Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Coffin Trader - cover

The Coffin Trader

Edita A. Petrick

Publisher: Edita A. Petrick

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When a New York hotel bellhop is found murdered in Lauren's office at a Connecticut college, she can't offer the police any connection between her and the dead man. A week later, she finds a gold bullion bar and two scraps of brittle paper stashed in the staff room fridge. The bullion is stamped with an eagle-and-swastika cross--Hitler's logo. Before surrendering her find to the police, Lauren decides to see a friend at the Metropolitan Museum, to authenticate the gold bar. 
Once the museum expert examines the articles he warns that secrets tattooed into patches of human skin that accompany the bullion are deadly--considering who had opted to hide his secrets in such manner. Forty-eight hours later, when her friend dies in a traffic accident, Lauren realizes that someone else than the police wants to recover the articles and she too might have only hours to live.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Girl in the Glass Box - A Jack Swyteck Novel - cover

    The Girl in the Glass Box - A...

    James Grippando

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Miami attorney Jack Swyteck lands in the heart of the contentious immigration debate when he takes on the heart-wrenching case of an undocumented immigrant who fled to America to protect her daughter and save herself, in this timely and pulse-pounding thriller that explores the stories behind the headlines from New York Times bestselling author James Grippando, winner of the Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction. 
    Julia Rodriguez and her teenage daughter Beatriz escaped bloodthirsty gangs, random violence and, Julia's abusive husband back in El Salvador. Arriving in Miami, mother and daughter struggled to carve their own piece of the American dream. While life in the States is hard, it is safer, until Julia's rejects her boss's unwanted sexual advances. Suddenly—thanks to an "anonymous" tip to U. S. immigration authorities—she is arrested, locked in detention with criminals, and slated for deportation. Jack's only viable legal move to save her is asylum—a long shot that’s become nearly impossible in today’s charged political climate. 
    When Julia and Beatriz made the perilous trek north to freedom, they thought they’d left the danger behind them. But now, even Miami isn’t safe. A ruthless enemy may have tracked them to south Florida and is biding time, patiently waiting to strike.  
    In a case where the stakes have never been higher, Jack Sywteck may not be able to save his client—even if he wins.
    Show book
  • The Stranger Within - cover

    The Stranger Within

    Tara Lyons

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A London detective must get inside the mind of a mentally ill killer in this psychological thriller by the author of No Safe Home.   Detective Inspector Denis Hamilton is looking forward to a little time with his family when he’s called into an urgent briefing on his weekend off. Someone’s been murdered inside a mental health facility—a crime that draws Hamilton back into an investigation he thought had been closed long ago. Putting his personal worries aside, Hamilton and his Murder Investigation Team go on the hunt for Grace Murphy: an escaped mental patient hell-bent on revenge.   As the case dredges up difficult memories from his tragic past, Hamilton will have to open his mind to the difficulties of mental illness in order to solve it. How do you track a person who’s become a stranger to herself? But when a colleague's life is threatened, it’s Hamilton unlock the truth of Grace’s illness before it’s too late
    Show book
  • Dead Air - A Novel of Suspense - cover

    Dead Air - A Novel of Suspense

    Michael Bradley

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Three can keep a secret, but only if two are dead. 
     
    No one knows that better than Kaitlyn Ashe, who has been running from a childhood secret her whole life. Until now. Crowned the top rated radio DJ in Philadelphia, she is finally ready to settle down with her fiancé who knows nothing about her past. When a sudden flood of anonymous letters threatens Kaitlyn's seemingly charmed life, she realizes that someone out there knows her secret. But who?
     
    As the threatening letters escalate, Kaitlyn's life spirals toward a reunion in the one place she’d hoped to never visit again: The Shallows. Isn’t her secret buried with the dead?
     
