Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Balance (The Eternal Dungeon Volume 3) - The Eternal Dungeon #3 - cover

The Balance (The Eternal Dungeon Volume 3) - The Eternal Dungeon #3

Dusk Peterson

Publisher: Love in Dark Settings Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

"'The Eternal Dungeon is my home now,' the High Seeker said. But as he spoke, he lifted his face and looked at the Vovimian carving, as a man might look at a beloved he must leave forever." 
The Seekers (torturers) in the Eternal Dungeon have always expressed contempt toward the Hidden Dungeon in the neighboring kingdom of Vovim, whose torturers abuse prisoners without restraint. But the balance between mercy and hell is not so clear as might be thought in either dungeon, and now that balance is about to tip. Only the strength of love and integrity will determine the paths of two Seekers whose fortunes are bound together. 
A winner of the 2011 Rainbow Awards (within the "Eternal Dungeon" omnibus), this tale of love and adventure can be read on its own or as the third volume in The Eternal Dungeon, a speculative fiction series set in a nineteenth-century prison where the psychologists wield whips. 
The Eternal Dungeon series is part of Turn-of-the-Century Toughs, a cycle of alternate history series (Young Toughs, Waterman, Life Prison, Commando, Michael's House, The Eternal Dungeon, and Dark Light) about adults and youths on the margins of society, and the people who love them. Set in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the novels and stories take place in an alternative version of America that was settled by inhabitants of the Old World in ancient times. As a result, the New World retains certain classical and medieval customs.

Other books that might interest you

  • Slingshot - A Spycatcher Novel - cover

    Slingshot - A Spycatcher Novel

    Matthew Dunn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Matthew Dunn uses his experience as a former MI6 field officer to bring transfixing realism to Slingshot, his third Spycatcher novel featuring Will Cochrane—MI6’s, and now the CIA’s, most prized asset and deadliest weapon. In Slingshot, Cochrane is ordered to recover a mysterious document stolen by a Russian Foreign Intelligence Service (SRV) traitor working for a former high-ranking East German Stasi officer. The officer, years before, had instigated a secret pact between Russian and U.S. generals. The agreement stipulated that should it be broken, an assassin would immediately be set loose after an unknown target. The SRV has sent their own version of Cochrane, a cold-blooded, brilliant operative, to retrieve the document, pitting spycatcher against spycatcher. Slingshot, with its cat-and-mouse espionage, brutal action, and complex protagonist, is a must-read for fans of Robert Ludlum and Lee Child.
    Show book
  • Spy Trade - A Spycatcher Novella - cover

    Spy Trade - A Spycatcher Novella

    Matthew Dunn

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When a mission goes awry in Syria, senior CIA officer Bob Oakland is captured by aspiring members of ISIS, who demand the release of one of their own, Arzam Saud, in U.S. captivity. When their hands are tied by Washington's refusal to negotiate, the CIA turns to MI6 officer Will Cochrane to find out what's really going on. The threats are escalating quickly, and in order to save the CIA officer, Cochrane must uncover why Saud is truly so important . . .
    Show book
  • Dancing Aztecs - cover

    Dancing Aztecs

    Donald E. Westlake

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When sixteen copies of a famous Aztec statue arrive in New York, men will die to find out which one is the real thingA small South American republic has decided to capitalize on its national symbol: a prized gold statue of a dancing Aztec priest. The president asks a sculptor to make sixteen copies of it for sale abroad. The sculptor replaces the original with one of his fakes, and ships the real one to New York City for an under-the-table sale to a museum. The statues travel to America spread out among five crates, labeled to ensure that delivery goes as planned. But it doesn’t work. Asked to pick up the crate marked “E” at the airport, delivery man Jerry Manelli, confused by his client’s Spanish accent, takes crate “A” instead. The statue disappears into the city, leading him on a baffling chase, which—if he comes up with the wrong Aztec—could cost him his life.
    Show book
  • The Fantastic Book of Everybody's Secrets - cover

    The Fantastic Book of...

