Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
HARVARD CLASSICS - All 20 Volumes in one Edition - Complete Fiction Classics: Crime and Punishment The Scarlet Letter Pride and Prejudice Notre Dame Anna Karenina Vanity Fair Sleepy Hollow - cover

HARVARD CLASSICS - All 20 Volumes in one Edition - Complete Fiction Classics: Crime and Punishment The Scarlet Letter Pride and Prejudice Notre Dame Anna Karenina Vanity Fair Sleepy Hollow

Edgar Allan Poe, George Eliot, Juan Valera, Charles Dickens, Jane Austen, Washington Irving, Mark Twain, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Henry James, Guy de Maupassant, William Makepeace Thackeray, Laurence Sterne, Edward Everett Hale, Alphonse Daudet, Alfred de Musset, George Sand, Theodor Storm, Walter Scott, Theodor Fontane, Ivan Turgenev, Gottfried Keller, Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson, Francis Bret Harte, Honoré Balzac Balzac, Victor Hugo, FYODOR DOSTOEVSKY, Henry James, Alexander L. Kielland, Leo Tolstoy, Johann Wolfgang Goethe

Publisher: e-artnow

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Harvard Classics - Shelf of Fiction represents a specific selection of the greatest novels, novellas and short stories of seven national literatures, namely: English, American, French, Spanish, German, Russian, and Scandinavian.
Table of Contents:
Vols. 1 & 2: The History of Tom Jones by Henry Fielding
Vol. 3:
A Sentimental Journey by Laurence Sterne
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Vol. 4: Guy Mannering by Sir Walter Scott
Vol. 5 & 6: Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray
Vol. 7 & 8: David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
Vol. 9: The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot
Vol. 10:
Nathaniel Hawthorne:
The Scarlet Letter
Rappaccini's Daughter
Washington Irving:
Rip Van Winkle
The Legend of Sleepy Hollow
Edgar Alan Poe:
Eleonora
The Fall of the House of Usher
The Purloined Letter
Francis Bret Harte:
The Luck of Roaring Camp
The Outcasts of Poker Flat
The Idyl of Red Gulch
Jim Smiley and His Jumping Frog by Mark Twain
The Man Without a Country by Edward Everett Hale
Vol.11: The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James
Vol. 12: Notre Dame de Paris by Victor Hugo
Vol. 13: French Fiction
Old Goriot by Honoré de Balzac
The Devil's Pool by George Sand
The Story of a White Blackbird by Alfred de Musset
Alphonse Daudet:
The Siege of Berlin
The Last Class
The Child Spy
The Game of Billiards
The Bad Zouave
Guy de Maupassant:
Walter Schnaffs' Adventure
Two Friends
The Cripple
Vols. 14 & 15: German Fiction
J. W. von Goethe:
Wilhelm Meister's Apprenticeship
The Sorrows of Young Werther
The Banner of the Upright Seven by Gottfried Keller
The Rider on the White Horse by Theodor Storm
Trials and Tribulations by Theodor Fontane
Vols. 16–19: Russian Fiction
Tolstoy:
Anna Karenina
Ivan the Fool
Crime and Punishment by Dostoevsky
Turgenev:
A House of Gentlefolk
Fathers and Children
Vol. 20: Spanish & Scandinavian Fiction
Pepita Jimenez by Juan Valera
A Happy Boy by Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson
Skipper Worse by Alexander L. Kielland

Other books that might interest you

  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • Criminal Minds - Sociopaths Serial Killers and Other Deviants - cover

    Criminal Minds - Sociopaths...

