Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe - cover

Complete Stories and Poems of Edgar Allen Poe

Edgar Allan Poe

Publisher: CDED

  • 0
  • 7
  • 0

Summary

This edition includes all the Poe's Works of Poetry & Fiction that are included in the Poe Canon:
- Poems (Alone, The Raven, etc.)
- Tales (The Fall of The House of Usher, etc.)

You can move quickly back and forth among Poems and Tales by simply clicking a link in the Table of Contents.
The Logical TOC (NCX) allows you to jump back and forth between topics with a simple press of the Kindle 5-way toggle.

All the prose and all the verses are correctly indented, spaced and formatted.

INTRODUCTION
EDGAR ALLAN POE AN APPRECIATION 
EDGAR ALLAN POE By James Russell Lowell 
DEATH OF EDGAR A. POE By N. P. Willis 

ESSAYS
MAELZEL'S CHESS-PLAYER 
OLD ENGLISH POETRY 
PHILOSOPHY OF FURNITURE. 
MORNING ON THE WISSAHICCON
THE POETIC PRINCIPLE 

POEMS 

POEMS OF LATER LIFE 
A DREAM WITHIN A DREAM
A VALENTINE. 
AN ENIGMA 
ANNABEL LEE. 
BRIDAL BALLAD
ELDORADO. 
EULALIE 
FOR ANNIE 
THE BELLS. 
THE CITY IN THE SEA. 
THE RAVEN. 
THE SLEEPER. 
TO F - - . 
TO FRANCES S. OSGOOD 
TO HELEN 
TO MARIE LOUISE 
TO MARIE LOUISE 
TO MY MOTHER
ULALUME 

POEMS OF MANHOOD 
DREAM-LAND 
HYMN 
LENORE 
SCENES FROM "POLITIAN" 
SILENCE 
THE COLISEUM. 
THE CONQUEROR WORM. 
THE HAUNTED PALACE. 
TO ONE IN PARADISE. 
TO ZANTE 

POEMS OF YOUTH 
A DREAM 
A PÆAN. 
AL AARAAF
AL AARAAF 
DREAMS 
EVENING STAR 
Elizabeth 
FAIRY-LAND 
HYMN TO ARISTOGEITON AND HARMODIUS 
IMITATION 
IN YOUTH I HAVE KNOWN ONE 
ISRAFEL 
LETTER TO MR. B - . 
ROMANCE 
SERENADE 
SONG 
SONNET - TO SCIENCE 
SPIRITS OF THE DEAD 
TAMERLANE 
THE HAPPIEST DAY. 
THE LAKE - - TO - - 
THE VALLEY OF UNREST 
TO - - 
TO - - 
TO HELEN 
TO MARGARET 
TO THE RIVER - - 

DOUBTFUL POEMS 
ALONE 
TO ISADORE 
THE VILLAGE STREET 
THE FOREST REVERIE 

TALES
A DESCENT INTO THE MAELSTRÖM. 
A PREDICAMENT 
A TALE OF JERUSALEM 
A TALE OF THE RAGGED MOUNTAINS 
BERENICE 
BON-BON. 
DIDDLING CONSIDERED AS ONE OF THE EXACT SCIENCES. 
ELEONORA 
FOUR BEASTS IN ONE - THE HOMO-CAMELEOPARD 
HOP-FROG 
HOW TO WRITE A BLACKWOOD ARTICLE. 
KING PEST 
LANDOR'S COTTAGE 
LIGEIA 
....

Other books that might interest you

  • Harry Heron: Into the Unknown - cover

    Harry Heron: Into the Unknown

    Patrick G Cox

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Harry Heron: Into the Unknown continues the exciting story begun in Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey, the flagship book in the series. A freak accident on board the HMS Spartan during a sea battle with the French navy in 1804 catapults Midshipman Harry Heron and his shipmates Ferghal O’Connor and Danny Gunn four hundred years into the future, landing them on the NECS Vanguard, flagship of the World Treaty Organisation Fleet. While Captain Blackwood and Major Heron sort out the mystery and determine whether the young men are alive or dead, Harry and his friends are faced with the challenge of learning new roles aboard a spaceship. Just as they have found their footing, they are called upon to assist the Fleet in a rescue mission on the planet Pangaea, giving them the opportunity to prove that their unique skills from the past are still very relevant in the far distant future.
    Show book
  • Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey - cover

    Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey

    Patrick G Cox

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the vein of Horatio Hornblower, Patrick G. Cox weaves an exciting, authentic tale of Harry Nelson-Heron, a young midshipman in the British Navy in the early 1800s. Born in 1789 during the Irish Rebellion, Harry must overcome the prejudice against the Irish, the ancient enmity between his family and another, and the usual hazards of an active and inquisitive youth in order to realise his dream of becoming an officer in Britain’s Royal Navy. When he and his faithful friend and companion Ferghal make the treacherous journey to London to find a ship, fate smiles on them. Harry is appointed a midshipman, and Ferghal joins him on the HMS Bellerophon as a seaman. Corsairs, diplomacy, and exploration challenge their skills as the seafaring life takes Harry and Ferghal across the seas and beyond. This book is entirely a work of historical fiction. Be sure to read book two in the series, Harry Heron: Into the Unknown, to see where the adventure leads.
    Show book
  • Katherine's Web - cover

