Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Balance (The Eternal Dungeon Volume 3) - The Eternal Dungeon #3 - cover

The Balance (The Eternal Dungeon Volume 3) - The Eternal Dungeon #3

Dusk Peterson

Publisher: Love in Dark Settings Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

"'The Eternal Dungeon is my home now,' the High Seeker said. But as he spoke, he lifted his face and looked at the Vovimian carving, as a man might look at a beloved he must leave forever." 
The Seekers (torturers) in the Eternal Dungeon have always expressed contempt toward the Hidden Dungeon in the neighboring kingdom of Vovim, whose torturers abuse prisoners without restraint. But the balance between mercy and hell is not so clear as might be thought in either dungeon, and now that balance is about to tip. Only the strength of love and integrity will determine the paths of two Seekers whose fortunes are bound together. 
A winner of the 2011 Rainbow Awards (within the "Eternal Dungeon" omnibus), this tale of love and adventure can be read on its own or as the third volume in The Eternal Dungeon, a speculative fiction series set in a nineteenth-century prison where the psychologists wield whips. 
The Eternal Dungeon series is part of Turn-of-the-Century Toughs, a cycle of alternate history series (Young Toughs, Waterman, Life Prison, Commando, Michael's House, The Eternal Dungeon, and Dark Light) about adults and youths on the margins of society, and the people who love them. Set in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the novels and stories take place in an alternative version of America that was settled by inhabitants of the Old World in ancient times. As a result, the New World retains certain classical and medieval customs.

Who read this book also read:

  • A Kiss at Midnight - cover

    A Kiss at Midnight

    Eloisa James

    • 4
    • 14
    • 0
    “Eloisa James writes with a captivating blend of charm, style, and grace that never fails to leave the reader sighing and smiling and falling in love.”—New York Times bestselling author Julia Quinn “Romance writing does not get much better than this.”—PeopleThe Cinderella story moves to Regency England—with more than a few twists and turns along the way! With A Kiss at Midnight, the remarkable Eloisa James spins a delicious tale involving a carriage, a godmother, a pair of rats…and a beauty with no interest whatsoever in getting married—and certainly not to a prince! Read A Kiss at Midnight and see why New York Times bestselling author Lisa Kleypas says, “Eloisa James is extraordinary.”
    Show book
  • Personal Delivery - Billionaire Secrets #1 - cover

    Personal Delivery - Billionaire...

    Ainsley Booth

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    She has a crush on the delivery guy. He has a billion-dollar secret. 
    As the CEO of Aston Corp, Jake usually wears Hugo Boss. But when his company acquires SwiftEx, he goes undercover as a delivery driver so he can understand the business from the ground up. The last thing he expects is to fall head over heels for a sexy and sweet illustrator on his route...  
    First book in a sexy new rom com series! Keep reading with Personal Escort...
    Show book
  • The Viscount's Revenge - cover

    The Viscount's Revenge

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    The handsome Viscount Trent finally makes up his mind to accede to the pleadings of his family and get married.
    	He is twenty-seven and for a long time they have been begging him to take a wife and produce an heir to his illustrious title, his famous stately home and his vast estate.
    	On the whole he finds debutantes extremely boring and has enjoyed a number of affaires-de-coeur with older married women.
    	However there is one girl, Marigold Marlow, he considers outstanding and she is the acknowledged great beauty of the Season.
    	As she is so beautiful, the Viscount is convinced that Marigold will make him a perfect wife, but he is astonished when, having proposed to her, she tells him that she has not quite made up her mind.   She will let him know on Wednesday if she accepts his proposal of marriage.
    	As the Viscount expects her to fall immediately into his arms, he is surprised, but content to wait until Wednesday for her answer, which he is certain will be ‘yes’.
    	As he drives away from Marigold’s house, a young girl holding a white Pekingese in her arms begs him to give her a lift to London.
    	He sees no reason to refuse and finds as they drive off that she is Salvia, a cousin of the beautiful Marigold.
    	He then learns that Marigold has her eyes on the son of the Duke of Northerncliff, who is seriously ill.  In fact if he dies as expected, she intends to marry his heir as one day soon he will be a Duke.
    	Feeling surprised and angry, he is even more astonished to learn that Marigold is cruel to animals and that Salvia is running away because she is so unkind to her dog as well as to her.
    	How the Viscount dreams up a way to avenge himself on Marigold and, if the Duke does recover, how he can escape marrying her as he has now changed his mind.
    	How the Viscount’s plan succeeds.
    	And how Salvia takes London by storm, faces appalling danger and finally finds the love of her life is all told in this unusual story by BARBARA CARTLAND.
    Show book
  • Legs - One Wild Wish #1 - cover

