Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Five Children and It - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Five Children and It

Edith Nesbit

Publisher: Mint Editions

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Five Children and It (1902) is a children’s fantasy novel by English writer Edith Nesbit. The first book in Nesbit’s beloved Psammead trilogy—which also includes The Phoenix and the Carpet (1904) and The Story of the Amulet (1906)—Five Children and It is a story of childish wonder, adventure, and the power of imagination.
 
Five siblings move with their parents from London to the English countryside, where they adjust to the rhythms of rural life and spend their days playing and exploring outside. One day, while playing in a local gravel pit, they discover a strange creature with the eyes of a snail, the ears of a bat, a spider-shaped body, and the limbs of a monkey. Known as a Psammead, the being is a sand fairy who grants the children one wish per day—while warning them that whatever they wish for will turn to stone when the sun sets. The children’s fear quickly turns to wonder, and they begin to wish for increasingly ambitious things: a pile of gold coins; the power of flight; superhuman size; a castle. With each wish comes a commensurate adventure, forcing the children to escape more and more dangerous situations. As it grants the children wish after wish, the initially cynical Psammead grows to appreciate their vibrant imaginations and seemingly unquenchable passion for adventure. Five Children and It is masterpiece of fantasy from Edith Nesbit, one of the twentieth century’s leading authors of children’s fiction.
 
With a beautifully designed cover and professionally typeset manuscript, this edition of Edith Nesbit’s Five Children and It is a classic of English children’s literature reimagined for modern readers.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sky Ship and other stories: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Sky Ship and other stories: A...

    Geraldine McCaughrean

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'McCaughrean is one of the greatest living children's authors.' (The Bookseller) 
     
    Brilliant historical fiction from double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean. 
     
    From ships that sail in a sea in the sky and children who witness the deadly effects of a scientific experiment, to a magic carpet that brings about a day of judgement and a year where eleven days are lost and never to be found, this short-story collection will have you on the edge of your seat! 
     
    This collection of gripping historical short stories from award-winning author Geraldine McCaughrean has beautiful black-and-white illustrations by Ian McCaughrean and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Red 
    Ideal for ages 10+
    Show book
  • Empire of Storms - cover

    Empire of Storms

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 7
    • 69
    • 0
    Kingdoms collide in Sarah J. Maas's epic fifth installment in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series. 
     
    The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't. 
     
    As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.    
     
    Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?
    Show book
  • Little Leonardo’s Fascinating World of Paleontology - cover

    Little Leonardo’s Fascinating...

    Jeff Bond

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Learn fun facts about dinosaurs and the scientists who study them, called paleontologists, with simple hands-on activities for young readers. The activities, designed to engage both the readers’ hands and minds, include fossilizing a sponge, making origami dinosaur tracks, preserving toy bugs in gummy amber, and more.
    Show book
  • Pandora's Box: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Pandora's Box: A Bloomsbury Reader

    Rose Impey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A beautiful retelling of a classic Greek myth, perfect for fans of Geraldine McCaughrean. 
     
    When the world was new and the gods ruled the whole of Earth, a large wooden chest was sent to a newly-married couple with a warning not to open it. The chest was hidden away with the thought 'out of sight, out of mind'. But curiosity is a powerful thing and it can't hurt to have one little look... can it? 
     
    This retelling of the classic Greek myth from Rose Impey has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Peter Bailey and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book
  • Do Not Disturb the Dragons - cover

    Do Not Disturb the Dragons

    Michelle Robinson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Two intrepid girls go from ladies-in-waiting to knights-in-action when they rip up the rule book and go searching for adventure! 
     
    Wondermere is the luckiest kingdom in the land, all thanks to the dragons that nest on top of the castle. Nobody wants them to fly away, so everyone has to FOLLOW THE RULES and make sure everything STAYS THE SAME to keep the dragons HAPPY. 
     
    Princess Grace HATES the rules. They stop her doing everything she loves, like PLAYING TROLL-O and WEARING TROUSERS and training to be a BRAVE KNIGHT. Why do boys get all the FUN!  
     
    Determined to prove that the rules are a LOAD OF OLD SWAMP ROT, Grace and her sister Princess Portia secretly enter the year's BIGGEST TROLL-O TOURNAMENT. A couple of rule-breakers couldn't possibly disturb the dragons … could they?  
     
    Cheeky, charming and laugh-out-loud funny, the debut young fiction series from bestselling picture book author Michelle Robinson is chock-full of chuckles (and grumpy unicorns). Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell, Pamela Butchart and Emer Stamp.
    Show book
  • On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury...

    Chris Powling

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A spooky comedy from Chris Powling with hilarious illustrations by Loretta Schauer. Perfect for fans of Amelia Fang and Knitbone Pepper. 
     
    A ghost has been haunting Ben's grandpa's house with cobweb trails and the TAP-TAP-TAP of its heartbeat. So when the clock strikes twelve, Ben's brother dares him to go on a hunt for the ghost in the church graveyard. Will he be brave enough?  
     
    This quirky story from Chris Powling has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Loretta Schauer and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book