    Katherine's Web

    Maureen Mitson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This is the story of a writer unravelling a web of mystery, people and places; the mystery perpetuated through generations and still unresolved. Then a hoard of notes and mementos so unexpected, so astonishing, comes to light from a hiding place cunningly concealed that our writer senses they were not meant to be discovered. Should she betray a confidence? Was their hiding an understandable wish for discretion? Or a deliberate caution harbouring a recurring dread…? 
    Katherine’s Web is the third novel in Maureen Mitson’s Anglo-German-Australian trilogy detailing the lives and experiences of three women from the early days of colonisation until the present day. Katherine is the daughter of Esther in Esther’s Wars, who was the daughter of Beatrice in Beatrice’s Commonsensical Approach.
    Show book
  • Palm Trees in the Snow - A Novel - cover

    Palm Trees in the Snow - A Novel

    Luz Gabás

    • 8
    • 105
    • 0
    Letters from the past transport a young Spanish woman into the mysterious lives of her father and her uncle during the waning years of colonial rule in Guinea When Clarence comes upon a series of letters from her family’s past, she starts to piece together the story of her father’s travels with his brother, and she becomes curious about her origins. Sifting through the clues and assembling the narrative, Clarence embarks on a journey to the exotic African isle of Fernando Poo, where the 2 brothers, Jacobo and Kilian, landed after fleeing their conventional, safe lives in the Spanish Pyrenees.   A secret rests at the heart of this tale as it moves back and forth between generations and spaces. For Clarence, in 2003, the life that Jacobo and Kilian created 50 years ago on the island as 2 expatriate cocoa cultivators starts to unfold. The brothers explore a culture that is starkly different from Spain, and in the midst of discovering what it means to grow the perfect cocoa beans, they build a strong friendship—and learn the dangers and delights of forbidden love.
    Show book
  • Human Voices - cover

    Human Voices

    Penelope Fitzgerald

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A British radio station struggles through the London blitz, in a “wonderful” novel of World War II England (A.S. Byatt), by a veteran of the BBC.   The nation is listening. It’s 1940, and BBC radio is on the air. Dedicated to the cause, it’s going to do what it does best: keep the British upper lip stiff without resorting to lies. But nightly blackouts and the thunder of exploding enemy bombs are only part of the chaos faced by the staff.   There’s a battle for control between two program directors—one recklessly randy, the other efficient. Their comely assistant is suffering the pangs of unrequited love; an unwed mother is resisting the impending birth of her baby; and an exiled French general takes to the airwaves demanding Britain’s surrender. Then there’s the concert hall itself—a makeshift shelter for the displaced that quickly becomes a hotbed for quick trysts, bloody brawls, private wars between the sexes, political grandstanding, pointless deaths, and overriding fear, as the news unfolds just outside the building’s vulnerable walls.   Inspired by the Booker Prize–winning author’s own wartime experiences at the BBC, Human Voices is a novel at once “funny, touching, and authentic” (Sunday Times, London).   “Made me laugh out loud as I have hardly done since Cold Comfort Farm. It is extraordinary and immensely praiseworthy that a book with such an ultimately serious idea can be so brilliantly funny.” —Country Life   “A tribute to the unsung and quintessentially English heroism of imperfect people.” —New Criterion
    Show book
  • The River by Starlight - A Novel - cover

    The River by Starlight - A Novel

    Ellen Notbohm

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Her brother’s letter touched a match to the wick of Annie’s doused dreams. Dream enough for her, to stroll the length of a town without the abortive glances, the stilted greetings, the wider berth given her on the sidewalk. “I could use some help out here,” he wrote. “What’s holding you to Iowa anyway?”
    
    Annie Rushton leaves behind an unsettling past to join her brother on his Montana homestead and make a determined fresh start. There, sparks fly when she tangles with Adam Fielding, a visionary businessman-farmer determined to make his own way and answer to no one. Neither is looking for a partner, but they give in to their undeniable chemistry.
    
    Annie and Adam’s marriage brims with astounding success and unanticipated passion, but their dream of having a child eludes them as a mysterious illness of mind and body plagues Annie’s pregnancies. Amidst deepening economic adversity, natural disaster, and the onset of world war, their personal struggles collide with the societal mores of the day. Annie’s shattering periods of black depression and violent outbursts exact a terrible price. The life the Fieldings have forged begins to unravel, and the only path ahead leads to unthinkable loss. 
    
    Based on true events, this sweeping novel weaves a century-old story, timeless in its telling of love, heartbreak, healing, and redemption embodied in one woman’s tenacious quest for control over her own destiny in the face of devastating misfortune and social injustice.
    Show book