    Sophie Hannah

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Everybody has their secrets.  
    Who, for instance, is the hooded figure hiding in the bushes outside a young man’s house? Why does the same stranger keep appearing in the background of a family’s holiday photographs? What makes a woman stand mesmerized by two children in a school playground—children she’s never met but whose names she knows well? All will be revealed . . . but at a cost. As Sophie Hannah uncovers the dark obsessions and strange longings behind the most ordinary relationships, life will never seem quite the same again.
    Show book
  • The Wizard of Death - cover

    The Wizard of Death

    Richard Forrest

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When he learns a bullet was meant for his wife, children’s author Lyon Wentworth investigates an assassination, in this irresistible political thriller. On a sunny afternoon in Murphysville, Connecticut, the village green of the charming suburb is filled with voters who have come for a glimpse of Randolph Llewyn. Everyone’s attention is locked on the stage as state senator Bea Wentworth introduces the candidate for governor—everyone, that is, but Bea’s husband, Lyon, who is daydreaming of a title for his latest children’s book. Lyon snaps back to attention, however, when a sniper’s bullet cuts Randolph down as he takes the stage.   A second bullet misses, but the damage is done. As the crowd erupts in panic, Lyon spots the assassin fleeing on a motorcycle. With police chief Rocco Herbert, Lyon gives chase, but the killer gets away. Only then does Lyon think of Bea, who is shaken, but unharmed. But when he learns that Bea was also a target, the mild-mannered children’s book author must find the courage to hunt an assassin before he strikes again.   Written in the rough-and-tumble political climate of the late 1970s, The Wizard of Death is a small-town thriller unlike any other. Starring a delightful husband-and-wife sleuthing team, it’s as quick and shocking as an assassin’s bullet.   The Wizard of Death is the 2nd book in the Lyon and Bea Wentworth Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • Dan Sharp Mysteries 4-Book Bundle - Lake on the Mountain Pumpkin Eater The Jade Butterfly After the Horses - cover

    Dan Sharp Mysteries 4-Book...

    Jeffrey Round

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The first four novels of the Dan Sharp mystery series, winner of the Lambda Award for best gay mystery.
    
    Collected into a single volume, the Lambda-award winning Dan Sharp series by Jeffrey Round follows a gay father and missing persons investigator as he weaves from upper-class enclaves to the seedy underbelly of Toronto and Southern Ontario.
    
    Includes:
    
    Lake on the Mountain - #1
    Dan Sharp, a gay missing persons investigator, accepts an invitation to a wedding on a yacht in Ontario’s Prince Edward County. But the event doesn’t go as planned. A member of the wedding party is swept overboard and Dan finds himself deep in troubled waters as he searches for possible killers, not only in the present, but also twenty years earlier.
    
    Pumpkin Eater - #2
    Missing persons investigator Dan Sharp makes a grisly find in a burned-out Toronto slaughterhouse. His search for a killer takes him deep into Toronto’s underworld.
    
    The Jade Butterfly - #3
    A chance meeting in a bar sends missing persons investigator Dan Sharp in search of a woman presumed dead in the Tiananmen Square Massacre. But there may be international consequences and big players in a mystery that spans two continents.
    
    After the Horses - #4
    When a notorious bar owner is found dead, Dan Sharp is approached by a couple who claim they know the killer’s identity. Reluctant at first, Dan reconsiders when he learns about the club’s shady payments to the cops. As suspicious disappearances mount, Dan finds himself targeted by someone who wants the case — and anyone connected — dead.
    
    "Such devotion to his work makes Round's writing absorbing for readers. You sympathize with Sharp, even as he falls into a whiskey-drenched hell, and you wait for him to rise again." 
    – Xtra!
    
    "The writing is raw, the emotions are taut and author Jeffrey Round brings it together in a breathtaking conclusion." 
    – Hamilton Spectator
    
    "Jeffrey Round is the gay Margaret Atwood!"
    – Luba Goy, Comedian
    Show book