Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Big Book of Spooky Tales - Horror Classics Anthology - Number 13 The Deserted House The Man with the Pale Eyes The Oblong Box The Birth-Mark - cover

The Big Book of Spooky Tales - Horror Classics Anthology - Number 13 The Deserted House The Man with the Pale Eyes The Oblong Box The Birth-Mark

Edgar Allan Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Wilkie Collins, Guy de Maupassant, Pliny the Younger, Lafcadio Hearn, Margaret Oliphant, William Archer, M. R. James, Théophile Gautier, Fitz-James O'Brien, Brander Matthews, R. L. Stevenson, W. F. Harvey, Villiers Adam, C. Moffett, F. Marryat, C. B. Fernando, Katherine Rickford, Joseph L. French

Publisher: Musaicum Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Big Book of Spooky Tales - Horror Classics Anthology encapsulates an exquisite array of narrative artistry woven through the bleak and shadowy corridors of horror literature. Encompassing a broad spectrum from gothic to grotesque, the collection brilliantly showcases seminal works that have shaped the horror genre. This anthology is not only a treasury of chilling narratives but also a testament to the evolution of horror storytelling, capturing both subtle psychological unsettlement and overt spectral horrors. The diversity in narrative style—from the epistolary eeriness of Pliny the Younger to the sophisticated terror of Edgar Allan Poe—offers a panoramic view on how horror has been variously construed and conveyed across centuries and cultures. In delving into the backgrounds of the contributing authors, one finds a cadre of writers whose lives span several continents and epochs, assembling a rich mosaic of cultural and historical contexts. These authors, many of whom were pioneers of the horror genre during pivotal literary periods, collectively contribute to a multilayered exploration of human fears and supernatural folklore. Figures such as M. R. James and Guy de Maupassant, through their innovative contributions, have echoed and expanded upon ancient themes and narrative techniques, weaving them seamlessly into their haunting tales, which have remained resonant over generations. Readers seeking to traverse the dimly lit landscapes of fear and fascination should eagerly delve into The Big Book of Spooky Tales. This anthology not only promises to unsettle with its diverse spectral tales but also educates and enlightens, acquainting its audience with the richness of horror literature across time and tradition. It is, without doubt, an essential compendium for both aficionados and newcomers to gothic and horror literature, offering an unparalleled opportunity to engage with the masters of the genre in a single, compelling volume.
Available since: 05/05/2017.
Print length: 993 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom! Volume 12 (Light Novel) - cover

    My Next Life as a Villainess:...

    Satoru Yamaguchi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After reincarnating as the villainess of the otome game Fortune Lover and spending the last ten years dodging Catastrophic Bad Ends, Katarina Claes believed she was finally in the clear... Alas, the game has a sequel.
     
    Katarina was looking forward to a peaceful career at the Magical Ministry, interspersed with sunny days spent tilling the earth of her vegetable garden—but fate has now brought her new potential Bad Ends and an array of new powers befitting a villainess. The latest threat emerges in the form of a power-hungry nobleman seeking to exert influence over the Kingdom of Sorcié’s royal family. Meanwhile, a challenger appears to contest Katarina’s protracted engagement to Prince Jeord! What’s more, this rival turns out to be someone Katarina knows very well...
    Show book
  • Bear Mate - A FREE Bear Shifter Paranormal Short Story Romance - cover

    Bear Mate - A FREE Bear Shifter...

    Selina Coffey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Enjoy this FREE steamy paranormal series starter by bestselling romance author Selina Coffey!
    
    A circle of friends is a thing to cherish.
    For Tessa Johnson a summer trip to the Blue Ridge Mountains of Northern Georgia is just the thing to take the edge off of a rough year and what has turned out to be a very tumultuous time for one of her friends.
    She has no idea she’s heading straight into fate and a world she’s only ever dreamed of.
    And her friends are coming with her.
    A string of mistakes leads to some very interesting interactions with the very stoic Hale Masters.
    Tessa can’t keep her eyes off him, and the promise of excitement and passion that flares in his eyes makes her school-teacher heart beat.
    He makes her want to let her hair down but she holds back.
    Would such a rich man be interested in her when her two beautiful best friends are far more his type?
    Or is she wrong and she’s just what the Alpha male has been looking for? Tessa finds herself conflicted and lost but with her friends around, encouragement to break her own rules is never far.
    Letting go is a hard thing to do but Tessa wants to give Hale all he asks for and more.
    An emergency at home changes her plans however and Tessa takes it as the answer she’s been seeking. But is it really the one she wanted?
    
