Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Novel of the Tupinamba Indian - cover

The Novel of the Tupinamba Indian

E.F. Granell

Translator David Coulter

Publisher: City Lights Publishers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Picaresque novel of the Spanish Civil War written by one of the most important post-WWII members of the Surrealist Movement.  
Written by Galician surrealist artist and revolutionary E.F. Granell, The Novel of the Tupinamba Indian is a picaresque, Cervantes-influenced allegory of the Spanish Civil War. Set against a cruel landscape peopled by generals, priests, conquistadors, poets, witches, and nuns, Tupinamba Indian embodies Granell's wartime experiences while transforming them through his lush and incendiary surrealist imagination.  
Praise for The Novel of the Tupinamba Indian:  
"In an ever-shifting world populated by nameless, iconic stock figures, the Tupinamba Indian (whose head, slashed off by a conquistador, remains detachable/attachable in a brilliant metaphor for colonialism) wanders, stumbles, and thrives in a war landscape where time and space morph. … A war novel, a political allegory not only of the late '30s but also our current political moment …"—Gillian Conoley  
"Granell's Tupinamba Indian magnificently registers the author's experience with the didactic inferno of war and his ability to imaginatively ascend above it."—Will Alexander  
"An exceptional sense of humor filters through [Granell's] war experience, fleecing expectations and convictions, and freeing him to levitate this personal and collective history into a madcap romp through a violated landscape. Where tragedy emerges with the Fascist victory, prologue to World War Two, laughter curdles its edges then burns it up. … No group is sacrosanct, no one beyond reproach, priests, intellectuals, and leader (aka Franco, our 'tiny Grand Turk'), included."—Allan Graubard, co-editor of Invisible Heads: Surrealists in North America - An Untold Story  
Artist, writer, musician, socialist, professor, and veteran of the Spanish Civil War, Eugenio F. Granell (1912-2001) was one of the leading figures of the post-World War II international surrealist movement.  
Translator David Coulter is an artist who currently divides his time between Berkeley, CA and Coimbra, Portugal, where he particpates with the Cabo Mondego Section of Portuguese Surrealism.

Other books that might interest you

  • Love Me to Death - Brief Case - cover

    Love Me to Death - Brief Case

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Christmas short story.
    
     
    The first of an occasional series of short stories (covering the elapsed time between the books in The Falconer Files series.)
    
     
    On Christmas Day the two detectives are summoned to a block of apartments in Market Darley, to investigate the unexplained death of a young woman whose fiance was due to move in with her on New Year's Day.
    
     
    At first, her death seems a complete mystery, then, something that Dr Christmas discovers on the internet indicates that her death could just have been a tragic accident, or was it?
    Show book
  • In Winter's Grip - cover

    In Winter's Grip

    Brenda Chapman

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    After her mothers suicide, Maja Cleary turned her back on her family and Duved Cove, Minnesotauntil a desperate phone call reveals that her father has been murdered and her brother Jonas is the prime suspect. She flies home, knowing that she will have to confront shared memories of an abusive father. Even as she works to prove her brothers innocence, she cannot ignore the evidence that he had every reason to kill their father. The frigid, stormy Minnesota landscape sets the mood as she battles against time, the local police and the relentless snow.
    Show book
  • Hell's Belles - Damned Girl #3 - cover

    Hell's Belles - Damned Girl #3

    Clare Kauter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Meet Hell's hottest new intern.  
    Nessa has no magic licence, no money, and no choice but to take up an apprenticeship in Hell. Working for her old friend Satan isn't so bad – Hell, it turns out, is a lot like Las Vegas. Well, except for the dungeons out back which Nessa is forbidden from visiting. 
    Trouble is, Nessa thinks there might be someone in those dungeons who has what she wants: information. Maybe they can tell her why everyone from Satan to The Department of Magic and Death to the annoying (to put it mildly) poltergeist Ed is so interested in her abilities. 
    When a goblin turns up dead in Hell – a problem, since he didn’t arrive that way – Nessa needs to find out who killed him. Murder is not good for tourism, after all, and if the matter is not cleared up quickly, Satan might just lose her cool. 
    And let's be honest, that won’t end well for anybody. 
    It’s Hell like you’ve never seen it before! If you enjoy funny paranormal mysteries, this series is for you. Download now to join Nessa on her adventures in the underworld.
    Show book
  • The Doppler Effect - And Other Stories - cover

    The Doppler Effect - And Other...

    Allen Steele

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    THREE SHORT NOVELS OF SCIENCE FICTION SUSPENSE
     
    From the Hugo-winning author of Coyote, Arkwright, and Avengers of the Moon come three novellas that combine science fiction, mystery, and crime:
     
    The Doppler Effect -- Never before published, a satirical short novel about how a disgraced college professor and a young prodigy perpetrate the greatest scientific hoax in history: faking an alien signal from outer space.
     
    Frogheads -- A private investigator travels to a Venus that never was in search of a missing youth, and discovers a crime against the planet's native race ... and how those natives exact revenge of their own.
     
    Einstein's Shadow -- In an alternative timeline, a detective is given a dangerous assignment: protect Albert Einstein and his wife as they defect from Nazi Germany to the United States aboard a colossal transatlantic airliner.
     
    The Washington Post has called Allen Steele "a master of science fiction intrigue." This new collection proves again the reasons why.
    Show book
  • French Kiss - cover

    French Kiss

    Eric Van Lustbader

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The search for a mysterious artifact leads to a trek across the globe in this thriller from the New York Times–bestselling author of the Bourne novels.   In the French countryside, a man is brutally murdered. In a Connecticut church, a priest is sacrificed. All in pursuit of an artifact rumored to possess mystical powers . . .   The three-bladed weapon known as the Prey Dauw will make its owner the most feared man in the world, powerful enough to control all of Asia and its drug trade. But there is still one piece left to find.   New York lawyer Chris Haye and NYPD lieutenant Seve Guarda are drawn into the bloody search when they learn their brothers have been killed. Their quest for vengeance takes them from Manhattan to France to the depths of Southeast Asia. But the man behind their brothers’ savage murders will stop at nothing to gain the ultimate prize.   From the acclaimed author of the Nicholas Linnear series and many other bestsellers, as well as the novels that continue the story of Robert Ludlum’s Jason Bourne character, French Kiss is packed with “suspense that is sustained to the final page” (Los Angeles Times).  
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Stella Cameron

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book