Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Brick Moon and Other Stories - cover

The Brick Moon and Other Stories

Edward Everett Hale

Publisher: iOnlineShopping.com

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"The Brick Moon" is a novella by American writer Edward Everett Hale, published serially in The Atlantic Monthly starting in 1869. It is a work of speculative fiction containing the first known depiction of an artificial satellite.

"The Brick Moon" is presented as a journal. It describes the construction and launch into orbit of a sphere, 200 feet in diameter, built of bricks. The device is intended as a navigational aid, but is accidentally launched with people aboard. They survive, and so the story also provides the first known fictional description of a space station.

Contents
The brick moon -- Crusoe in New York -- Bread on the waters -- The lost palace -- 99 Linwood Street -- Ideals -- Thanksgiving at the polls -- The survivor's story


 

Other books that might interest you

  • Short Story Collection Vol 018 - cover

    Short Story Collection Vol 018

    Various Various

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Librivox’s Short Story Collection 018: a collection of 10 short works of fiction in the public domain read by a variety of Librivox members.
    Show book
  • Sir Arthur Conan Doyle - Sherlock Holmes - The Adventure Of The The Bishops Rin - cover

    Sir Arthur Conan Doyle -...

    Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fantastic Audio Selection! Highest Recommendation! Listen to one today! The book come highly recommended and its one you’ll really enjoy.
    Show book
  • Reader I Married Him - Stories Inspired by Jane Eyre - cover

    Reader I Married Him - Stories...

    Tracy Chevalier, Various Authors

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This collection of original stories by today's finest woman writers takes inspiration from the famous line in Charlotte Brontë's most beloved novel, Jane Eyre 
    A fixture in the literary canon, Charlotte Brontë is revered by readers all over the world. Her books featuring unforgettable, strong heroines still resonate with millions today. And who could forget one of literature's best-known lines: "Reader, I married him" from her classic novel Jane Eyre?  
    Part of a remarkable family that produced three acclaimed female writers at a time in nineteenth-century Britain when few women wrote, and fewer were published, Brontë has become a great source of inspiration to writers, especially women, ever since. Now, in Reader, I Married Him, twenty of today's most celebrated woman authors have spun original stories using Jane Eyre as a springboard.  
    Reader, I Married Him features stories by: 
    Tracy Chevalier | Tessa Hadley | Helen Dunmore | Kirsty Gunn | Joanna Briscoe | Jane Gardam | Emma Donoghue | Susan Hill | Francine Prose | Elif Shafak | Evie Wyld | Patricia Park | Salley Vickers | Nadifa Mohamed | Esther Freud | Linda Grant | Sarah Hall | Lionel Shriver | Audrey Niffenegger | Namwali Serpell | Elizabeth McCracken  
    Unique, inventive, and poignant, the stories in Reader, I Married Him pay homage to the literary genius of Charlotte Brontë, and demonstrate once again that her extraordinary vision continues to inspire readers and writers.A HarperAudio production.
    Show book
  • The Gentleman Vanishes - Cherringham - A Cosy Crime Series: Mystery Shorts 30 - cover

    The Gentleman Vanishes -...

    Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Bernard Mandeville loves trains. Every Sunday, the elderly and frail Bernard, in perfect attire, purchases a ticket on the Great Cotswold's Steam Railway, takes a seat in First-Class and revels in a journey from the past. But on one particular Sunday, in the midst of that short trip, the impossible happens. Bernard vanishes without a trace... The family reaches out to Sarah and Jack who must make their own remarkable journey on the rails...to track down the vanished gentleman!Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly — but with a spot of tea — it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa.For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few.Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and — most recently — the successful crime fiction series Cherringham. The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of DCI John Barnaby in "Midsomer Murders" and Jim Riley in "The Life of Riley". He is also known for his film roles in "The Nativity", "Sorted" and "Son of Rambow". In 2012 Dudgeon starred as Norman Birkett on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.
    Show book
  • Livability - Stories - cover

    Livability - Stories

    Jon Raymond

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A tired man, struggling to overcome the loss of his wife in a car accident. Two old friends, hoping to rediscover their connection on a trip to the woods. A screenwriter hoping to hear news about the future of his film. 
    In Jon Raymond's deft, nuanced stories, these and other characters contend with the frustrations, longings, and mood swings we face every day. Artfully conveying the feeling of lived experience, these stories brim with gratifying sensory detail: the sound of a tree root snapping underfoot, the smell of a roast, the stillness of the air after music has stopped. And, with careful observations and a humane spirit, Livability gives us a portrait of America full of characters finding ways to survive their own choices. 
    Published to coincide with the national release of Wendy and Lucy, these refined, elegiac stories are the work of a writer with a long and promising career ahead of him.
    Show book
  • April's Kittens - cover

    April's Kittens

    Clare Turlay Newberry

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Six-year-old April is very sad. She dearly loves her silky black cat, Sheba, and its three newborn kittens. But April and her parents live in a small New York apartment where there is room for only one cat. Which one should she choose? Listeners of all ages will be delighted by the gentle solution to April's problem. A wonderful antidote to the sharp edges of everyday life, Clare Turlay Newberry's award-winning book is filled with tenderness, longing and joy. Narrator Barbara Caruso's warm tones convey all the spirit and love of this unforgettable tale. First published more than fifty years ago, April's Kittens has become a classic that has warmed the hearts of children and their parents for several generations. Through this unabridged audio production, it can be savored again and again, especially as a treasured bedtime story.
    Show book