Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
THE GOLDEN BOOK OF WORLD'S GREATEST MYSTERIES – 60+ Detective Stories Whodunit Tales Suspense Occult & Supernatural Stories in One Premium Volume (Mystery & Crime Anthology) - The World's Finest Mysteries by the World's Greatest Authors: The Purloined Letter A Scandal in Bohemia The Saf... - cover

THE GOLDEN BOOK OF WORLD'S GREATEST MYSTERIES – 60+ Detective Stories Whodunit Tales Suspense Occult & Supernatural Stories in One Premium Volume (Mystery & Crime Anthology) - The World's Finest Mysteries by the World's Greatest Authors: The Purloined Letter A Scandal in Bohemia The Saf...

Edgar Allan Poe, A. Conan Doyle, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Wilkie Collins, Villiers Adam, C. Moffett, F. Marryat, William Archer, Fitz James O'Brien, Mark Twain, E. F. Benson, Guy de Maupassant, Théophile Gautier, L. Hearn, C. B. Fernando, Brander Matthews, R. L. Stevenson, W. F. Harvey, Anna Katherine Green, Anton Chekhov, T. W. Hanshew, M.R. James, Katherine Rickford, Sir R. Anderson, R. A. Cram, Pliny the Younger, Joseph L. French, Ambrose Bierce, E.T.A. Hoffmann, Helena Blavatsky, Thomas Hardy

Translator William Melmoth, Julian Hawthorne

Publisher: e-artnow

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This carefully crafted ebook: “THE GOLDEN BOOK OF WORLD'S GREATEST MYSTERIES – 60+ Detective Stories, Whodunit Tales, Suspense, Occult & Supernatural Stories in One Premium Volume (Mystery & Crime Anthology)” is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. 
This collection brings to you the World's Finest Mysteries by the World's Greatest Authors. A Must Read!
Table of Contents:
Detective Stories
The Purloined Letter (Edgar Allan Poe)
A Scandal in Bohemia (A. Conan Doyle)
The Safety Match (Anton Chekhov)
Missing: Page Thirteen (Anna Katherine Green) . . .
Suspense Stories
The Birth Mark (Nathaniel Hawthorne)
The Oblong Box (Edgar Allan Poe)
A Terribly Strange Bed (Wilkie Collins)
The Torture by Hope (Villiers de l'Isle Adam)
The Mysterious Card (Cleveland Moffett) . . .
Ghost Stories
Thrawn Janet (Robert Louis Stevenson)
The Horla (Guy de Maupassant)
To Sura: A Letter (Pliny the Younger) . . .
The Man Who Went Too Far (E.F. Benson)
The Phantom Rickshaw (Rudyard Kipling)
The Apparition of Mrs. Veal (Daniel Defoe)
The Damned Thing (Ambrose Bierce) . . .
The Deserted House (E. T. A. Hoffmann)
The Withered Arm (Thomas Hardy)
The House and the Brain (Lord Edward Bulwer-Lytton)
The Roll-Call of the Reef (A. T. Quiller-Couch)
The Open Door (Mrs. Margaret Oliphant) . . .
Paranormal Psychic Stories
When the World Was Young (Jack London)
Joseph—A Story (Katherine Rickford)
Ligeia	(Edgar Allan Poe)
A Ghost (Lafcadio Hearn)
The Eyes of the Panther (Ambrose Bierce)
Photographing Invisible Beings (William T. Stead)
The Sin-Eater (Fiona Macleod) . . .
Humorous Mystery Stories
The Secret of Goresthorpe Grange (A. Conan Doyle)
Mr. Bloke's Item (Mark Twain)
The Man Who Went Too Far (E. F. Benson)
The Man With The Pale Eyes (Guy de Maupassant) . . .

Other books that might interest you

  • Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Collection (All the novels and stories in one volume) - cover

    Sherlock Holmes: The Complete...

    Arthur Conan Doyle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sherlock Holmes is a fictional detective of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, who first appeared in publication in 1887. He is the creation of Scottish born author and physician Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. A brilliant London-based detective, Holmes is famous for his intellectual prowess, and is renowned for his skillful use of deductive reasoning (somewhat mistakenly - see inductive reasoning) and astute observation to solve difficult cases. He is arguably the most famous fictional detective ever created, and is one of the best known and most universally recognizable literary characters in any genre.
     
    Conan Doyle wrote four novels and fifty-six short stories that featured Holmes. All but four stories were narrated by Holmes' friend and biographer, Dr. John H. Watson, two having been narrated by Holmes himself, and two others written in the third person. The first two stories, short novels, appeared in Beeton's Christmas Annual for 1887 and Lippincott's Monthly Magazine in 1890. The character grew tremendously in popularity with the beginning of the first series of short stories in The Strand Magazine in 1891; further series of short stories and two serialized novels appeared almost right up to Conan Doyle's death in 1930. The stories cover a period from around 1878 up to 1903, with a final case in 1914.
     
