Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
City Boy - My Life in New York During the 1960s and '70s - cover

City Boy - My Life in New York During the 1960s and '70s

Edmund White

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

In the New Y ork of the 1970s, in the wake of Stonewall and in the midst of economic collapse, you might find the likes of Jasper Johns and William Burroughs at the next cocktail party, and you were as likely to be caught arguing Marx at the New York City Ballet as cruising for sex in the warehouses and parked trucks along the Hudson. This is the New York that Edmund White portrays in City Boy: a place of enormous intrigue and artistic tumult. Combining the no-holds-barred confession and yearning of A Boy's Own Story with the easy erudition and sense of place of The Flaneur, this is the story of White's years in 1970s New York, bouncing from intellectual encounters with Susan Sontag and Harold Brodkey to erotic entanglements downtown to the burgeoning gay scene of artists and writers. I t's a moving, candid, brilliant portrait of a time and place, full of encounters with famous names and cultural icons.

Who read this book also read:

  • Female Force: Mother Teresa- A Graphic Novel - cover

    Female Force: Mother Teresa- A...

    Watami

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Mother Teresa of Calcutta was a Roman Catholic nun, founder of the Missionaries of Charity, and receipient of the 1979 Nobel Peace Prize in recognition of her humanitarian work. This graphic adaptation reveals the true story about her love, her service, and her dedication.
    Show book
  • Can't Forgive - My 20-Year Battle with OJ Simpson - cover

    Can't Forgive - My 20-Year...

    Kim Goldman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Don’t tell her she needs to find closure. Don’t ask her to forgive and forget.When Kim was just 22, her older brother, Ron Goldman, was brutally killed by O.J. Simpson. Ron and Kim were very close, and her devastation was compounded by the shocking not guilty verdict that allowed a smirking Simpson to leave as a free man.It wasn’t Kim’s first trauma. Her parents divorced when she was young, and she and Ron were raised by their father.  Her mother kidnapped her, telling her that her father didn’t love her any more. When she was 14, she was almost blinded from severe battery acid burns on her face during an automobile accident, requiring three reconstructive surgeries.But none of these early traumas compared to the loss of her brother, the painful knowledge that his killer was free, and fact that she could not even grieve privately—her grief was made painfully public. Counseled by friends, strangers, and even Oprah to “find closure,” Kim chose a different route. She chose to fight.Repeatedly, Kim and her family pursued Simpson by every legal means. Foiled over and over again, they ultimately achieved a small measure of justice.Kim’s story is one of tragedy, but also of humanity and, often, comedy. Living life as one of America’s most famous “victims” isn’t always easy, especially as a single mother in the dating market. She often had bizarre first date experiences, with one man even breaking down into tears and inconsolable with grief after realizing who she was.Ultimately Kim’s story is that of an ordinary person thrown into extraordinary circumstances at a very young age, and who had the courage—despite the discouragement of so many—to ignore the conventional wisdom and never give up her fight for justice.
    Show book
  • Alex - The Life of a Child - cover

    Alex - The Life of a Child

    Frank Deford

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A father’s moving memoir of cystic fibrosis “captures a brave child’s legacy as well as the continuing fight against the genetic disease” (TheNew York Times). In 1971 a girl named Alex was born with cystic fibrosis, a degenerative genetic lung disease. Although health-care innovations have improved the life span of CF patients tremendously over the last four decades, the illness remains fatal. Given only two years to live by her doctors, the imaginative, excitable, and curious little girl battled through painful and frustrating physical-therapy sessions twice daily, as well as regular hospitalizations, bringing joy to the lives of everyone she touched. Despite her setbacks, brave Alex was determined to live life like a typical girl—going to school, playing with her friends, traveling with her family. Ultimately, however, she succumbed to the disease in 1980 at the age of eight. Award-winning author Frank Deford, celebrated primarily as a sportswriter, was also a budding novelist and biographer at the time of his daughter’s birth. Deford kept a journal of Alex’s courageous stand against the disease, documenting his family’s struggle to cope with and celebrate the daily fight she faced. This book is the result of that journal.Alex relives the events of those eight years: moments as heartwarming as when Alex recorded herself saying “I love you” so her brother could listen to her whenever he wanted, and as heartrending as the young girl’s tragic, dawning realization of her own very tenuous mortality, and her parents’ difficulty in trying to explain why. Though Alex is a sad story, it is also one of hope; her greatest wish was that someday a cure would be found. Deford has written a phenomenal memoir about an extraordinary little girl.
    Show book
  • Mustaine - A Heavy Metal Memoir - cover

    Mustaine - A Heavy Metal Memoir

    Dave Mustaine, Joe Layden

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock n’ roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustaine tells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein of Slash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beast—an insider’s look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal.
    Show book
  • Everybody into the Pool - cover

    Everybody into the Pool

    Beth Lisick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Beth Lisick started out as a homecoming princess with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. Plunging headlong into America's deepest subcultures, while keeping both feet firmly planted in her parents' Leave It to Beaver values, Lisick makes her adult home on the fringe of mainstream culture and finds it rich with paradox and humor. On the one hand, she lives in "Brokeley" with drug dealers and street gangs; on the other, she drives a station wagon with a baby seat in the back, makes her own chicken stock, and attends ladies' luncheons. How exactly did this suburban girl-next-door end up as one of San Francisco's foremost chroniclers of alternative culture? Lisick explains it all in her hilarious, irreverent, bestselling memoir, Everybody into the Pool. 
    Fans of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell will relish Lisick's scathingly funny, smart, very real take on the effluvia of daily living. No matter what community she's exposing to the light, Lisick always hits the right chord.
    Show book
  • Chasing Diana - Perception vs Reality - cover

    Chasing Diana - Perception vs...

    Jack Firestone, Robin Firestone

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    TAGLINE: While vacationing in Paris, the lives of an American family collide with the fatal automobile crash of the world’s most beloved Princess. INSPIRED BY A TRUE STORY. 
    Princess Diana was killed on August 31, 1997 in a car crash in Paris. Where were you when you heard the news? Everybody has an answer, but nobody has an answer quite like Robin Firestone and Jack Firestone, the wife-and-husband team who have co-authored "CHASING DIANA: PERCEPTION VS. REALITY." 
    The happenstance and capriciousness of life places an American family in the seminal historic moment of the shocking death of Princess Diana in this dramatic, though breezy and light thriller/drama. A bit off-the-wall at times, yet always laced with a serious dose of wry humor and pathos, this book has the quirky endearing feel of THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL but with the macabre darkness and ironic style of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN. With an urbane sensibility coupled with a universally recognized subject matter, "CHASING DIANA: PERCEPTION VS. REALITY" will appeal to international audiences. 
    Included in this volume is a very rare Afterword, as the reader experiences a behind-the-scenes look at the trial that shook Great Britain to its core. After ten years of trying in vain to bring the truth to the forefront, on December 3, 2007, the Firestones were finally called upon to give live testimony in London at the Royal Courts of Justice for the "Coroner's Inquests into the Deaths of Diana, Princess of Wales and Mr. Dodi Al Fayed." They describe their ordeal for the first time ever in print, in this Special Edition. 
    And also included is Mr. Firestone's personal journal entitled "Tunnel Vision," which gives personal insight, from a subjective point-of-view, to the car crash, the investigation, the police, the paparazzi... and the relentlessness and restlessness of the news media that controls our lives. 
    Visit us at www.ChasingDiana.com and www.Facebook.com/ChasingDiana
    Show book