Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Mood Indigo - cover

Mood Indigo

Ed Ifkovic

Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

She was 1932 Broadway's newest sensation. Then she was murdered.

 
Three years after the Crash that ushered in the Great Depression, Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist and playwright Edna Ferber finds herself a guest at Noel Coward's lavish birthday party. The British wit, enjoying the Christmas holiday season in New York and bracing for a trip to Cleveland in the new year, has filled his room with rich, famous folks whose lives continue in stark contrast to those being lived out in the city's streets and poorer neighborhoods.
 
Edna is haunted by the dark landscape of Manhattan outside Coward's elegant rooms: the snake-like breadlines, the shanty village in Central Park, the gaunt apple sellers in threadbare suits on freezing sidewalks. She has yet to be introduced to the Automat where a few cents are the difference between nourishment and starvation.
 
Among those who've kept fortune intact is Dougie Maddox, the financially astute but socially naïve only son of a Fifth Avenue dynasty. His widowed mother, known as Lady Maud, has kept the thirty-five-year-old on a short leash, but Dougie has crossed paths with Belinda Ross, the new Broadway songbird. He's mesmerized by her, a woman flagrantly courted by other men. But Belinda seems besotted by Dougie. Gossip flourishes - she has a shadowy past and a producer brother anxious to break onto the Great White Way.
 
When Belinda is found strangled late one night in a Times Square Automat, jealous, hot-tempered Dougie is the prime suspect. But Noel, who had befriended him, and Edna, who likes him, team up to clear Dougie's name. Their investigation inevitably takes them deep into Belinda's circle and her past.
 
As the crowds in Time Square ready for a half-hearted New Year's celebration, are Noel and Edna watching the last act of a New York Othello, or is there some other killer-maybe more than one-afoot on the icy pavements of New York City?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Far River - cover

    The Far River

    Barbara Wood

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    For as long as anyone could remember, the Schallers and the Newmans had been enemies. When the skeletal remains of a victim of foul play are discovered at the Schaller estate, a decades-old feud between the rival winemaking families is reignited and dark secrets begin to see the light of day. Set against the lush backdrop of the rolling hills of California's Central Coast, The New York Times best-selling author Barbara Wood's thirtieth novel is a generation-spanning saga of love, treachery, and bitterly held grudges.
    Show book
  • The Walworth Beauty - cover

    The Walworth Beauty

    Michèle Roberts

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
     
    2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
     
    1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
     
    As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.
    Show book
  • Undiscovered Mazo de la Roche 9-Book Bundle - Explorers of the Dawn Possession Delight and 6 more - cover

    Undiscovered Mazo de la Roche...

    Mazo de la Roche

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Discover hidden gems from the bestselling author of the Jalna series.
     
     
    
    A farm inheritance cultivates an illicit love affair. An orphan finds a home with two sisters and their writer lodger and soon discovers strange and frightening events. Three motherless boys living at boarding school find freedom in their limitless imaginations. With these stories, Mazo de la Roche explores the lives of a fascinating and endearing set of characters.
     
     
    
    Discover beloved author Mazo de la Roche again with these enduring classics. Nine-book bundle includes: 
    
    
    Explorers of the Dawn 
    Possession
    Delight
    Lark Ascending
    Growth of a Man
    The Two Saplings
    A Boy in the House
    The Song of Lambert
    Bill and Coo
    Show book
  • A Baltic Affair - cover

    A Baltic Affair

    Patrick G Cox

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Captain Petroc Gray, commander of the ship-rigged sloop of war, HMS 
    Kestrel, is drawn into diplomacy, intrigue, and espionage when he 
    rescues the Freiherr von Dieffenbach and his family off the island of 
    Rügen in the Baltic. The Freiherr is an important and valuable 
    connection in the struggle to beat the Napoleonic Continental blockade 
    of British trade, and his daughter, Silke, is a delightful young woman 
    with a quick wit, brilliant intelligence, and a keen eye for observing 
    the events unfolding around them. The ever-changing political alliances 
    of the Northern European and Scandinavian states-war, sea battles, 
    storms, death, and Napoleon's "hundred days" leading to the defeat at 
    Waterloo--all conspire to frustrate Petroc's intention to seek Silke's 
    hand in marriage, right to the last. But Petroc isn't one to be easily 
    defeated, whether he is navigating the open seas or matters of the 
    heart, and Silke stands bright and strong in his life like a beacon in a
     safe harbour.
    Show book
  • Madoc - cover

    Madoc

    Bernard Knight

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An epic historical novel by award-winning author Bernard Knight, which tells the story of Madoc, a Welsh prince who, legend says, was one of the first people to discover the continent of North America.
    Show book
  • The Bride Price - cover

    The Bride Price

    Anne Mallory

    • 3
    • 48
    • 0
    Winner take all . . .  
    Sebastien Deville, the debauched, dangerously handsome illegitimate son of the Duke of Grandien, has waited his whole life for revenge—and suddenly it is there for the taking. A competition sponsored by the ing has all the ton talking. The winner will receive an immense fortune, a newly created title, sponsorship, and a well-born bride—everything Sebastien needs to reclaim his mother's stolen lands and to wield the colossal power itching beneath his fingertips. His victory is all but assured . . . until he meets Caroline. 
    Caroline Martin knows all about Sebastien, the legendary heartbreaker who leaves women weeping in his wake, and she is determined not to see him win the competition in which he would claim her friend as his bride. Yet sabotage is so very hard to concentrate on when the target's searing glances promise incredible pleasure and his skillful hands vow unimaginable desire. She knows the danger he presents, the temptation he offers, yet she is willing to risk everything for all she holds dear. 
    But Sebastien Deville will do anything to win . . . and Caroline's heart may become the ultimate prize.
    Show book