Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Abolitionist (Waterman: Master and Servant #1) - Waterman: Master and Servant #1 - cover

The Abolitionist (Waterman: Master and Servant #1) - Waterman: Master and Servant #1

Dusk Peterson

Publisher: Love in Dark Settings Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"The servants were scared stiff of him, and the masters were clearly uncertain what to say to a man who came from such an eccentric House. Nothing was different, nothing had changed. And yet everything had changed since Carr met a young foreigner who showed him not the least bit of respect." 
When a foul-mouthed, seditious foreigner turns up at your door, what are the benefits of letting him in? So wonders Carr, a young man living in a bayside nation that is troubled by internal battles. In his world, servants fight against masters, tonging watermen fight against dredging watermen, and landsteads eye one another's oyster grounds with greed. It seems to Carr that the only way in which to keep such warfare from entering his own home is to keep very, very quiet about certain aspects of himself which his family would not be able to accept. 
But "trouble" is a word that appears to delight the new visitor. He is ready to stir up danger . . . though he may not be as prepared as he thinks to confront what lies within Carr. 
A finalist in the Gay Fantasy category of the Rainbow Awards 2013, this novel about an unconventional pairing features a special appearance by a character from the Slave Breakers series by Sabrina Deane. The novel can be read on its own or as the first story in the "Master and Servant" volume of Waterman, a speculative fiction series inspired by the Chesapeake Bay oyster wars, boarding school rivalries in the 1910s, and 1960s visions of things to come.

Other books that might interest you

  • Santa's Big Helper - cover

    Santa's Big Helper

    Olivia Gaines

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Big Charlie Pines knew his days in the Santa suit was almost over.  His one wish was to make his son believe in the power of Christmas before his eyes closed for the last time.  With the help of his favorite elf, Patience, together, they would restore Nick’s faith. 
     
    Patience Miller wasn’t sure what Sana wanted her to do to help his son, but she often taught the children at her orphanage to always have hope.  She had a plan and she hoped it would work.  Only if she could get Nick to believe in the magic of Christmas.
    Show book
  • The Lone Star Ranger - cover

    The Lone Star Ranger

    Zane Grey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When he is forced to kill a man after a deadly attack, Buck Duane begins a life on the run while trying to clear his name, and his fortunes are changed by a beautiful woman and a Texas Ranger who offers to pardon him for a price.
    Show book
  • The Light of Western Stars - cover

    The Light of Western Stars

    Zane Grey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A New York society girl buys a ranch which becomes the center of frontier warfare. Her loyal superintendent rescues her when she is captured by bandits. A surprising climax brings the story to a delightful close.
    Show book
  • Night Beast - cover

    Night Beast

    Ruth Joffre

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    A masterful collection from an important new voice in American fiction, Night Beast is a gorgeously written work of profound originality and vision. These doomed love stories and twisted fairytales explore the lives of women—particularly queer women and mothers—and reveal the monsters lurking in our daily lives: the madness, isolation, betrayals, and regrets that arise as we seek human connection.
    
     
    
    Through this collection, readers are taken to places where the sun never sets, where cornfields rustle ominously and sleepwalkers prowl the night. In “Weekend,” the lead actors of an avant-garde television show begin to confuse their characters’ identities with their own; in “Go West, and Grow Up,” a young girl living in a car with her mother is forced to shed her innocence too soon; and in “Safekeeping,” a woman trapped inside a futuristic safehouse gradually unravels as she waits for her lover, who may never return.
    
     
    
    With exquisite prose and transfixing imagery, Joffre explores worlds both strange and familiar, homing in on the darker side of humanity. Powerful, unsettling, and wildly imaginative, Night Beast is a mind-bending, genre-hopping debut, a provocative and uncommonly raw examination of relationships and sexuality, trauma and redemption, the meaning of family, and coming-of-age—and growing old—as an outsider.
    Show book
  • Private Sessions Tape 1 - Kyron Santos - cover

    Private Sessions Tape 1 - Kyron...

    Wahida Clark

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Thug Shorts (to be read in this order)  
    The Letter by Trae Macklin  
    The Response by Tasha Macklin  
    Shit Just Got Real by Tasha Macklin  
    Fifty Shades of Trae by Charli Li  
    It’s That Serious by Tasha Macklin  
    Private Sessions Tape One by Kyron Santos  
      
    Kyron Santos, Kaylin’s older brother, was used by Tasha Macklin to get back at Trae for his infidelities, a relationship that ultimately ended in pregnancy, murder, broken relationships, and mistrust. No one knew about the court-ordered sessions that Kyron was forced to attend. At least not until Mari, his woman who stuck by him throughout the majority of his prison bid, dropped the recordings off to Trae Macklin, Tasha’s husband.  
    Mari never got closure over Kyron’s death. She couldn’t understand why Kaylin wasn’t more distraught than he was over his brother’s death. Her anger built over Tasha using Kyron, and now, seeing Tasha was happily reunited with her husband, it was about to explode. She had it all. But that was soon to come to an end. Her happily-ever-after would be short-lived. Mari had in her possession transcripts of taped sessions of Kyron and the psychologist, unbeknownst to Kyron, which would shed light on Tasha’s relationship with Kyron—and with an anaconda smile, she places those transcripts directly in Trae’s hands for his consumption. Mari has a few dirty tricks up her sleeve. Nothing’s off-limits. What other nasty surprises is she planning?
    Show book
  • Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey - cover

    Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey

    Patrick G Cox

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the vein of Horatio Hornblower, Patrick G. Cox weaves an exciting, authentic tale of Harry Nelson-Heron, a young midshipman in the British Navy in the early 1800s. Born in 1789 during the Irish Rebellion, Harry must overcome the prejudice against the Irish, the ancient enmity between his family and another, and the usual hazards of an active and inquisitive youth in order to realise his dream of becoming an officer in Britain’s Royal Navy. When he and his faithful friend and companion Ferghal make the treacherous journey to London to find a ship, fate smiles on them. Harry is appointed a midshipman, and Ferghal joins him on the HMS Bellerophon as a seaman. Corsairs, diplomacy, and exploration challenge their skills as the seafaring life takes Harry and Ferghal across the seas and beyond. This book is entirely a work of historical fiction. Be sure to read book two in the series, Harry Heron: Into the Unknown, to see where the adventure leads.
    Show book