anxiety responses be able to enjoy childhood and to give up unnecessary worrying Therapists and Educators Praise "Please Explain Anxiety To Me, Second Edition" "On any given day, around thirty percent of my patients have anxiety related symptoms. The simplicity and completeness of the explanations and treatment of anxiety given in this book is remarkable. Defining the cause, treating the core symptoms, and most importantly bringing it to a child's level accompanied by wonderful illustrations, is an incredible feat. I will definitely use this book in my practice." Zev Ash, M.D. F.A.A.P., Pediatrician "Anxiety is, of course, a complicated neuro-physiological process but it has been reduced to understandable terms in this brilliantly illustrated book for children. I would go even further and say that there are adults who could benefit from the straightforward approach." Rick Ritter, MSW, author of "Coping with Physical Loss and Disability" "This excellent book is perfect for parents to read and discuss with their children. It's also perfect for school professionals to use in the school setting." Herb R. Brown, Ed.D., Superintendent of Schools Oceanside Public Schools, New York "...A charming--and calming--explanation of anxiety that will help both children and their parents turn their internal worry switches to the OFF position." Ellen Singer, New York Times-acclaimed bestselling author  Learn more at www.DrZelinger.com From the "Growing With Love" Series at Loving Healing Press www.LHPress.com SEL036000, Self-Help : Anxieties & Phobias PSY006000 Psychology : Psychotherapy - Child & Adolescent JNF053050 Juvenile Nonfiction : Social Issues - Emotions & Feelings
    Show book
  • The Selection - cover

    The Selection

    Kiera Cass

    • 17
    • 127
    • 0
    Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series. 
    Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want. 
    Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. 
    Don't miss the next books in Kiera Cass's popular series, including The Elite, The One, The Heir, and The Crown.
    Show book
  • The One - cover

    The One

    Kiera Cass

    • 7
    • 54
    • 0
    The captivating third book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    America Singer searches for her happily ever after in this swoon-worthy YA dystopian romance, perfect for readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Entering the Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants. 
     
    Show book
  • The Elite - cover

    The Elite

    Kiera Cass

    • 7
    • 57
    • 0
    The second book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    With even more glamour, intrigue, and swoon-worthy romance, this sparkling sequel to The Selection will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection, and to win Prince Maxon’s heart. Now six girls remain, and the competition is fiercer than ever—but America Singer is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it Prince Maxon—and life as the queen—that she wants? Or is it still Aspen, her first love? 
     
    Show book