    Discover a Sizzling Adventure: Join our Intrepid Heroine on a Hike, Where Unseen Desires Meet Sexy Bear Shifters! Embrace a Shifter Romance like No Other!
    
    The books in this series include:
    1. Bear Mate (Story of Tessa)
    2. Bear Babe (Story of Cora)
    3. Bear Date (Story of Kaia)
    
    This is an adult only steamy paranormal romance quick read, appealing to readers who love fated mates, shifter romance and sizzling hot romances with a twist. Perfect for fans of Lara Adrian, Alisa Woods, Renee Rose, Charlene Hart, and Evangeline Anderson. 
    Show book
  • The Dragon Lantern - cover

    The Dragon Lantern

    Arizona Tape

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Drama stirs when Charlotte goes to Myths & Monster for an exchange program and she has to play nice with the other apprentices.
     
    Meanwhile, a mysterious illness plagues one of the elusive lantern dragons and time is ticking for apprentice veterinarian Charlotte to figure out what's wrong before her light goes out.
     
    -
     
    The Dragon Lantern is book four in the modern fantasy Griffin Sanctuary series. It is packed full of adventure, mythical creatures, and an f/f romantic sub-plot.
    Show book
  • The Oblivious Saint Can't Contain Her Power: Forget My Sister! Turns Out I Was the Real Saint All Along! Volume 1 - cover

    The Oblivious Saint Can't...

    Almond

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Lady Carolina, the overlooked daughter of a powerful duke, has always believed herself to be the black sheep amid her illustrious kin. Her father is the distinguished prime minister; her elder sister, a prodigious mage destined to become their nation’s next Saint. In comparison, Carolina resigns herself to a quiet existence in their shadows until a sudden and unexpected royal decree alters her destiny, thrusting her into a political marriage with the formidable “Bloodthirsty Prince” of the neighboring Empire of Malcosias. Determined to prove her worth, Carolina takes a bold step into a world fraught with both political and mortal peril. As royal obligations intertwine with hints of true love and the stirrings of her own latent power, Carolina moves ever closer to understanding what it truly means to be exceptional.
    Show book
  • Fake Saint of the Year: You Wanted the Perfect Saint? Too Bad! Volume 1 - cover

    Fake Saint of the Year: You...

    kabedondaikou

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After yet another late night of playing his favorite dating sim, Fudou Niito—a self-proclaimed lazy NEET—suddenly wakes up to find himself inside the game! Stranger still, he hasn’t been reincarnated as the main character, Verner, or as his beloved waifu, Eterna... Instead, he’s Ellize, the absolutely awful fake saint who stole Eterna’s rightful place and made her life a living hell!
     
    And so, Niito now has one goal: change the story to ensure the game’s tragic heroine finally gets the happy ending she deserves! To do that, he’ll have to play matchmaker for Verner and Eterna while also boosting the saint’s popularity! Can this imposter scheme his way into a happy future for his favorite character?
    Show book
  • My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom! Volume 1 - cover

    My Next Life as a Villainess:...

    Satoru Yamaguchi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After hitting her head particularly hard one day, Duke Claes' daughter, Katarina, suddenly recalls all the memories of her past life: that of a teenage Japanese girl. Just before her untimely death, this girl recalls playing an otome game... that is exactly like the world she's living in now!She is now Katarina Claes, the antagonist of the otome game, who nastily hounded the protagonist until the end. Knowing all the possible outcomes of the game, she realizes that every single possible route ends with Katarina being murdered or exiled! In order to avoid these Catastrophic Bad Ends, she has to use her knowledge of the game and her own wiles, starting with breaking off this engagement with the prince...Will Katarina survive while making her way through this world, where bad flags trip at every turn? Find out in this reverse-harem rom-com, led by everybody's favorite villainess!
    Show book