Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Short-story - cover

The Short-story

Edgar Allan Poe, Washington Irving, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Robert Louis Stevenson, Rudyard Kipling, Francis Bret Harte

Publisher: anboco

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Washington Irving: Rip Van Winkle (1820) 
Edgar Allan Poe: The Gold Bug (1842)
The Purloined Letter (1845) 
Nathaniel Hawthorne: Howe's Masquerade (1838) 
The Birthmark (1843) 
Francis Bret Harte: The Outcasts of Poker Flat (1869)
Robert Louis Stevenson: The Sire de Malétroit's Door (1878) 
Markheim (1885)
Rudyard Kipling: Wee Willie Winkie (1888)

Other books that might interest you

  • Born of Love - cover

    Born of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    Exceedingly lovely, grey eyed-beauty Lady Marcia Woode is the apple of her father’s eye as his only child.
     
    But unlike the other Society debutantesshe is reluctant to be pinned down by marriage – indeed she has refused proposals from countless suitable suitors, the latest being from the richest Duke in the whole of England.
     
    Infuriated, Marcia’s father decides to force her to marry the illustrious French Duc de Roux, whose father was an old and distinguished friend of his.
     
    Arriving in France, Marcia is swept off her feet by the Duc’s awe-inspiring château,the magnificent gorges of the Dordogneand, best of all, his stable of fine thoroughbred horses, if not at first by the Duc himself, who is extremely tall and handsome
     
    Impressive though he is, Marcia knows that he is not in love with her, nor is she with him. And she will not marry unless it is for love and love alone.
     
    And yet, almost in spite of herself, she realises that her heart has other ideas.
     
    When she finds out that the Duc’s decadent nephew, Sardos, is plotting his murder and then she discovers the Ducat his nephew’s gunpoint amid the stalactites and stalagmites of a prehistoric Dordogne cave,
     
    And with a courage born of love, she rushes to the rescue –
    Show book
  • Pooches Pumpkins and Poison - A Pooch Party Cozy Mystery - cover

    Pooches Pumpkins and Poison - A...

    Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    USA Today–Bestselling Author: A widowed mom and animal-shelter volunteer has to put Halloween celebrations aside to hound a killer . . .   It’s Halloween season, and the local animal shelter’s pooch adoption manager, Missy Kingston, is excited to show off the available dogs at her Georgia town’s Halloween festival. But when she discovers the festival’s organizer dead in a pile of pumpkins, Missy has strong suspicions that it wasn’t natural causes.   When Missy sets out to investigate the murder on her own, what she discovers could solve the case—if she can elude a killer who’s gone out of their gourd . . .
    Show book
  • The Annual Migration of Clouds - cover

    The Annual Migration of Clouds

    Premee Mohamed

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A novella set in post–climate disaster Alberta; a woman infected with a mysterious parasite must choose whether to pursue a rare opportunity far from home or stay and help rebuild her community
    		 
    The world is nothing like it once was: climate disasters have wracked the continent, causing food shortages, ending industry, and leaving little behind. Then came Cad, mysterious mind-altering fungi that invade the bodies of the now scattered citizenry. Reid, a young woman who carries this parasite, has been given a chance to get away — to move to one of the last remnants of pre-disaster society — but she can’t bring herself to abandon her mother and the community that relies on her. When she’s offered a coveted place on a dangerous and profitable mission, she jumps at the opportunity to set her family up for life, but how can Reid ask people to put their trust in her when she can’t even trust her own mind?
    		 
    With keen insight and biting prose, Premee Mohamed delivers a deeply personal tale in this post-apocalyptic hopepunk novella that reflects on the meaning of community and asks what we owe to those who have lifted us up.
    Show book
  • The Horizons of Love - cover

    The Horizons of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Lucy, Lady Wymonde, reluctantly agrees to her husband’s request that she would chaperone his innocent orphaned young niece, Ina, for her first Season as a debutante.It was infuriating to have to take another guest with her to Chale Hall, the Marquis of Chale’s majestic stately home in the country, but that it should be a lovely young girl made it worse. It was not a question of her being a rival, that was not what Lucy feared. It was that Ina would be completely out of place in what was to be her party given her by the Marquis, whom Lucy has become infatuated with and it is only a matter of time before they begin an affaire-de-coeur.Little does she know what an innocent threat the beautiful Ina will soon become! Having reluctantly left her Bohemian background and a family friend’s villa near Nice with her devoted lady’s maid, Ina is bewildered by the sophisticated Society world of London and rather in awe of the handsome Marquis. But soon, to Lucy’s fury, the Marquis is smitten by Ina’s untainted beauty and the almost clairvoyant perceptiveness by which she seems to see deep into his soul. Ina too is entranced and, despite her aunt’s attempts to pair her off with over-eager and unattractive suitors, she too is falling in love
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • No Room at the Little Cornish Inn - a sweet and uplifting Christmas romance - cover

    No Room at the Little Cornish...

    Nancy Barone

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    There's magic in the Cornish air this Christmas... 
     
    When Rosie Anderson's boss suddenly assigns her to go incognito and save a tiny inn in Cornwall from being shut down, her dreams of a Christmas holiday with her son are shattered. And, for the life of her, Rosie has no idea why she's got to go.
     
    It's chaos from the start – after hours in the car, Rosie arrives at the inn to find that there are no rooms left. She isn't there for more than a minute before she's butting heads with the manager, Irishman Mitchell Fitzpatrick. He seems to dislike her on sight, so it's confusing that he seems to get on so well with Danny... But if he's as terrible as his reputation, Rosie will have to be the one to fire him.
     
    This really isn't the Christmas Rosie was dreaming of. But maybe, just maybe, it could be a whole lot more...
     
    A sweet and uplifting Christmas romance, No Room at the Little Cornish Inn is perfect for fans of Philippa Ashley, Holly Martin and Jenny Hale.
     
    Praise for Nancy Barone: 
     
    'I thoroughly enjoyed this utterly lovely story. Touching, heartwarming and a joy to read' Holly Martin on New Hope for the Little Cornish Farmhouse
     
    'Nothing like the magic of Cornwall!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer 
     
    'A sweet and delightful Christmas tale' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'All the makings of a classic Hallmark Christmas movie!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
    Show book