Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
A Bride for His Convenience - cover

A Bride for His Convenience

Edith Layton

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

Unless he finds a wealthy wife—and soon—Lord Ian Sutcombe will lose everything. Left deeply in debt by his foolish father and greedy stepmother, his only hope is to marry for money.  
Stung by a suitor’s cruel betrayal, Hannah Leeds, daughter of a prosperous merchant, wasn’t sure she’d ever love again. So when her father arranges her betrothal to the handsome lord, she agrees. 
It was no more than a marriage of convenience.  They would honor and obey, but never love…until a simmering passion exploded into a sizzling affair.  Now, with Hannah socializing with members of the ton and another man out to win her heart, Ian will do everything in his power to show Hannah she is his ecstasy, his desire fulfilled…and ho so much more than a bride for his convenience.

Who read this book also read:

  • Stars in the Sky - cover

    Stars in the Sky

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 62
    • 0
    Sylvia, daughter of the Duke of Belham, is bored with the various young men she meets at Lady Lambourne's masked ball. At last she escapes their attentions and makes her way into the cool, moonlit garden, where she encounters a masked stranger. The following morning, Sylvia's father reveals that he has amassed such debts from his gambling that the family can no longer maintain their high profile London life. They must return to Castle Belham and Sylvia realises that she will never see her mystery stranger again. At Castle Belham, Count Von Brauer enters their lives. In time, the Duke loses a vast sum of money to him at a gathering. The Count offers to overlook the debt in return for Sylvia's hand in marriage. At first, Sylvia refuses, but when the Duke suffers a nervous collapse, her resistence crumbles. Only a stranger from the past can rescue her from her nightmare... only the stars in the sky can point the way.
    Show book
  • A Revolution Of Love - cover

    A Revolution Of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Arriving exhausted in Ampula, the Capital of the tiny nation of Kozan on the Black Sea, and carrying top secret information from India for the Viceroy, adventurer and British Secret Service agent Drogo Forde is in need of fresh air and decides to go for a walk in the City. 
    To his amazement he encounters a beautiful young woman hanging perilously down a high wall from a rope. 
    She calls to him for help and, Master of disguise though he is, Drogo can barely cover the fact that he is instantly smitten with her. 
    With revolution in the air, the violent streets are no place for a young woman, so chivalrous Drogo escorts Thekla, for that is her name, to his rather sparse lodgings. 
    To his amazement she reveals that she is none other than the daughter of the King. And since the revolutionaries have now stormed the Royal Palace and killed the King, he has no choice but to save her and take her with him on his dangerous mission. 
    As love blossoms between them, despair fills Drogo’s heart.
    Having spent what little money he had on care and nursing for his dying mother, he cannot possibly marry his lovely young Princes and, with great anguish, he resolves to let her go.
    Show book
  • A Very Unusual Wife - cover

    A Very Unusual Wife

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    When the imperious Alston, Marquis of Falcon cynically announces that he is interested in marrying his daughter in order to gain a Royal appointment, the Earl of Warnborough is thoroughly pleased.
    	There would be many benefits to being part of his far richer neighbour’s family and estates! But the beautiful Mirabel is already betrothed and so is Deirdre, albeit secretly, which leaves only Elmina, the youngest and the Cinderella of the Warne family.
    	Nevertheless they are all shocked when she shyly says that she will be happy to marry the dashing Marquis.
    	But not as stunned as her new husband when she repels his wedding night advances with an expert Karate move! 
    	Self-educated and schooled in the martial and equine arts, Elmina blossoms inwardly and outwardly with an unusual allure of her own.
    	And she prays that her handsome new husband will come to love her for herself. But, when she is kidnapped by murderous horse thieves, it seems that she will die without knowing the love she yearns for –
    Show book
  • Sins of a Virgin - cover

    Sins of a Virgin

    Anna Randol

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    A brilliant new talent has emerged on the historical romance scene, and author Sarah MacLean calls her, “Perfect!” Anna Randol, a boldly original voice, returns with her second novel, Sins of a Virgin, a most unusual love story as edgy, sexy, and exciting as her magnificent debut, Secret in Her Kiss. The always daring—and dazzling—Anna Randol sets this, the start of a new series, in seedy underbelly of London where a desperate heroine facing destitution is about to auction off her virginity to the highest bidder, but is saved by a dashing lord who seeks her help in his mission of vengeance. Fans of Loretta Chase, Sherry Thomas and Stephanie Laurens take note: these innovative and sensual Sins are just the sort of romance you crave.
    Show book
  • No Bride No Wedding - cover

    No Bride No Wedding

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Calina Hart’s mother, the lovely Lady Carol Wood, was being forced by her ambitious father, the Earl of Hurstwood, to marry the Duke of Denholme, who is dull, boring and a poor rider – but is a Duke!
    	Early in the morning of the day of her Wedding to the Duke Lady Carol runs away with John Hart, who is a brilliant trainer of her father’s horses, as she has fallen in love with him and refuses to marry a man she does not and cannot love.
    	The Earl is furious and the Duke is made to look a fool and Society is understandably scandalised and fascinated by the story of the runaway bride.
    	They marry at once and then escape to Cornwall and nobody knows where they are and soon their adored daughter, Calina, is born and she becomes more beautiful every year.
    	Lady Carol and John Hart had always been very happy together until he died of a virulent fever in Egypt whilst taking four outstanding horses he had trained to the Khedive.
    	Calina and her mother had been about to travel to Egypt to visit his grave when her mother had died more of a broken heart than anything else.
    	Although Calina did not have much money, she wanted to carry on with the journey that she and her mother had planned and she left on a ship bound for Cairo.
    	As she was not chaperoned, she wore widows weeds and called herself ‘Lady Hartington’ after making slight alterations to her mother’s passport.
    	As she has a title, she is invited to join the Captain’s table and there she meets the good-looking Marquis of Merryfield, who is gracious and charming to her and they enjoy each other’s company.
    	Later in the voyage after stopping at Naples she meets Mr. Oliver Bagshot, an American millionaire, who never stops talking about himself and he is instantly attracted to Calina and begins to pester her.
    	How she finds Mr. Oliver Bagshot in her cabin one night after dinner with a bottle of champagne in his hand and how she runs desperately to the Marquis for help and with a most unexpected result is all told in this romantic and intriguing tale by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book
  • No Ordinary Groom - cover

    No Ordinary Groom

    Gayle Callen

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    No Ordinary Engagement  
    Miss Jane Whittington's hopes have been dashed. She'd always imagined herself marrying someone daring, adventurous, exciting. Instead, the man her father has betrothed her to is...a fop! Certainly William Chadwick is devastatingly handsome, but Jane could never love a dandy who cares for nothing save the latest fashions. So why does his heated gaze enflame a desire in her that she's never known?  
    No Ordinary Love  
    His work as a British spy has kept William apart from proper society for years -- and he has no idea that his latest “disguise” is anything less than appropriate. Now that he longs for a simpler, safer lot, he believes he's found his ideal bride in this irresistible beauty. But it will take a special sort of seduction to win Jane's heart. And when the Crown calls him back into service, how can William refuse -- even if it costs him the peace he covets...and the woman he can no longer live without?
    Show book