Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Halloween Boxed Set: 200+ Horror Classics & Supernatural Mysteries - Sweeney Todd The Legend of Sleepy Hollow The Haunted Hotel Frankenstein Dracula The Horla… - cover

Halloween Boxed Set: 200+ Horror Classics & Supernatural Mysteries - Sweeney Todd The Legend of Sleepy Hollow The Haunted Hotel Frankenstein Dracula The Horla…

Edgar Allan Poe, H. P. Lovecraft, Mary Shelley, Bram Stoker, Théophile Gautier, Arthur Conan Doyle, Grant Allen, M.P. Shiel, Ralph Adams Cram, John William Polidori, Thomas Hardy, Charles Dickens, Guy De Maupassant, M. R. James, Wilkie Collins, E.F. Benson, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Ambrose Bierce, Arthur Machen, William Hope Hodgson, Pedro De Alarçon, Walter Hubbell, Washington Irving, Francis Marion Crawford, James Malcolm Rymer, Thomas Peckett Prest, W. W. Jacobs, Wilhelm Hauff, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Daniel Defoe, Jack London, George MacDonald, Mark Twain, Pliny the Younger, Margaret Oliphant, Helena Blavatsky, Fergus Hume, Florence Marryat, Villiers l'Isle de Adam, William Archer, William F. Harvey, Katherine Rickford, Leopold Kompert, Vincent O'Sullivan, Ellis Parker Butler, A. T. Quiller-Couch, Fiona Macleod, Lafcadio Hearn, William T. Stead, Gambier Bolton, Andrew Jackson Davis, Nizida, Walter F. Prince, Chester Bailey Fernando, Brander Matthews, Leonard Kip, Frank R. Stockton, Bithia Mary Croker, Catherine L. Pirkis, Anatole France, Richard Le Gallienne, Henry James, John Buchan

Translator William Melmoth, Julian Hawthorne

Publisher: Musaicum Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Musaicum Books presents to you this unique collection, designed and formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices.
Content:
H. P. Lovecraft:
The Dunwich Horror
The Shunned House
From Beyond
Théophile Gautier:
Clarimonde
The Mummy's Foot
James Malcolm Rymer & Thomas Peckett Prest:
Sweeney Todd, the Demon Barber of Fleet Street
Edgar Allan Poe:
The Fall of the House of Usher
The Murders in the Rue Morgue
Mary Shelley:
Frankenstein
The Evil Eye
John William Polidori:
The Vampyre
Bram Stoker:
Dracula
The Squaw
Washington Irving:
The Legend of Sleepy Hollow
The Spectre Bridegroom
Henry James:
The Turn of the Screw
The Romance of Certain Old Clothes
The Ghostly Rental
M. R. James:
Canon Alberic's Scrap-Book
The Mezzotint
Wilkie Collins:
The Haunted Hotel
The Devil's Spectacles
E. F. Benson:
The Room in the Tower
The Man Who Went Too Far
Nathaniel Hawthorne:
Rappaccini's Daughter
The Birth Mark
Ambrose Bierce:
The Death of Halpin Frayser
The Haunted Valley
Arthur Machen:
The Great God Pan
The Terror
William Hope Hodgson:
The House on the Borderland
The Night Land
Carnacki, the Ghost-Finder
M. P. Shiel:
Shapes in the Fire
Arthur Conan Doyle:
The Leather Funnel
The Beetle Hunter
Ralph Adams Cram:
Black Spirits and White
Grant Allen:
The Reverend John Creedy
The Backslider
Richard Marsh:
The Beetle
Thomas Hardy:
What the Shepherd Saw
The Grave by the Handpost
Charles Dickens:
The Signal-Man
The Hanged Man's Bride
Guy de Maupassant:
The Horla
Ghosts
Pedro De Alarçon:
The Nail
Walter Hubbell:
The Great Amherst Mystery
Francis Marion Crawford:
The Dead Smile
The Screaming Skull
Man Overboard!
For The Blood is the Life
The Upper Berth
By The Water of Paradise
The Doll's Ghost
John Buchan:
No-Man's-Land
The Watcher by the Threshold
W. W. Jacobs:
The Monkey's Paw
The Severed Hand
Miscellaneous Tales:
The Ghost in the Cap'n Brown House
The Apparition of Mrs. Veal
When the World Was Young
Uncle Cornelius His Story…

Other books that might interest you

  • Night Thoughts - cover

    Night Thoughts

    Wallace Shawn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Wallace Shawn is a nationally known actor and playwright with a prolific career spanning nearly four decades. His face, style, and inimitable voice are loved by millions.Shawn's work is treasured for both his comic acting (The Princess Bride) and his often intensely political playwriting. Recently, Shawn's most recent visible acting and voice roles have been on the network drama Gossip Girl, Toy Story 3, and Kung Fu PandaReceiving critical praise from sources as varied as The Los Angeles Times, Heeb, GQ, O: The Oprah Magazine, Democracy Now, The New Yorker, and Women's Wear Daily, the cloth and paper back edition of Essays sold more than 12,000 copies.
    Show book
  • Letters Like the Day - On Reading Georgia O'Keeffe - cover

    Letters Like the Day - On...

