Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Day the Music Died - cover

The Day the Music Died

Ed Gorman

Publisher: MysteriousPress.com

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

In 1950s Iowa, a murder-suicide forces a lawyer to put aside his rock-and-roll grief Sam McCain loves Buddy Holly because he’s the only rock-and-roll star who still seems like a dweeb, and Sam knows how that feels. With the unrequited love of his life at his side, Sam drives more than three hours through the snow to watch his idol play the Surf Ballroom. That night, Buddy Holly dies in the most famous plane crash in music history, but Sam has no time to grieve. Because there are too many lawyers in this small town, Sam makes a living as a PI, doing odd jobs for an eccentric judge—whose nephew, it seems, has a problem only a detective could solve. His trophy wife has been murdered, and as soon as Sam arrives, the nephew kills himself, too. The police see this as a clear-cut murder-suicide, but Sam wants to know more, diving into a mystery by Ellery Queen Award–winning author Ed Gorman that will get dangerous faster than you can say “bye-bye, Miss American Pie.”  

Who read this book also read:

  • Dare to Remember: New Psychological Crime Drama - cover

    Dare to Remember: New...

    Susanna Beard

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    'Intriguing and gripping' --Rachel Abbott 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'It kept me reading into the night' --Sam Carrington 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of The Girl Who Lied 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah
    Show book
  • Unfair Justice - Justice series - cover

    Unfair Justice - Justice series

    M A Comley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the early hours of the morning, the murdered body of a teenager, Maria Collins, in discovered close to a railway track. 
    With very few clues to go on, can DI Lorne Simpkins and her team uncover who the murderer is before he claims yet another victim?
    Show book
  • Acqua Alta - A Commissario Guido Brunetti Mystery - cover

    Acqua Alta - A Commissario Guido...

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As Venice braces for a winter tempest, Commissario Guido Brunetti, Donna Leon's intrepid Italian sleuth, finds out that an old friend has been savagely beaten at the palazzo home of reigning diva Flavia Petrelli. Then, as the flood waters rise, a corpse is discovered—and Brunetti must wade through the chaotic city to solve his deadliest case yet. Sinister and exotic, Acqua Alta is another chilling addition to Donna Leon's best-selling series.
    Show book
  • Killer Knots - cover

    Killer Knots

    Nancy J. Cohen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Nancy J. Cohen’s Bad Hair Day mysteries are a cut above the rest—rich, full, and stylish. Now her beautician‑sleuth Marla Shore puts down her curling iron and picks up her skills at detection when she books passage on a cruise ship with a killer aboard. Soon it is full steam ahead toward mayhem and murder—in a case sure to have Marla going off the deep end. Scissor‑wielding sleuth Marla Shore is looking forward to a leisurely cruise with her fiancé Dalton Vail. Too bad Dalton’s teenage daughter and his parents are along for the ride. Instead of a seduction at sea, Marla is meeting the in‑laws and hoping nothing goes too wrong. It is a vain hope. A mysterious envelope stuck into her cabin door read: “I know what you did and I have what you want.” If it had not been addressed to “Martha” Shore and obviously delivered by mistake, Marla might have feared it referred to the nudie pictures buried in her past. But that embarrassment would have been better than what the note does foretell: Troubled water lies ahead. So instead of cruise control, Marla’s on high alert, searching for the note’s intended recipient before the cruise goes down the drain. If Marla does not find the culprit fast, this spunky stylist could end up with her own split end: caught between the devil and the deep blue sea.
    Show book
  • Song of Kali - cover

    Song of Kali

    Dan Simmons

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The World Fantasy Award winner by the author of the Hyperion Cantos and Carrion Comfort: An American finds himself encircled by horrors in Calcutta.   Praised by Dean Koontz as “the best novel in the genre I can remember,” Song of Kali follows an American magazine editor who journeys to the brutally bleak, poverty-stricken Indian city in search of a manuscript by a mysterious poet—but instead is drawn into an encounter with the cult of Kali, goddess of death.   A chilling voyage into the squalor and violence of the human condition, this novel is considered by many to be the best work by the author of The Terror, who has been showered with accolades, including the Bram Stoker Award, the International Horror Guild Award, and the Hugo Award.  
    Show book
  • The Levee - A Novel of Baton Rouge - cover

    The Levee - A Novel of Baton Rouge

    Malcolm Shuman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A true-crime writer returns home to solve the mystery that haunted his boyhoodAfter witnessing an execution, true-crime writer Colin Douglas starts having nightmares of himself as a boy, alone by the levee, trapped in the mud of the Mississippi River. Each night, the dreams grow worse, becoming horrid recreations of the day his childhood died.In 1959, Colin and three friends went camping on the levee, across from the tumbledown old Windsong plantation. When one of the boys disappeared, Colin went searching for him, and was approaching the old estate when he saw what appeared to be a ghost. The next day, he learned a woman had been murdered in the area—an unsolved crime that has haunted him ever since. Decades later, he attempts to solve this forgotten cold case, raking up something even dirtier than the muddy bottom of the Mississippi.
    Show book