Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Pollyanna - cover

Pollyanna

Eleanor H. Porter

Publisher: Open Road Media Young Readers

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

The timeless children’s story about a young orphan whose sunny outlook and effervescent spirit transform a Vermont town Alone in her big house in Beldingsville, Vermont, Miss Polly welcomes neither friends nor companions of any sort. And so when a letter arrives notifying her that her orphaned niece Pollyanna has been sent east to live with her, the cantankerous Miss Polly braces for her cherished calm to be shattered. Pollyanna seems to have little to be grateful for, especially when her aunt sends her to live in the stuffy attic of her stuffy manor. But rather than sulk over her humble accommodations, Pollyanna rejoices in the marvelous view that her attic window affords. She calls her positive attitude the “glad game,” a trick her father taught her to make the best of any situation. As she introduces the glad game to the downtrodden residents of Beldingsville, Pollyanna begins to rejuvenate the small New England town, proving that optimism and a good-hearted disposition can bring joy to anyone—maybe even stubborn, ornery Miss Polly . . .    This ebook has been professionally proofread to ensure accuracy and readability on all devices.

Who read this book also read:

  • Stitch Camp - 18 Crafty Projects for Kids & Tweens – Learn 6 All-Time Favorite Skills: Sew Knit Crochet Felt Embroider & Weave - cover

    Stitch Camp - 18 Crafty Projects...

    Nicole Blum, Catherine Newman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In today’s thriving maker culture, kids are hungry for hands-on guidance in creating stylish wearables and practical objects, or hacking and customizing existing ones. Authors Nicole Blum and Catherine Newman get them started with complete instructions for mastering six favorite fiber crafts. Step-by-step photos teach kids ages 9–14 the basics of how to sew, knit, crochet, felt, embroider, and weave, plus how to make three projects for each craft. From woven patches and a knitted backpack to embroidered merit badges and a crocheted bracelet, the fresh, kid-approved projects encourage creative variations and build confidence along with valuable life skills.
    Show book
  • Megan 3 - cover

    Megan 3

    Mary Hooper

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    It is Jack's , Megan's son, first birthday party and the atmosphere is very tense. But Megan is being distracted by the unusual amount of telephone calls that her mother is getting. Surely Mum hasn't got a boyfriend has she? But it turns out that she has - and what is more, he is moving in. This really shakes up the dynamics of the house-hold, which Mary Hooper details with her accustomed very acccurate and precise eye for domestic detail. A must for all Megan fans.
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 1
    • 35
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits. 
    Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.
    Show book
  • Holly - Rejacketed - cover

    Holly - Rejacketed

    Mary Hooper

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    'Holly. I hope you won't mind me buying you this. I think it's the sort of thing you'll like. Am I right? And I think it matches your eyes. This comes with best wishes from (and I know it's corny). A Friend.' And that was how it all started.  
     
    Holly starts receiving anonymous gifts at the café where she works. She can't believe it - how romantic can you get? But when Holly finds out the identity of her admirer she is in for a shock - her admirer is not a potential boyfriend: her admirer is her father. Holly has to come to terms with the fact that her father is not the man who lives at home with her, who she loves and calls her father. Her father is a man who has lived all her life on the other side of the world, not even knowing of her existence. Holly and her mother have some talking to do.  
     
    Mary Hooper tackles this emotionally fraught situation with tenderness and compassion, yet still with her trademark pacy readability that has proved so popular with the young teen girls' market.
    Show book
  • A Figure of Speech - cover

    A Figure of Speech

    Norma Fox Mazer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Both overlooked in the middle of a big, noisy family, Jenny and her grandpa will always have each other to confide in . . . right? No one in Jenny Pennoyer’s family understands her at all—no one, that is, except her grandfather, who lives in an apartment in the basement of her family’s home. Jenny and her grandfather have been close ever since she was born, when Grandpa, newly widowed, found that a baby was just the thing he needed to get back on his feet.   But as Jenny’s family grows and they’re all pinched together in one house, her parents become less and less patient with Grandpa’s desire to be independent. Jenny feels like his only defender, the only one who sees him as a person with a mind of his own.   As Jenny grows increasingly protective, Grandpa’s determination and Jenny’s love for him will lead them on an adventure together that their family never expected.
    Show book
  • Sleep Tight Little Wolf – Dormi bene piccolo lupo Bilingual children's book (English – Italian) - cover

    Sleep Tight Little Wolf – Dormi...

    Ulrich Renz

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Bilingual children's book (age 2 and up), English – Italian
    Tim can't fall asleep. His little wolf is missing! Perhaps he forgot him outside? Tim heads out all alone into the night – and unexpectedly encounters some friends… 
    "Sleep Tight, Little Wolf" is a heart-warming bedtime story. It has been translated into more than 50 languages and is available as a bilingual edition in all conceivable combinations of these languages. 
    
    Libro per bambini bilinguale (da 2 anni), inglese – italiano
    Tim non riesce ad addormentarsi. Il suo piccolo lupo è sparito! Forse lo ha dimenticato fuori? Tim si  allontana tutto solo nella notte – e inaspettatamente riceve compagnia… 
    "Dormi bene, piccolo lupo" è un racconto della buona notte che scalda il cuore. È stato tradotto in oltre 50 lingue ed è disponibile in edizione bilingue in tutte le combinazioni possibili.
    Show book