Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Best Short Stories Omnibus - Volume 1 - cover

Best Short Stories Omnibus - Volume 1

Edgar Allan Poe, Charles Dickens, Mark Twain, Louisa May Alcott, Oscar Wilde, Herman Melville, Bram Stoker, Joseph Conrad, Washington Irving, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Henry James, Hans Christian Andersen, Guy de Maupassant, Kate Chopin, Stephen Crane, Katherine Mansfield, Robert Louis Stevenson, Ambrose Bierce, E.T.A. Hoffmann, H.P. Lovecraft, Elizabeth Gaskell, Edith Wharton, Edgar Wallace, F. Scott Fitzgerald, G. K. Chesterton, Leonid Andreyev, Rudyard Kipling, Virginia Woolf, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Zane Grey, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Ivan Turgenev, H. G. Wells, Arthur Conan Doyle, Nikolai Gogol, Maxim Gorky, Robert E. Howard, Arthur Machen, Talbot Mundy, Susan Glaspell, Abraham Merritt, Fyodor Dostoevsky, Joyce James, Aleksandr Pushkin, Laura E. Richards, Leo Tolstoy, August Nemo, Alice Dunbar-Nelson, Jack London

Publisher: Tacet Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This book contains 350 short stories from 50 classic, prize-winning and noteworthy authors. Wisely chosen by the literary critic August Nemo for the book series 7 Best Short Stories, this omnibus contains the stories of the following writers:

- H.P. Lovecraft,
- Edgar Allan Poe,
- Arthur Conan Doyle,
- Katherine Mansfield,
- Jack London,
- Guy de Maupassant,
- Virginia Woolf, F.
- Scott Fitzgerald,
- Edith Wharton,
- Stephen Crane,
- Susan Glaspell,
- Kate Chopin,
- Laura E. Richards,
- Alice Dunbar-Nelson,
- Louisa May Alcott,
- Hans Christian Andersen,
- Charles Dickens,
- Nathaniel Hawthorne,
- Henry James,
- Mark Twain,
- Charlotte Perkins,
- Elizabeth Gaskell,
- Herman Melville,
- James Joyce,
- Leo Tolstoy,
- Nikolai Gogol,
- Anton Chekhov,
- Fyodor Dostoevsky,
- Maxim Gorky,
- Leonid Andreyev,
- Ivan Turgenev,
- Joseph Conrad,
- Aleksander Pushkin,
- Robert Louis Stevenson,
- Robert E. Howard,
- G. K. Chesterton,
- Edgar Wallace,
- Arthur Machen,
- Ambrose Bierce,
- Talbot Mundy,
- Abraham Merritt,
- Zane Grey,
- Edgar Rice Burroughs,
- Oscar Wilde,
- Rudyard Kipling,
- E.T.A. Hoffman,
- Bram Stoker,
- H.G. Wells,
- Franz Kafta
- Washington Irving.

Other books that might interest you

  • Borrowed Time - cover

    Borrowed Time

    David Mark

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    Adam Nunn's search for his true identity has horrifying consequences in this compelling psychological thriller.
    
    
    
    A badly mutilated body has been discovered in a remote woodland pond on the Essex borders – a location known to be the haunt of the ruthless crime gang that ruled London in the 70s. When one of the victim's hands is found nearby, forensic tests reveal a number scrawled on the palm. It is quickly identified as the National Insurance number of struggling family man Adam Nunn.
    
    
    
    As Adam is arrested in connection with the murder, it emerges that the dead man was a private investigator he had hired to find out the identity of his birth parents. Just what did Larry Paris discover that got him killed?
    
    
    
    As Adam seeks the truth surrounding his origins and promises justice for the mother he never knew, he is drawn into a lurid criminal world of violence and violation, reprisal and merciless death.  Torn between the man he wants to be and the man he fears becoming, Adam's investigations will lead him ever deeper into darkness.
    Show book
  • Hush Little Baby - the electrifying new domestic crime thriller - cover

    Hush Little Baby - the...

    Jane Isaac

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    'Gripping subjects, brilliantly drawn characters and a twisty turny journey from beginning to end. A tense, thrilling read and definitely 5 humongous ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me' Angela Marsons. 
     
    Someone stole a baby... 
     
    One sunny day in July, someone took three-month-old Alicia Owen from her pram outside a supermarket. Her mother, Marie, was inside. No one saw who took Alicia. And no one could find her. 
     
    They silenced her cry... 
     
    Fifteen years later, a teenager on a construction site sees a tiny hand in the ground. When the police investigate, they find a baby buried and preserved in concrete. Could it be Alicia? 
     
    But the truth will always out. 
     
    When Alicia disappeared, the papers accused Marie of detachment and neglect. The Owens never got over the grief of their child's disappearance and divorced not long after. By reopening the case, DC Beth Chamberlain must reopen old wounds. But the killer may be closer than anyone ever suspected... 
     
    The latest crime thriller featuring Family Liaison Officer DC Beth Chamberlain, Hush Little Baby is tightly plotted, fraught with tension and impossible to put down. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and K.L. Slater. 
     
    Praise for Jane Isaac: 
     
    'Jane Isaac knows how to tell a good yarn. Expertly plotted and true to life' Mel Sherratt on For Better, For Worse. 
     
    'Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread' Publishers Weekly. 
     
    'Move over La Plante...' Susan May, Suspense Magazine. 
     
    'Tense, dark and gritty: perfect combination' Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon. 
     
    'Crime writing at its best' David Evans, CWA Debut Dagger-shortlisted author of Torment. 
     
    'Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable' Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series. 
     
    'Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction' Michael Wood, author of For Reasons Unknown. 
     
    'Gripped from the very first page ... and just when you think it's over, it's really only the beginning' June Taylor, author of Losing Juliet. 
     
    'Brilliantly and intricately plotted, Jane Isaac has produced a terrific page-turner' Lizzie Sirett, Mystery People.
    Show book
  • The New Negro - Readings on Race Representation and African American Culture 1892-1938 - cover

    The New Negro - Readings on Race...

    Gene Andrew Jarrett, Henry Louis...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When African American intellectuals announced the birth of the "New Negro" around the turn of the twentieth century, they were attempting through a bold act of renaming to change the way blacks were depicted and perceived in America. By challenging stereotypes of the Old Negro, and declaring that the New Negro was capable of high achievement, black writers tried to revolutionize how whites viewed blacks--and how blacks viewed themselves. Nothing less than a strategy to re-create the public face of "the race," the New Negro became a dominant figure of racial uplift between Reconstruction and World War II, as well as a central idea of the Harlem, or New Negro, Renaissance. Edited by Henry Louis Gates, Jr., and Gene Andrew Jarrett, The New Negro collects more than one hundred canonical and lesser-known essays published between 1892 and 1938 that examine the issues of race and representation in African American culture. These readings--by writers including W.E.B. Du Bois, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Alain Locke, Carl Van Vechten, Zora Neale Hurston, and Richard Wright--discuss the trope of the New Negro, and the milieu in which this figure existed, from almost every conceivable angle. Political essays are joined by essays on African American fiction, poetry, drama, music, painting, and sculpture. More than fascinating historical documents, these essays remain essential to the way African American identity and history are still understood today.
    Show book
  • Courting Justice - cover

    Courting Justice

    R. L. Sommer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Anything by R.L. Sommer, or his alter-ego, Ron Goldfarb, is a MUST read!" –Kitty Kelley, author of Oprah: A Biography
     
    Jake Lehman and his wife, Sydney, have left Washington D.C. for a fresh start in San Francisco.
     
    Their legal careers are on the rise, but so are tensions between them as they continually find themselves on opposing sides of cases concerning judicial ethics and gender equality. Their conflicting views―coupled with growing career obligations, social pressures, and constant travel―come to a head when both Jake and Sydney are recommended for a Supreme Court seat.
     
    With rising pressure threatening to divide the Lehmans, an innocent encounter is misconstrued by prying eyes and puts their relationship and Jake's career in jeopardy. Can Jake and Sydney's relationship withstand the intricacies of these cases and the complications of their careers?
    Show book
  • All the Right Mistakes - A Novel - cover

    All the Right Mistakes - A Novel

    Laura Jamison

    • 0
    • 11
    • 2
    Five college friends have arrived at forty in very different circumstances, but with at least one thing in common: they are among the more privileged in society. Elizabeth and Sara are lawyers, Martha is a doctor, Carmen is a wealthy and well-educated homemaker, and Heather, the most successful, is a famous tech executive—and after more than two decades of friendship, they know one another better than anyone.
    
    
    
    Then Heather writes a women’s advice book detailing the key life “mistakes” of her four friends—opting out, ramping off, giving half effort, and forgetting your fertility—that becomes wildly popular, and Elizabeth, Sara, Martha, and Carmen all feel the sting of Heather’s cruel words. Despite their status, these women face everyday obstacles, including work problems, parenting challenges, secondary infertility, racism, sexism, financial stress, and marital woes—and as they weather their fortieth year, each one can’t help but wonder if their life might have been different if they had followed Heather’s advice.
    
    
    
    But as these friends are continually reminded, life is complex, messy, disappointing, and joyful, often all at once—and no one can plan her way out of that reality. In the end, all five women must embrace the idea that their lives are shaped not just by their choices but also by how they handle the obstacles life inevitably throws at us all.
    Show book
  • Bittersweet Manor - A Novel - cover

    Bittersweet Manor - A Novel

    Tory McCagg

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After a four-month estrangement from her family, thirty-two-year-old Emma Michaels visits The Harbor View Assisted Living Home to tell her grandmother, Gussie, that she has made a decision: she’s going to sell the family property—her inheritance. Sitting on the dock of Poquatuck Village, Connecticut, looking across the harbor to their family’s longtime home, the two women debate over Emma’s choice—and their conversation lays the framework for the book, which flows over the decades, all the way back to Gussie's youth and marriage, then forward through the lives of her three children, Auggie, Livy, and Alyssa, whose hopes and talents are warped by their mother’s influence and disappointed expectations. Expectations passed down through the generations. Subtle. Unspoken. Implacable. 
    
    
    
    As Emma and Gussie remember the choices and dynamics that have produced the complicated tapestry that is their family’s history, Emma makes a number of surprising discoveries about her loved ones—and herself—and she prepares to do what no one else in her family has dared: let go of the past to make room for the future, though doing so will destroy the thing her grandmother holds most dear.
    Show book