    Jennifer Sinor

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Georgia O’Keeffe mistrusted words. She claimed color as her language. Nevertheless, in the course of her long life, the great American painter wrote thousands of letters—more than two thousand survive between her and her husband, Alfred Stieglitz, alone. Jennifer Sinor’s Letters Like the Day honors O’Keeffe, her modernist landscapes, and, crucially, the value of letter writing. In the painter’s correspondence, we find an intimacy with words that is all her own. Taking her letters as a touchstone, Sinor experiments with the limits of language using the same aesthetic that drove O’Keeffe’s art. Through magnification, cropping, and juxtaposition—hallmarks of modernism—Sinor explores the larger truths at the center of O’Keeffe’s work: how we see, capture, and create. Letters Like the Day pursues the highest function of art—to take one’s medium to the edge and then push beyond.
    Show book
  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • A Short Philosophy of Birds - cover

    A Short Philosophy of Birds

    Philippe J. Dubois, Elise Rousseau

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “This little book does a beautiful job of inspiring awe for the capacities of birds and applying lessons from their lives to the struggles of humanity” 
       — Wall Street Journal 
     
    “Brilliant, magical and engrossing–I will never see birds the same way again.” 
       — Peter Wohlleben, author of The Hidden Life of Trees 
    THE INTERNATIONAL PHENOMENON 
    Twenty-two short lessons from the secret lives of birds on living harmoniously and reconnecting with nature. 
     
    This charming volume on bird behavior invites us to take a step back from our busy lives and to listen to the tiny philosophers of the sky. From the delicate sparrow to the majestic eagle, birds are among the most fascinating species on earth, and there is much to be learned from these paragons of beauty and grace that can be applied to our lives, including:Independence: what it means to be “pushed out of the nest.”Vulnerability: what the mallard teaches us about giving up our old feathers for new ones in order to fly.Gender equality: what happens when a papa Turtledove sits on the nest.Hierarchy and power: what the raven and the vulture know about the pecking order. 
    Filled with elegant illustrations of bird species, this gem of a book celebrates of our friends in the sky, and what they can teach us about the rhythms of life.
    Show book
  • The Ferrante Letters - An Experiment in Collective Criticism - cover

    The Ferrante Letters - An...

    Katherine Hill, Merve Emre,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Like few other works of contemporary literature, Elena Ferrante’s Neapolitan novels found an audience of passionate and engaged readers around the world. Inspired by Ferrante’s intense depiction of female friendship and women’s intellectual lives, four critics embarked upon a project that was both work and play: to create a series of epistolary readings of the Neapolitan Quartet that also develops new ways of reading and thinking together.In a series of intertwined, original, and daring readings of Ferrante’s work and her fictional world, Sarah Chihaya, Merve Emre, Katherine Hill, and Jill Richards strike a tone at once critical and personal, achieving a way of talking about literature that falls between the seminar and the book club. Their letters make visible the slow, fractured, and creative accretion of ideas that underwrites all literary criticism and also illuminate the authors’ lives outside the academy. The Ferrante Letters offers an improvisational, collaborative, and cumulative model for reading and writing with others, proposing a new method the authors call collective criticism. A book for fans of Ferrante and for literary scholars seeking fresh modes of intellectual exchange, The Ferrante Letters offers incisive criticism, insouciant riffs, and the pleasure of giving oneself over to an extended conversation about fiction with friends.
    Show book
  • Boys Will Be Boys - cover

    Boys Will Be Boys

    Clementine Ford

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Fearless feminist Clementine Ford’s incendiary first book, Fight Like A Girl, is taking the world by storm, galvanizing women to demand and fight for real equality and not merely the illusion of it.  Now Boys Will Be Boys examines what needs to change for that equality to become a reality. It answers the question most asked of Clementine: "How do I raise my son to respect women and give them equal space in the world? How do I make sure he's a supporter and not a perpetrator?"  Ford demolishes the age-old assumption that superiority and aggression are natural realms for boys, and demonstrates how toxic masculinity creates a disturbingly limited and potentially dangerous idea of what it is to be a man. Crucially, Boys Will Be Boys reveals how the patriarchy we live in is as harmful to boys and men as it is to women and girls, and asks what we have to do to reverse that damage. The world needs to — this book shows the way.
    Show book