    Jeff Mariotte

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    An authorized tie-in to the popular TV show Criminal Minds 
    Most episodes of Criminal Minds feature a briefing where the show's team of FBI profilers defines the type of criminal they're looking for and provides some real-life examples. This book tells the story of those examples.Published to coincide with the release of season five of Criminal Minds on DVD Organized by type of criminal, including solo serial killers, sexual predators, and killers with famous victims; and tells the stories of many famous murderers, including David Berkowitz, Jeffrey Dahmer, Mark David Chapman, and the Zodiac killer Features photographs from the show  
    Criminal Minds: Sociopaths, Serial Killers, and Other Deviants is a fascinating, terrifying book about the criminal minds who live among us.
    Show book
  • The Power of Your Subconscious Mind - There Are No Limits to the Prosperity Happiness and Peace of Mind You Can Achieve Simply by Using the Power of the Subconscious Mind Updated - cover

    The Power of Your Subconscious...

    Joseph Murphy

    • 2
    • 27
    • 0
    The bestseller by a preeminent teacher of the New Thought movement, now revised and expanded with never-before- published commentary from the author.
     
    One of the bestselling self-help books of all time, The Power of Your Subconscious Mind has helped millions around the world achieve remarkable goals, simply by changing the way they think.
     
    Dr. Murphy?s mind-focusing techniques are based on a simple principle: If you believe in something without reservation and picture it in your mind, you can remove the subconscious obstacles that prevent you from achieving the results you want, and your belief can become a reality.
     
    As an advocate of what is now popularly known as the Law of Attraction, Murphy shows that anyone can unleash extraordinary mental powers to build self-confidence, to create harmonious relationships, to gain professional success, to amass wealth, to conquer fears and phobias, to banish bad habits, and even to effect physical healing and promote overall well-being and happiness.
    Show book
  • 20 Classic Children Stories (ABCD Classics) - cover

    20 Classic Children Stories...

    Charles Dickens, Lewis Carroll,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This volume edited by ShandonPress contains the following classic children's novels:
    
    - A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett 
    - The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett 
    - Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery 
    - Little Women by Louisa May Alcott 
    - Black Beauty by Anna Sewell 
    - A Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton-Porter 
    - The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
    - Just so Stories by Rudyard Kipling 
    - The Blue Fairy Book by Andrew Lang 
    - Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson 
    - The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald 
    - Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit 
    - Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm by Kate Douglas Wiggin 
    - The Magic Fishbone by Charles Dickens 
    - Grimm's Fairy Tales by Jacob Ludwig Karl Grimm 
    - Peter Pan (Peter and Wendy) by J.M. Barrie 
    - Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll 
    - The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Lyman Frank Baum 
    - The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame 
    - Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
    Show book
  • Lucretia Borgia - cover

    Lucretia Borgia

    Ferdinand Gregorovius

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Lucretia Borgia by Ferdinand Gregorovius
    Show book
  • 120 days of sodom - cover

    120 days of sodom

    Marquis de Sade

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    The extensive wars wherewith Louis XIV was burdened during his reign, while draining the State's treasury and exhausting the substance of the people, none the less contained the secret that led to the prosperity of a swarm of those bloodsuckers who are always on the watch for public calamities, which, instead of appeasing, they promote or invent so as, precisely, to be able to profit from them the more advantageously. The end of this so very sublime reign was perhaps one of the periods in the history of the French Empire when one saw the emergence of the greatest number of these mysterious fortunes whose origins are as obscure as the lust and debauchery that accompany them. It was toward the close of this period, and not long before the Regent sought, by means of the famous tribunal which goes under the name of the Chambre de Justice, to flush this multitude of traffickers, that four of them conceived the idea for the singular revels whereof we are going to give an account. One must not suppose that it was exclusively the low-born and vulgar sort which did this swindling; gentlemen of the highest note led the pack. The Duc de Blangis and his brother the Bishop of X***, each of whom had thuswise amassed immense fortunes, are in themselves solid proof that, like the others, the nobility neglected no opportunities to take this road to wealth. These two illustrious figures, through their pleasures and business closely associated with the celebrated Durcet and the Président de Curval, were the first to hit upon the debauch we propose to chronicle, and having communicated the scheme to their two friends, all four agreed to assume the major roles in these unusual orgies.
    Show book