Pimp your reading experience and read without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Nine Unlikely Tales - cover

Nine Unlikely Tales

E. Nesbit

Publisher: anboco

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The cockatoucan
whereyouwantogoto
the blue mountain
the prince, two mice, and some kitchen-maids
melisande: or long and short division
fortunatus rex and co
the sums that came right
the town in the library, in the town in the library
the plush usurper

Other books that might interest you

  • At the Jerusalem - cover

    At the Jerusalem

    Paul Bailey

    • 2
    • 6
    • 1
    'A very funny book, but never jeering, full of pity, but unsentimentally harsh with the tragedy of old age which institutional kindness cannot cushion' Financial Times. 
     
    Following the death from leukaemia of her daughter, Celia, Mrs Gadny goes to live with her sullen stepson Henry. But she finds little affection or contentment either with him, or with his selfish wife Thelma, or with their ungrateful children. She is sent to an old people's home, 'The Jerusalem', a converted workhouse, green-and-white-tiled. Mrs Gadny is repulsed and humiliated by the home and its inmates: women like acid-tongued Miss Trimmer, the vulgar toothless Mrs Affery, and Mrs O'Blath with her hysterical laughter. Retreating from the kindness offered her by the nurses and the friendly Mrs Capes, she withdraws into her memories, but even their fragmented recollection provides small comfort. Mrs Gadny's only escape from 'The Jerusalem' lies in her own crumbling consciousness. 
     
    Paul Bailey is sensitive to the exact nuance of conversation, the precise detail that can create an environment or a mood, and draw the reader into it. His book is an exquisitely defined miniature whose impression will not easily be forgotten. 
     
    With an introduction by Colm Tóibín.
    Show book
  • The Law and the Lady - cover

    The Law and the Lady

    Wilkie Collins

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Wilkie Collins (8 January 1824  23 September 1889) will never be as well known as one of his friends, a fellow writer named Charles Dickens. But Collins was an established playwright and author in his own right. Collins and Dickens collaborated frequently, but Wilkie also produced hundreds of his own works, ranging from novels to literary articles and short stories, including The Woman in White, The Moonstone, Armadale and No Name.
    Show book
  • Bedeviled - A Dark Breed Novel - cover

    Bedeviled - A Dark Breed Novel

    Sable Grace

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “Kyana brings a new dimension to the ranks of kick-ass heroines…I’m looking forward to more of her adventures.”—New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Day 
    Enter a nightmare world where Dark Breeds—Vampyre, demons, and shapeshifters—war with mortals, and one extraordinary woman stands between them. Readers of Jeaniene Frost will love Bedeviled, the second book in author Sable Grace’s Dark Breeds paranormal series. Part vampire, part Lychen warrior Kyana Aslan joins the genre’s pantheon of unforgettable female supernatural avengers—along with Buffy the vampire slayer, Jeaniene Frost’s Cat Crawfield, and Rachel Morgan of the bestselling Hollows novels. Bedeviled takes the war for humankind’s survival to breathtaking new heights, as the terrifying rise of the darkest god to ever exist threatens the future of Kyana’s world. Fans of Marjorie Liu, Nalini Singh, Kim Harrison, Christine Feehan…add Sable Grace to list of paranormal fiction’s superstars!
    Show book
  • Empire of Lies - cover

    Empire of Lies

    Andrew Klavan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A pious family man is pulled back into his sordid past—and into a race to stop a terrorist plot—in this thriller by an Edgar Award–winning author. Sustained by a deep religious faith, Jason Harrow has built a stable family and become a pillar of principle and patriotism. Then the phone rings, and his past is on the other end of the line. A woman with whom he once shared a life of violence and desire claims her daughter is missing—and Jason is the one man who can find her.   Returning to New York City from the Midwest, Jason finds himself entangled in a murderous conspiracy that bizarrely links his private passions to the turmoil of a world at war. Hunted by terrorists and the police, Jason has only hours to unravel an ex-lover’s lies and face the unbearable truth: In order to prevent a savage attack on his country, he’s going to have to risk his decency, his sanity—and his life.   “The most original novelist of crime and suspense since Cornell Woolrich.” —Stephen King   “Klavan’s writing is masterful, and his characters superbly drawn.” —Forbes   “A wickedly satiric thriller with political overtones . . . [that] builds to an explosive climax.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Galway Girl - cover

    Galway Girl

    Ken Bruen

    • 2
    • 6
    • 1
    “They don’t come much tougher than Ken Bruen’s Irish roughneck, Jack Taylor,” and crime thrillers don’t get any better than this (The New York Times Book Review).   Jack Taylor has never quite been able get his life together, but now he has truly hit rock bottom. Still reeling from a violent family tragedy, Taylor is busy drowning his grief in Jameson and uppers, as usual, when a high-profile officer in the local Garda is murdered. After another Guard is found dead, and then another, Taylor’s old colleagues from the force implore him to take on the case. The plot is one big game, and all of the pieces seem to be moving at the behest of one dangerously mysterious team: a trio of young killers with very different styles, but who are united their common desire to take down Jack Taylor. Their ring leader is Jericho, a psychotic girl from Galway who is grieving the loss of her lover, and who will force Jack to confront some personal trauma from his past. As sharp and sardonic as it is starkly bleak and violent, Galway Girl shows master raconteur Ken Bruen at his best: lyrical, brutal, and ceaselessly suspenseful.  
    Show book
  • Dragon Teeth - A Novel - cover

    Dragon Teeth - A Novel

    Michael Crichton

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    Michael Crichton, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Jurassic Park, returns to the world of paleontology in this recently discovered novel—a thrilling adventure set in the Wild West during the golden age of fossil hunting. 
    The year is 1876. Warring Indian tribes still populate America’s western territories even as lawless gold-rush towns begin to mark the landscape. In much of the country it is still illegal to espouse evolution. Against this backdrop two monomaniacal paleontologists pillage the Wild West, hunting for dinosaur fossils, while surveilling, deceiving and sabotaging each other in a rivalry that will come to be known as the Bone Wars. 
    Into this treacherous territory plunges the arrogant and entitled William Johnson, a Yale student with more privilege than sense. Determined to survive a summer in the west to win a bet against his arch-rival, William has joined world-renowned paleontologist Othniel Charles Marsh on his latest expedition.  But when the paranoid and secretive Marsh becomes convinced that William is spying for his nemesis, Edwin Drinker Cope, he abandons him in Cheyenne, Wyoming, a locus of crime and vice. William is forced to join forces with Cope and soon stumbles upon a discovery of historic proportions.  With this extraordinary treasure, however, comes exceptional danger, and William’s newfound resilience will be tested in his struggle to protect his cache, which pits him against some of the West’s most notorious characters. 
    A page-turner that draws on both meticulously researched history and an exuberant imagination, Dragon Teeth is based on the rivalry between real-life paleontologists Cope and Marsh; in William Johnson readers will find an inspiring hero only Michael Crichton could have imagined. Perfectly paced and brilliantly plotted, this enormously winning adventure is destined to become another Crichton classic. 
    Show book