Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Tingling Treats for Halloween: Detective Yarns Supernatural Mysteries & Ghost Stories - A Witch's Den The Black Hand Number 13 The Birth Mark The Oblong Box The Horla When the World Was Young Ligeia The Rope of Fear Clarimonde The Lost Room Thrawn Janet The Purloined Letter… - cover

Tingling Treats for Halloween: Detective Yarns Supernatural Mysteries & Ghost Stories - A Witch's Den The Black Hand Number 13 The Birth Mark The Oblong Box The Horla When the World Was Young Ligeia The Rope of Fear Clarimonde The Lost Room Thrawn Janet The Purloined Letter…

Edgar Allan Poe, Arthur Conan Doyle, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Wilkie Collins, Anton Chekhov, Arthur B. Reeve, Anna Katherine Green, Sir Robert Anderson, Thomas W. Hanshew, Mary E. Hanshew, Villiers l'Isle de Adam, Cleveland Moffett, Florence Marryat, William Archer, Fitz James O'Brien, Robert Louis Stevenson, Guy de Maupassant, Pliny the Younger, William F. Harvey, M.R. James, Katherine Rickford, Ralph Adams Cram, E. F. Benson, Rudyard Kipling, Daniel Defoe, Lord Edward Bulwer-Lytton, Leopold Kompert, Ambrose Bierce, Vincent O'Sullivan, Ellis Parker Butler, E.T.A. Hoffmann, Thomas Hardy, A. T. Quiller-Couch, Margaret Oliphant, Erckmann-Chatrian, Fiona Macleod, Amelia B. Edwards, Frederick Marryat, Théophile Gautier, Jack London, William T. Stead, Gambier Bolton, Andrew Jackson Davis, Nizida, Helena Blavatsky, Walter F. Prince, Mark Twain, Chester Bailey Fernald

Translator William Melmoth, Julian Hawthorne

Publisher: e-artnow

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This unique horror collection is meticulously edited & formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices.
Contents:
Suspense Stories:
The Box with the Iron Clamps (Florence Marryat)
The Birth Mark (Nathaniel Hawthorne)
The Oblong Box (Edgar Allan Poe)
A Terribly Strange Bed (Wilkie Collins)
The Torture by Hope (Villiers de l'Isle Adam)
The Great Valdez Sapphire (Anonymous)
The Mysterious Card (Cleveland Moffett)
My Fascinating Friend (William Archer)
The Lost Room (Fitz-James O'Brien)Detective Stories:
A Scandal in Bohemia (A. Conan Doyle)
The Safety Match (Anton Chekhov)
The Black Hand (Arthur B. Reeve)
The Purloined Letter (Edgar Allan Poe)
The Rope of Fear (Thomas W. Hanshew and Mary E. Hanshew)
The Biter Bit (Wilkie Collins)
Missing: Page Thirteen (Anna Katherine Green)
Some Scotland Yard Cases (Sir Robert Anderson)
Ghost Stories:
The Horla (Guy de Maupassant)
Number 13 (Montague Rhodes James)
Thrawn Janet (Robert Louis Stevenson)
The Man Who Went Too Far (E.F. Benson)
To Sura: A Letter (Pliny the Younger)
The Beast with Five Fingers (William F. Harvey)
Joseph: A Story (Katherine Rickford)
Sister Maddelena (Ralph Adams Cram)
The Phantom Rickshaw (Rudyard Kipling)
The Apparition of Mrs. Veal (Daniel Defoe)
Canon Alberic's Scrap-Book (M. R. James)
The Haunted and the Haunters (Lord Edward Bulwer-Lytton)
The Silent Woman (Leopold Kompert)
The Rival Ghosts (Brander Matthews)
The Damned Thing (Ambrose Bierce)
The Interval (Vincent O'Sullivan)
Dey Ain't No Ghosts (Ellis Parker Butler)
The Banshees of Ireland
Some Real American Ghosts
The Deserted House (E. T. A. Hoffmann)
The Withered Arm (Thomas Hardy)
The House and the Brain (Lord Edward Bulwer-Lytton)
The Roll-Call of the Reef (A. T. Quiller-Couch)
The Open Door (Mrs. Margaret Oliphant)
The Mysterious Sketch (Erckmann-Chatrian)
Green Branches (Fiona Macleod)
The Were-Wolf (H. B. Marryatt)
Clarimonde (Théophile Gautier)
The Stalls of Barchester Cathedral (M. R. James)
Paranormal Psychic Stories
Humorous Mystery Stories…

Other books that might interest you

  • Common People - An Anthology of Working-Class Writers - cover

    Common People - An Anthology of...