    PRAISE FOR DEAD AIR
     
    “Want to go behind-the-scenes in the fascinating world of radio? Dead Air is steeped in authenticity thanks to Bradley’s impressive career in the field. Add in flawed, complicated characters, an eerie setting, and a jaw-dropping finale, and you have an unputdownable thriller. Gripping, a brilliantly crafted novel!” —K.J. Howe, international bestselling author of Skyjack
     
    "In his newest page-turner Dead Air, Michael Bradley will cast you to the shallows, yank you to the murkiest depths of the human psyche, and won't let you up for a single breath until the final page." —Sandra Brannan, author of the Liv Bergen Mystery Series
     
    "In Dead Air, author Michael Bradly puts his unique spin on the stalker-victim story, thanks to a rich cast of characters, a serial killer subplot, and the author's inside knowledge of the radio DJ world. Everyone's a suspect in this murderous game of musical chairs, and Bradley deftly keeps you guessing until the final note sounds. Tune in. Dead Air rocks." —J.L. Delozier, author of Con Me Once and the Persephone Smith thriller series
     
    “In Michael Bradley's Dead Air, we meet Kaitlyn Ashe, a successful and well-known radio personality in Philadelphia. Kaitlyn's got the perfect life: a devoted boyfriend, great career, and a beautiful home. The future looks bright until someone begins stalking her, threatening to unearth deadly secrets that from Kaitlyn's past that she's vowed to keep hidden until her death bed. As the stalker becomes bolder, Kaitlyn has no choice but to involve the police, giving them only part of the story about her dark past. In Bradley's thriller, the pages practically turn themselves. Dead Air is an excellent read; well-written, absorbing and filled with shocking twists. Just when you think you know where this story is going, all hell breaks loose, and Bradley expertly veers the reader onto a new and exciting path. With surprises around every corner, this book will keep you up all night until you reach its stunning conclusion. Don't miss this one!” —Lisa Regan, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling crime fiction author
     
    “Just when you think you get a handle on what’s going on, another layer of the story is peeled away and you realize you have NO IDEA.” —A. S. THORNTON, author of Daughter of the Salt King“In Michael Bradley’s captivating thriller Dead Air, a radio DJ’s spotty past catches up to her . . . an exciting mystery whose flawed leads struggle to make the right decisions.” —Foreword Reviews 
    Show book
  • Blood Cold - A Chris Black Adventure - cover

    Blood Cold - A Chris Black...

    James Lindholm

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    The legacy of a failed regime rises from the deep.
     
    Indomitable marine biologist Chris Black is looking forward to six quiet months of scientific research off the coast of Cape Town, South Africa. But when on a routine dive Chris discovers the wreck of a fishing vessel that disappeared during a storm decades earlier, he inadvertently clashes with the ghost of South Africa's Apartheid. Thousands of gold Krugerrand provide powerful motivation for treachery everywhere, and Chris is forced to take a careful look at those he trusts most. Racing against time, he must find out who is providing critical information to the criminals ... before too much innocent blood is shed.
     
    "Opening this book is like diving with sharks. Big sharks. At night. In a hurricane. What next?" -Stephen Palumbi, scientist and author of The Death and Life of Monterey Bay
    Show book
  • The Pupil - An unforgettable psychological thriller with a shocking twist perfect for summer reading - cover

    The Pupil - An unforgettable...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    One moment of carelessness. Four shattered lives. A chance for revenge. 
     
    Viola Matthews is sure she's met Katherine Baxter before. So when her husband Samuel Morton introduces Viola to the quiet, unassuming woman he has offered to mentor, she vows to discover the truth and why exactly she can't remember their meeting. 
     
    As their worlds collide and the bond between Samuel and Katherine deepens, Viola realises she must take control. As memories begin to filter back and the tension in her relationship rises, Viola begins to piece together the truth and Katherine needs to pay for what happened twelve years ago... 
     
    Perfect for fans of My Lovely Wife, The Mother in Law, Mel Sherratt and Claire Allan.
    Show book
  • Dead Man Walking - A country house murder mystery with a supernatural twist - cover

    Dead Man Walking - A country...

    Simon R. Green

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    “Call me Ishmael. Ishmael Jones. I am the man in the shadows, that even the shadows are afraid of. The secret agent whose life is the greatest secret of all. And some of the cases I work are trickier than others.”
    
    A rogue agent has come in from the cold and wants to spill his secrets. The Organisation wants Ishmael to find out if Frank Parker is who he says he is, what he really knows, and why he has emerged from the shadows after all this time. 
    
    Ishmael heads to Ringstone Lodge in Yorkshire where Parker is being held to find that an atmosphere of fear and suspicion prevails. As he and his fellow residents are menaced by a series of alarming and inexplicable incidents, Ishmael sets out to prove that it’s human trickery rather than any supernatural being behind the seemingly ghostly goings-on. But matters take an unexpected turn when one of their number is brutally murdered, and once again Ishmael must turn detective in order to entrap a twisted killer before they strike again.
    Show book