What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Coming Race - cover

The Coming Race

Edward Bulwer-Lytton

Publisher: White Press

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This early work by Edward Bulwer-Lytton was originally published in 1871 and we are now republishing it with a brand new biography. Vril, the Power of the Coming Race is credited with contributing to the birth of the science fiction genre and popularising the fringe ‘Hollow Earth’ theory. Edward George Earle Lytton Bulwer-Lytton, 1st Baron Lytton PC, was born in London in 1803. At the age of just fifteen, he published his first collection, Ishmael and Other Poems. He attended Cambridge University, where won the prestigious Chancellor’s Gold Medal, and in the year of his graduation published another collection, Weeds and Wild Flowers. Alongside a career in politics – most notably as Secretary of State for the Colonies – Bulwer-Lytton’s literary career blossomed out of the successes of his youth. He wrote in a variety of genres, often under pseudonyms, in order to fund an extravagant lifestyle.

Other books that might interest you

  • Magic and the Shinigami Detective - cover

    Magic and the Shinigami Detective

    Honor Raconteur

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When the Night Foxes boldly break into the Fourth Precinct’s Evidence Building, it causes quite the stir. The break-in is daring enough, but their method shreds the magical wards and protections on the building like confetti paper. To say the police are ‘alarmed’ by this is the understatement of the century.
     
    As a Magical Examiner, Henri Davenforth is of course immediately called in. Quite to his astonishment, Captain Gregson has him work the case like a detective. Even more astounding, he assigns Henri a partner.
     
    The Shinigami Detective.
     
    The woman is famous for killing the most destructive rogue witch of the century, and no one is quite certain where she’s from. Every officer in the precinct is either in awe of her or a little frightened by her. Henri is just baffled. What is he supposed to do with a partner?
     
    Hopefully killing one witch makes Jamie Edwards enough of an expert on magic to be helpful, as the thieves aren’t content to just break into one building. They in fact seem to have an agenda, as with each theft, they take magical objects. It’s all mounting to a dangerously powerful magical construct capable of toppling the wards on any building.
     
    And no one has any idea what the thieves’ true target is.
    Show book
  • The STRANGE ALLIES Collection - cover

    The STRANGE ALLIES Collection

    Vivian Lane

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Set aside the entire weekend before starting this collection because you are not going to want to put it down. This series has action, intrigue, and revelations keeping you glued to the page wanting more.
     
    This box set contains I, Paladin, Never Trust A Vampire, Cycle of Rebirths, Vampire Sacrifice, and A Paladin’s Secrets.
    Show book
  • Science Fiction & Fantasy Short Stories - cover

    Science Fiction & Fantasy Short...

    Herbert George Wells

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Wondrous worlds abound in the stories within. Heroes go on great adventures through magical realms, encounter alien races, and use their ingenuity to overcome impossible difficulties.From Robert E. Howard's thrilling stories of Conan the Barbarian to Nathaniel Hawthorne's subtle tale "The Artist of the Beautiful," the power of the imagination is breathtaking. The settings range from the frozen wastes of Antarctica to the red plains of Mars. Themes of space travel, apocalypse, magic, and power permeate these stories, but at their heart, as with all good fiction, are the characters - who remain as human as you or I.During the 19th century many writers such as Nathaniel Hawthorne and Ambrose Bierce, tried their hand at fantasy and science fiction, but few fully devoted themselves to the genre.It took two men to change this: H. G. Wells and Robert E. Howard. Wells was a founder of the science fiction genre whose novels The Time Machine and The War of the Worlds established him as one of the greatest writers of the time. Howard was nearly as influential on the fantasy genre, as his character Conan the Barbarian has remained immensely popular for generations.In the early 20th century, fantasy and science fiction truly established themselves in the pulp magazines. Writers like Charles B. Stilson, John York Cabot, and Harry Gore Bishop struggled to make a living even though they wrote prolifically for these magazines. The literary landscape as we know it today was established through the writing of these devoted individuals.This collection features several of the premier writers of speculative fiction. Authors include:W. L. AldenRobert BarrAmbrose BierceHarry Gore BishopJohn York CabotNictzin DyalhisFrancis FlaggGeorge GriffithNathaniel HawthorneRobert E. HowardKenneth MorrisWilliam MorrisCharles B. StilsonH. G. Wells
    Show book
  • The Fae Lord's Mistress - A Dark Fantasy Romance - cover

    The Fae Lord's Mistress - A Dark...

    Lisa Kumar

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    Ever since the day a fae raid stole away my parents, poverty and scavenging have been two constants in my life. Home is the human slums of Chimra, though it was once known as the great city of Chicago. The fae rule over New Earth and humanity with a neglectful and ruthless fist. But everything changes when Gabreon, the fae lord who led that raid six years ago, finds me in the forbidden dumping grounds and claims me as his own. Which leads to anger, confusion, and heartache—on my side and his.
     
    Lina. The human Gabreon couldn't forget. When he sees her in the dumping grounds, he no longer can ignore the pull between them. Though claiming her goes against everything he was brought up to believe, he takes her as his companion. During the day, she holds herself away from him, but at night, she sparks to life in his arms. As a human revolution ferments and his growing relationship with Lina becomes even more perilous, he discovers that he and his society have much to make amends for. Earning her forgiveness will be hard, but keeping both of them alive in the meantime might prove impossible.
     
    ~~This story pulls you in with its passion and adventure and doesn't let go. Lina and Gabreon's tale spans several books. Though this story can function as a standalone, it is better read as part of a series~~
     
    ~~The Fae Lord's Mistress is a dark fantasy romance that deals with sensitive issues and adult situations. If you dislike any of those, then this epic fantasy romance likely isn't for you~~
     
    ~~Serialized on Tapas in the Premium Program as The Sidhe Lord's Mistress~~
    Show book
  • Magic Outside the Box - cover

    Magic Outside the Box

    Honor Raconteur

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Henri is quite accustomed to dangerous and unusual cases landing in his lap. Being partnered to the Shinigami Detective likely has something to do with it. What he is NOT accustomed to is the queen herself marching into his lab and handing them such a case.
     
    Former Royal Mage Joseph Burtchell was found dead in his home, all signs pointing to murder. However, it’s in question as to how the murderer accomplished the deed—the house was locked, the wards fully up, and the body bearing a peculiar wound.
     
    It’s a locked room mystery, one with a suspiciously absent murder weapon and lack of suspects. Henri’s left baffled. Jamie’s excited, relishing the challenge the case represents.
     
    Who’s powerful enough to thwart a royal mage’s wards and murder him undetected?
    Show book
  • Doormaker: Devil's Harvest (A Short Story Prequel) - Doormaker #0 - cover

    Doormaker: Devil's Harvest (A...

    Jamie Thornton

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author Jamie Thornton, enter the dark and mysterious worlds of the Doormakers. For fans of Sarah J Maas, Jeff Wheeler, and Rachel E. Carter.  
     
    TWO HOURS. ONE INTERSTELLAR DRUG DEAL.  
     
    One family rule has shaped Esson's life: never open a door. Esson comes from a family of doormakers—people who unleash otherworldly violence when they open something even as simple as a refrigerator door.  
     
    Esson's family lied to him.  
    Esson didn't die when he opened a door.  
     
    But if Esson doesn't track down some magical drugs within the next two hours, the drug dealer he got involved with might just kill him anyway.
    Show book