    Kit de Waal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Common People is the latest campaigning anthology from the publisher of bestsellers The Good Immigrant (70k copies sold to date) and Repeal the 8th.It features original work from some of our best-known writers: Kit De Waal, Malorie Blackman, Lisa McInerney, Cathy Rentzenbrink, Stuart Maconie, Louise Doughty, Damian Barr and Daljit Nagra among others.Kit de Waal’s debut novel, My Name is Leon, was an international bestseller. It won Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2017 and was shortlisted for the Costa First Book Award, the Desmond Elliott Prize and the British Book Awards 2017 Best Debut Book of the Year.Kit is one of the UK’s most prominent voices calling for inclusivity and working-class representation in the arts, and has established a creative writing scholarship at Birkbeck University.Almost half of all authors, writers and
    translators in the UK come from professional, middle-class backgrounds,
    compared with just 10 per cent of those from working-class backgrounds. This
    anthology addresses that pressing imbalance.There will be events across the UK on publication, including all the major literary festivals.For fans of The Good Immigrant, Know Your Place: Essays on the Working Class by the Working Class, Brit(ish) by Afua Hirsch.
    Show book
  • Look What You made Me Do - Fathers Who Kill - cover

    Look What You made Me Do -...

    Megan Norris

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    One Australian woman is hospitalised every three hours and two more lose their lives each week as a result of family violence. But for some women there is a punishment more enduring than injury or their own death.
     
     This book is a timely exploration into the evil done by vengeful fathers who kill their own flesh and blood in order to punish wives who have chosen to end abusive relationships.
     
    Focussing on seven different but equally harrowing cases of ‘spousal revenge’, author  Megan Norris draws on her own observations as a former court and crime reporter, examining the murders of thirteen innocent children who became collateral damage in callous crimes committed by angry dads whose real targets were the children’s mothers.
     
    From the harrowing 1993 kidnap and murder of three-year-old Kelly East in WA, to the chilling murder of Darcey Freeman whose dad hurled her from Melbourne’s West Gate Bridge in 2009, these stories highlight the chilling connection between intimate partner abuse and retaliatory homicide. 
     
    They show it’s not only mothers who are in danger when domestic violence turns deadly.
    Show book
  • Conversations with Roger Scruton - cover

    Conversations with Roger Scruton

    Roger Scruton, Mark Dooley

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    This book reveals what life was like for Roger Scruton growing up in High Wycombe, how he survived Cambridge and how he came to hold his conservative outlook. It tells of Scruton's rise to prominence while writing for The Times and sheds light on his campaign on behalf of underground dissidents in Eastern Europe. Ranging across topics as diverse as the current state of British philosophy, music, religion, and illuminating what lay behind Scruton's abandonment of academia for his new life on a Wiltshire farm, Conversations with Roger Scruton is an intimate portrait of a writer who has felt philosophy as a vocation and whose defence of unfashionable causes has brought him a wide readership in Britain and around the world.
    Show book
  • A Basque Diary - Living in Hondarribia - cover

    A Basque Diary - Living in...

    Alex Hallatt

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When cartoonist Alex Hallatt wanted to learn Spanish, she moved to the Basque Country. She thought she might stay a few months and ended up there for over two years, living in a small town near San Sebastian.
    
     
    This is the illustrated account of her years in Hondarribia. It is a useful resource for anyone planning on spending time in the Basque Country, detailing what to expect in each month and how to make the most of the geographical, culinary and cultural attractions on offer.
    Show book
  • Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Collection (All the novels and stories in one volume) - cover

    Sherlock Holmes: The Complete...

    Arthur Conan Doyle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sherlock Holmes is a fictional detective of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, who first appeared in publication in 1887. He is the creation of Scottish born author and physician Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. A brilliant London-based detective, Holmes is famous for his intellectual prowess, and is renowned for his skillful use of deductive reasoning (somewhat mistakenly - see inductive reasoning) and astute observation to solve difficult cases. He is arguably the most famous fictional detective ever created, and is one of the best known and most universally recognizable literary characters in any genre.
     
    Conan Doyle wrote four novels and fifty-six short stories that featured Holmes. All but four stories were narrated by Holmes' friend and biographer, Dr. John H. Watson, two having been narrated by Holmes himself, and two others written in the third person. The first two stories, short novels, appeared in Beeton's Christmas Annual for 1887 and Lippincott's Monthly Magazine in 1890. The character grew tremendously in popularity with the beginning of the first series of short stories in The Strand Magazine in 1891; further series of short stories and two serialized novels appeared almost right up to Conan Doyle's death in 1930. The stories cover a period from around 1878 up to 1903, with a final case in 1914.
     
    This collection contains all the 60 official and the 6 unofficial Sherlock Holmes stories - in total 66 works (the biggest and greatest Sherlock Holmes collection in the eBook world).
    Show book
  • Nordic Tales - Folktales from Norway Sweden Finland Iceland and Denmark - cover

    Nordic Tales - Folktales from...

    Books Chronicle

    • 9
    • 45
    • 1
    Trolls haunt the snowy forests, and terrifying monsters roam the open sea.A young woman journeys to the end of the world, and a boy proves he knows no fear.This collection of 16 traditional tales transports readers to the enchanting world of Nordic folklore. Translated and transcribed by folklorists in the 19th century, and presented here unabridged, the stories are by turns magical, hilarious, cozy, and chilling. They offer a fascinating view into Nordic culture and a comforting wintertime read. Ulla Thynell's glowing contemporary illustrations accompany each tale, conjuring dragons, princesses, and the northern lights.
    Show book