    Legs - One Wild Wish #1

    Kelly Siskind

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Rachel isn’t the type to drink a boatload of wine, sleep with a tattooed bad boy, and drunk email her boss in one glorious, career-ending move. But, you know, wine happens. Her only saving grace: she barely remembers her one wild night. 
    Jimmy’s recent one-night stand involved no names and no strings. Exactly how he likes it; names lead to details about his past. But for the life of him, he can’t stop thinking about his recent hook-up. Her long legs. The way they’d locked around him on the floor. In his bed. Against the wall. Damn. 
    He also never expected to compete against her in a high-stakes wine tasting contest. 
    If Rachel loses, she’ll have to take a job at her uncle’s funeral home. Jimmy needs the win’s publicity to expose his family’s lies. His focus should be laser sharp, but Rachel’s memory lapse infuriates him. He’s been reliving every glorious detail of their night for weeks, and she remembers nothing. 
    His new plan: remind Rachel just how good it was without revealing who he is. 
    LEGS is a full-length, standalone Smart, Sexy Romantic Comedy with a swoony Happily Ever After. No cheating or cliff-hangers here! Perfect for fans of Christina Lauren, Avery Flynn, Alice Clayton, Emma Chase, and Lauren Blakely.
    Show book
  • The Wonderful Dream - cover

    The Wonderful Dream

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    Beautiful young Claudia Anderson is all alone in the family home in Chelsea without a penny to her name after both her mother and her father, the celebrated actor Walter Wilton, are burned to death when the theatre where Walter is performing collapses in flames. 
    Reeling from the most terrible shock of her life, little does Claudia realise that Fate has another two mortifying shocks in store for her. 
    First, Lady Bressley arrives at her house, the Godmother she has never known, and announces that Walter Wilton was not her real father at all! As Claudia struggles with this earth-shattering news, Lady Bressley generously takes her under her wing on a trip to Spain. 
    But again Fate steps in when Lady Bressley is killed in a coach crash, leaving Claudia penniless and stranded alone in Seville. 
    Finally, though, Fate takes a turn for the better when the dashing Marquis of Datchford asks her to pose as his new bride in order to avoid being matched with a plain-looking Spanish Princess. 
    With one thousand pounds in her pocket as her reward, the Marquis has given her the moon 
    And now, as love blossoms in her heart, can she ask him for the stars as well?
    Show book
  • Her One and Only (A Porter Family Novel Book #4) - cover

    Her One and Only (A Porter...

    Becky Wade

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Romance Fans Eagerly Anticipate Every New Release from Becky WadeGray Fowler, star NFL tight end, is being pursued by a stalker, so his team hires a protection agency to keep Gray under the watch of a bodyguard at all times. When Gray meets Dru Porter, an agent assigned to him, he's indignant. How can an attractive young female half his size possibly protect him?But Dru's a former Marine, an expert markswoman, and a black belt. She's also ferociously determined to uncover the identity of Gray's stalker. And she's just as determined to avoid any kind of romantic attachment between herself and the rugged football player with the mysterious past. But the closer they get to finding the stalker, the closer they grow to each other. As the danger rises, can Dru and Gray entrust their hearts--and their lives--to one another?
    Show book