Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Listen online to the first chapters of this audiobook!
All characters reduced
The American Experience - A Collection of Great American Stories - cover

The American Experience - A Collection of Great American Stories

Edgar Allan Poe, Edith Wharton, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Jack London, Kate Chopin, Mark Twain, O. Henry, Sarah Orne Jewett, Stephen Crane, Washington Irving

Narrator Various Narrators

Publisher: InAudio

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0


Ten superbly narrated stories that help explain America by America's best writers. Irving's incredible and amusing tale of the archetypal "Rip Van Winkle" relates the story of a man who slept through history. Stephen Crane's "The Red Badge of Courage" tells of a young soldier who must struggle with his conscience no matter what the consequences. "The Notorious Jumping Frog of Calaveras County" is Mark Twain's hilarious story of a contest to end all contests in the rowdy days of the Forty-Niners. Edgar Allan Poe's "The Man of the Crowd" tells of one man's strange fascination with another. "The Ransom of Red Chief" is another of O. Henry's tales of a kidnapping that goes horribly, horribly, wrong. 
"Rip Van Winkle" 
by Washington Irving, 
narrated by George Vafiadis 
"The Man of the Crowd" 
by Edgar Allan Poe, 
narrated by Ralph Cosham 
"The Red Badge of Courage" 
by Stephen Crane, 
narrated by Sean Pratt 
"The Notorious Jumping Frog of Calaveras County" 
by Mark Twain, 
narrated by Thomas Becker 
"The Ransom of Red Chief" 
by O'Henry, 
narrated by Michael Hanson 
"The Call of the Wild" 
by Jack London, 
narrated by Michael Kramer 
"Desiree's Baby" 
by Kate Chopin, 
narrated by Jacquilin Kinlow 
"Miss Tempy's Watchers" 
by Sarah Orne Jewett, 
narrated by Tana Hickens 
"The Eyes" 
by Edith Wharton, 
narrated by Ralph Cosham 
"Bernice Bobs Her Hair" 
by F. Scott Fitzgerald, 
narrated by Kimberly Schraf
Duration: about 12 hours (12:28:41)
Publishing date: 2003-01-01; Unabridged; Copyright Year: — Copyright Statment: —