Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
THE GOLDEN BOOK OF WORLD'S GREATEST MYSTERIES – 60+ Detective Stories - Whodunit Tales Suspense Occult & Supernatural Stories in One Premium Volume (Mystery & Crime Anthology) The World's Finest Mysteries by the World's Greatest Authors: The Purloined Letter A Scandal in Bohemia The Saf... - cover

THE GOLDEN BOOK OF WORLD'S GREATEST MYSTERIES – 60+ Detective Stories - Whodunit Tales Suspense Occult & Supernatural Stories in One Premium Volume (Mystery & Crime Anthology) The World's Finest Mysteries by the World's Greatest Authors: The Purloined Letter A Scandal in Bohemia The Saf...

Edgar Allan Poe, A. Conan Doyle, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Wilkie Collins, Villiers Adam, C. Moffett, F. Marryat, William Archer, Fitz-James O'Brien, Mark Twain, E.F. Benson, Guy de Maupassant, Théophile Gautier, L. Hearn, C. B. Fernando, Brander Matthews, R. L. Stevenson, W. F. Harvey, Anne Katharine Green, Anton Chekhov, T. W. Hanshew, M. R. James, Katherine Rickford, Sir R. Anderson, R. A. Cram, Pliny the Younger, Joseph L. French, Ambrose Bierce, E. T. A. Hoffmann, Helena Blavatsky, Thomas Hardy

Translator William Melmoth, Julian Hawthorne

Publisher: e-artnow

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This carefully crafted ebook: "THE GOLDEN BOOK OF WORLD'S GREATEST MYSTERIES – 60+ Detective Stories, Whodunit Tales, Suspense, Occult & Supernatural Stories in One Premium Volume (Mystery & Crime Anthology)" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. 
This collection brings to you the World's Finest Mysteries by the World's Greatest Authors. A Must Read!
Table of Contents:
Detective Stories
The Purloined Letter (Edgar Allan Poe)
A Scandal in Bohemia (A. Conan Doyle)
The Safety Match (Anton Chekhov)
Missing: Page Thirteen (Anna Katherine Green) . . .
Suspense Stories
The Birth Mark (Nathaniel Hawthorne)
The Oblong Box (Edgar Allan Poe)
A Terribly Strange Bed (Wilkie Collins)
The Torture by Hope (Villiers de l'Isle Adam)
The Mysterious Card (Cleveland Moffett) . . .
Ghost Stories
Thrawn Janet (Robert Louis Stevenson)
The Horla (Guy de Maupassant)
To Sura: A Letter (Pliny the Younger) . . .
The Man Who Went Too Far (E.F. Benson)
The Phantom Rickshaw (Rudyard Kipling)
The Apparition of Mrs. Veal (Daniel Defoe)
The Damned Thing (Ambrose Bierce) . . .
The Deserted House (E. T. A. Hoffmann)
The Withered Arm (Thomas Hardy)
The House and the Brain (Lord Edward Bulwer-Lytton)
The Roll-Call of the Reef (A. T. Quiller-Couch)
The Open Door (Mrs. Margaret Oliphant) . . .
Paranormal Psychic Stories
When the World Was Young (Jack London)
Joseph—A Story (Katherine Rickford)
Ligeia(Edgar Allan Poe)
A Ghost (Lafcadio Hearn)
The Eyes of the Panther (Ambrose Bierce)
Photographing Invisible Beings (William T. Stead)
The Sin-Eater (Fiona Macleod) . . .
Humorous Mystery Stories
The Secret of Goresthorpe Grange (A. Conan Doyle)
Mr. Bloke's Item (Mark Twain)
The Man Who Went Too Far (E. F. Benson)
The Man With The Pale Eyes (Guy de Maupassant) . . .
Available since: 06/27/2016.
Print length: 1158 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Her Last Words - cover

    Her Last Words

    H.K. Christie

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A string of puzzling murders. A skilled and dangerous killer. Will the Cold Case Squad discover the truth in time to save one of its own? 
    PI Martina and Detective Hirsch accept the new sheriff’s request to reopen a ten-year-old serial killer case. Not that they could refuse. One victim was the sheriff’s brother, a married father of two. 
    The case is strange. Someone has murdered three successful men within a six-month time period. There were no suspects and no motive. The only connection is their cause of death. The links are thin and the motive is unknown, but Martina and Hirsch know better than to ignore the similarities. 
    Frustrated without a logical theory for the murders, Martina and Hirsch throw out preconceived notions and start from scratch. Determined to learn the truth, they pound the pavement and re-interview family, friends, and coworkers until Martina receives a tip. 
    Not a tip. 
    A warning. 
    Undeterred by the threat against her and the squad, Martina calls for an all-hands on deck to solve the case. Will the squad discover the truth before one of their own pays the ultimate price? 
    Her Last Words is the 8th installment of the fast-paced and suspenseful Martina Monroe crime thriller series.
    Show book
  • Perfect Remains: A gripping crime thriller that will leave you breathless (A DI Callanach Thriller Book 1) - cover

    Perfect Remains: A gripping...