    This collection contains all the 60 official and the 6 unofficial Sherlock Holmes stories - in total 66 works (the biggest and greatest Sherlock Holmes collection in the eBook world).
    Show book
  • A Basque Diary - Living in Hondarribia - cover

    A Basque Diary - Living in...

    Alex Hallatt

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When cartoonist Alex Hallatt wanted to learn Spanish, she moved to the Basque Country. She thought she might stay a few months and ended up there for over two years, living in a small town near San Sebastian.
    
     
    This is the illustrated account of her years in Hondarribia. It is a useful resource for anyone planning on spending time in the Basque Country, detailing what to expect in each month and how to make the most of the geographical, culinary and cultural attractions on offer.
    Show book
  • Of Gods and Men - 100 Stories from Ancient Greece and Rome - cover

    Of Gods and Men - 100 Stories...

    Daisy Dunn

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Daisy Dunn offers a deeply researched collection of stories reflecting the eclectic richness and depth of the classical literary canon. 
     
    Striking a balance between the 'classic classic' (such as Dryden's translation of the Aeneid) and the less familiar or expected, Of Gods and Men ranges from the epic poetry of Homer to the histories of Arrian and Diodorus Siculus and the sprawling Theogony of Hesiod; from the tragedies of Aeschylus and Euripides to the biographies of Suetonius and Plutarch and the pen portraits of Theophrastus; and from the comedies of Plautus to the the fictions of Petronius and Apuleius. 
     
    Of Gods and Men is embellished by translations from writers as diverse as Queen Elizabeth I (Boethius), Percy Bysshe Shelley (Plato), Walter Pater (Apuleius's Golden Ass), Lawrence of Arabia (Homer's Odyssey), Louis MacNeice (Aeschylus's Agamemnon) and Ted Hughes (Ovid's Pygmalion), as well as a number of accomplished translations by Daisy herself.
    Show book
  • Little Women - cover

    Little Women

    Louisa May Alcott

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    Meg is the eldest and on the brink of love. Then there's tomboy Jo who longs to be a writer. Sweet-natured Beth always puts others first, and finally there's Amy, the youngest and most precocious. Together they are the March sisters. Even though money is short, times are tough and their father is away at war, their infectious sense of fun sweeps everyone up in their adventures — including Laurie, the boy next door. And through sisterly squabbles, their happy times and sad ones too, the sisters discover that growing up is sometimes very hard to do.
    Based on Louisa May Alcott's childhood, this lively portrait of nineteenth-century family life possesses a lasting vitality that has endeared it to generations of readers.
    
    A wonderful story... As a child, I strongly identified with Jo because she is a writer. —Jacqueline Wilson
    The American female myth. —Madelon Bedell
    It is an essential American novel, perhaps the essential American novel for girls… Girls come to it on their own. —Jane Smiley
    In "Little Women", Alcott anticipated realism by twenty or thirty years. —G. K. Chesterton
    Show book
  • Conversations with Roger Scruton - cover

    Conversations with Roger Scruton

    Roger Scruton, Mark Dooley

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    This book reveals what life was like for Roger Scruton growing up in High Wycombe, how he survived Cambridge and how he came to hold his conservative outlook. It tells of Scruton's rise to prominence while writing for The Times and sheds light on his campaign on behalf of underground dissidents in Eastern Europe. Ranging across topics as diverse as the current state of British philosophy, music, religion, and illuminating what lay behind Scruton's abandonment of academia for his new life on a Wiltshire farm, Conversations with Roger Scruton is an intimate portrait of a writer who has felt philosophy as a vocation and whose defence of unfashionable causes has brought him a wide readership in Britain and around the world.
    Show book
  • Common People - An Anthology of Working-Class Writers - cover

    Common People - An Anthology of...

    Kit de Waal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Common People is the latest campaigning anthology from the publisher of bestsellers The Good Immigrant (70k copies sold to date) and Repeal the 8th.It features original work from some of our best-known writers: Kit De Waal, Malorie Blackman, Lisa McInerney, Cathy Rentzenbrink, Stuart Maconie, Louise Doughty, Damian Barr and Daljit Nagra among others.Kit de Waal’s debut novel, My Name is Leon, was an international bestseller. It won Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2017 and was shortlisted for the Costa First Book Award, the Desmond Elliott Prize and the British Book Awards 2017 Best Debut Book of the Year.Kit is one of the UK’s most prominent voices calling for inclusivity and working-class representation in the arts, and has established a creative writing scholarship at Birkbeck University.Almost half of all authors, writers and
    translators in the UK come from professional, middle-class backgrounds,
    compared with just 10 per cent of those from working-class backgrounds. This
    anthology addresses that pressing imbalance.There will be events across the UK on publication, including all the major literary festivals.For fans of The Good Immigrant, Know Your Place: Essays on the Working Class by the Working Class, Brit(ish) by Afua Hirsch.
    Show book