    Helen Fields

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    ‘Must read!’Closer 
    ‘I love, love, LOVE Perfect Remains!’ Reader review 
    ‘A superb debut!’ Reader review 
    On a remote Highland mountain, the body of Elaine Buxton is burning. All that will be left to identify the respected lawyer are her teeth and a fragment of clothing. 
    In the concealed back room of a house in Edinburgh, the real Elaine Buxton screams into the darkness… 
    Detective Inspector Luc Callanach has barely set foot in his new office when Elaine’s missing persons case is escalated to a murder investigation. Having left behind a promising career at Interpol, he’s eager to prove himself to his new team. But Edinburgh, he discovers, is a long way from Lyon, and Elaine’s killer has covered his tracks with meticulous care. 
    It’s not long before another successful woman is abducted from her doorstep, and Callanach finds himself in a race against the clock. Or so he believes … The real fate of the women will prove more twisted than he could have ever imagined. 
    Fans of Angela Marson, Mark Billingham and M. J. Aldridge will be gripped by this chilling journey into the mind of a troubled killer. 
    The Perfect Remains is a psychological crime thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. With its award-winning suspense and mystery, it's no wonder it's been long-listed and short-listed for numerous prizes. 
    For fans of Angela Marsons (Bad Blood), Robert Bryndza (Shadow Sands), Tm Logan (The Mother), D. S. Butler (Before the Dawn), and Rachel Lynch (Dead End).
    Show book
  • Backwater Grave - cover

    Backwater Grave

    Steven Becker

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A killer is on the loose in South Florida’s national parks . . . 
    And the trail of bodies leads to Special Agent Kurt Hunter. 
    When a string of not-so-accidental drownings in the parks attracts the attention of the FBI, Kurt is drawn into a quagmire of bureaucrats and politicians, each with their own agenda. Faced with the reality that the deaths are really murders — all with ties to Kurt — he is forced to make a decision: save his job . . . or his life. 
    Figuring out the modus operandi of the killer leads Kurt down an old path he would have rather forgotten. 
    From the iconic Intracoastal Waterway of Miami to the beauty of Biscayne National Park, this new mystery from bestselling author Steven Becker reveals the good, the bad, and the ugly of South Florida. 
    Fans of Wayne Stinnett, Clive Cussler, and John D MacDonald will enjoy this South Florida adventure. A devoted fan writes: “Grab a cold beer and relax while you follow Kurt Hunter. You won’t be sorry!” 
    Don’t wait to get your copy — Click the BUY button now!
    Show book
  • Liar Like Her - A Secrets and Lies Suspense Novel - cover

    Liar Like Her - A Secrets and...

    D.L. Wood

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Can a liar tell the truth?  
    In her rebellious youth, Quinn Bello told a lie that had tragic consequences, permanently branding her as a troublemaker in her coastal hometown of Seaglass Cove, Florida. Desperate to atone for her past, Quinn dedicated her Tampa law practice to representing victims of injustice until disaster left her disbarred, out of options, and back in Seaglass Cove where it all began. Now she’s hoping for a fresh start. 
    That hope quickly evaporates when she discovers a dead body that inexplicably vanishes. Given her history, no one in town believes her—no one except café owner Ian Wolfe, a newcomer with his own secrets and reasons for refusing to hold Quinn’s past against her. When they team up to redeem Quinn’s reputation and expose the truth, the bizarre incidents start stacking up and the danger mounts, along with doubts about Quinn’s story, sanity, and ultimately, her innocence. 
    Will the pair expose the sinister forces at work before Quinn becomes the next victim? 
    If you love riveting suspense laced with romance, smart, determined heroines, and second-chance-at-life stories, you'll love USA TODAY bestselling author D.L. Wood's second stand-alone Secrets and Lies Suspense Novel. 
    Get your copy today. 
    Thrilling suspense laced with romance and faith.
    Show book
  • Stalker's Shadow: Sarah's Escape - cover

    Stalker's Shadow: Sarah's Escape

    Alli Mohammed

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The PremiseA 23-year-old successful business woman, Sarah, has relocated to another country to escape her violent ex-husband, Michael, who has been stalking her.Despite her best efforts, Sarah unexpectedly runs into Michael during a business meeting, setting off a tense and terrifying encounter.Key Events and StorylineThe Abusive Relationship: Explore Sarah's backstory, including her tumultuous marriage to Michael and the abuse she endured.The Escape: Depict Sarah's decision to flee the country and start a new life, the challenges she faces, and the measures she takes to hide from Michael.The Chance Encounter: Describe the tension and fear when Sarah and Michael unexpectedly cross paths during the business meeting, as he confronts her and refuses to let her go.The Standoff: Delve into the high-stakes confrontation between Sarah and Michael, as she fights for her freedom and her life.The Aftermath: Explore the emotional and psychological impact on Sarah, as well as the legal and social consequences for Michael.Themes and InsightsThe power of resilience and the determination to break free from an abusive relationshipThe challenges of starting a new life and the constant fear of being found by an ex-partnerThe importance of support systems and the role of the legal system in protecting victims of domestic violenceThe psychological impact of trauma and the journey towards healing and empowerment 
    By exploring these themes and weaving a gripping narrative, this book can provide a powerful and thought-provoking exploration of the complex issues surrounding domestic violence and the pursuit of a fresh start.
    Show book
  • Death Shall Overcome - cover

    Death Shall Overcome

    Lathen Emma

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Features John Putnam Thatcher, SVP of the Sloan Guaranty Trust. A rollicking and witty adventure about a Wall Street brokerage firm that puts up its first Black partner for the first seat on the New York Stock Exchange to be held by a Black American. Fascinating, witty, humorous, with the elegant light touch of Emma Lathen.
    Show book