Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Risk (Dark Light Volume 2) - Dark Light #2 - cover

Risk (Dark Light Volume 2) - Dark Light #2

Dusk Peterson

Publisher: Love in Dark Settings Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"I hesitated. Was Fairview dead? Was it worth my while to risk my own life for a dead man?" 
Until risk arrives, you never know how important the things are that you're required to risk. 
A soldier must decide how high a price he is willing to pay for an unspoken bond. A journeyman must choose between an assured future and an untroubled conscience. A boy learns that his life is a lie and must decide which truth he desires. A servant and his beloved master face stark truths as their lives are endangered. A young torturer, satisfied with his lot, gambles everything he has ever valued to learn a new way of treating prisoners. A master must risk the future of his slave, or else risk his own future. . . . "Risk" looks at the dangers and rewards of taking risks. 
Winner of the Alternative Universe/Reality category in the 2016 Rainbow Awards, this second volume of Dark Light collects two novellas (short novels), two novelettes (miniature novels), and two short stories. These tales come from Turn-of-the-Century Toughs, a cycle of alternate history series (The Eternal Dungeon, Dungeon Guards, Michael's House, Life Prison, Commando, Waterman, Young Toughs, and Dark Light) about adults and youths on the margins of society, and the people who love them. Set in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the novels and stories take place in an alternative version of America that was settled by inhabitants of the Old World in ancient times. As a result, the New World retains certain classical and medieval customs. 
 
Volume Contents 
"The Unanswered Question" (The Eternal Dungeon). No weapons, no allies, and no guarantees that he will survive the test. 
"The Lure" (Young Toughs). His entire life has been a secret. Now he must rip open the secret. 
"Journey to Manhood" (Young Toughs). "Perhaps, when they spoke next, the other young man could tell Simmons of any masters here who were in need of an apprentice who was perilously close to the age of journeymanship." 
"Lost Haven: a master, his servant, and a disappearing island" (Waterman). Amidst a servant's nightmare, can a haven of hope be found? 
"Master's Piece" (Waterman). He was his master's piece: the model for his master's sculptures. But his master was different. 
"Spy Hill" (Commando). On a hot summer's day, on a high hill surrounded by the enemy, the best battle-companion can turn out to be the truth.

Who read this book also read:

  • TATTOOED - The Kate Lange Thriller Series #3 - cover

    TATTOOED - The Kate Lange...

    Pamela Callow

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The discovery of a bog body could crack a cold case that has haunted the city – and unravel the darkest secrets of Kate’s oldest foe in the third installment of the bestselling Kate Lange thriller series. For fans of John Grisham, Tess Gerritsen and James Patterson. 
    She is obsessed with tattoos.   
    He is obsessed with her. 
    When a body is found on the outskirts of Halifax, rumors run wild about the victim’s identity. But tattoo artist Kenzie Sloane knows exactly who she is. They share a tattoo… and a decade-old secret. 
    Lawyer Kate Lange remembers Kenzie Sloane. The former wild child was part of the same crowd that attracted her little sister, Imogen, before her death. Now Kenzie needs her help. And Kate needs answers. 
    But there are others who know about the tattoo and its history. And one of them is watching Kenzie’s every move, waiting for the perfect moment to fulfill a dark promise that had been inked in her skin. 
    “… there is no shortage of drama and suspense to keep readers on the hook right through to the heart-pounding finale.” —Chronicle Herald 
    “The story is suspenseful and well-plotted, and the characters — even the villains —are intriguing and multidimensional.” —RT Book Reviews 
     “…Pamela Callow keeps ‘bringing it’ with the Kate Lange series. Murder, revenge, obsession, secrets, redemption; TATTOOED has a lot going on and Ms. Callow manages to pull the many plot threads together into a plausible and cohesive read while maintaining the suspense.” —The Eclectic Reader 
    Book 3 of the Kate Lange Thriller Series 
    364 pages
    Show book
  • The Murderer in Ruins - cover

    The Murderer in Ruins

    Cay Rademacher

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Hamburg, 1947. A ruined city occupied by the British who bombed it, experiencing the coldest winter in living memory. Food is scarce; refugees and the homeless crowd into shanty towns and sheds. There is a killer on the loose, and all attempts to find him or her have failed. Plagued with worry about his missing son, Frank Stave is a career policeman with a tragedy in his past that is driving his determination to find the killer. With the help of his colleague Maschke from the vice squad, and Lt MacDonald from the British military, Stave has to find out why and who – in the wake of a wave of atrocity, the grim Nazi past and the bleak attempts by his German countrymen to recreate a country from the apocalypse – someone is still dedicated to murder. The first of a trilogy The Murderer in Ruins is at once evocative, impeccably plotted and beautifully textured, vividly describing a poignant moment in British/German history, with a plot so divinely seamless and riveting, you’ll be unable to put it down. A spine-tingling portrayal of pure evil, with multiple twists, turns and subplots, you’ll have no idea, until the final extraordinary denouement, what – or who – will rise from the ashes.
    Show book
  • The Dean's List - A Thriller - cover

    The Dean's List - A Thriller

    Jimmy Petrosino

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    S.E. Hinton meets Cruel Intentions in this exciting and fast paced thriller by Jimmy Petrosino. Growing up, Dean Perrasani always dreamed of following in the footsteps of his idol and older brother, Tyler. At nineteen his dream would be fulfilled. Dean is now president of Phi Beta Regnum, the very fraternity Tyler ran nearly ten years earlier. To the outsider Regnum is your typical fraternity. But that’s what they want everybody to believe. Secretly it’s a crime syndicate created by one of the most ruthless mobsters in the world, Alfred Calarone. Seeing how much revenue could be generated on a university campus, Calarone took the same blueprint that worked for the mafia for so many years and implemented it onto a university, using teenagers with troubled pasts to do his dirty work. Dean, like the men before him, including Tyler, must run the fraternity like a mafia don. He must create his very own caporegime. And he must become immune to the violence and backstabbing that comes with the job. But Dean believes he can be different than the men before him, even his brother, and run the fraternity as a legitimate enterprise. But how? Not knowing his friends from his enemies, Dean must keep himself in power long enough to pull off his master plan—to exact revenge on those responsible for murdering his older brother.
    Show book
  • The Ides of June - A mystery set in Roman Britain - cover

    The Ides of June - A mystery set...

    Rosemary Rowe

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A compelling new mystery for Libertus, set against the backdrop of the Roman Empire in turmoil . . .An astonishing new order has usurped power in Rome and the reverberations are reaching even to Glevum, where the legion is preparing to depart. Libertus’s wealthy patron, until recently one of the most influential men in the Empire, finds himself not only deprived of the privilege and protection he had previously enjoyed, but under actual threat both from the political establishment in Rome and from an anonymous and vindictive enemy much closer to home.The murder of another councillor, similarly placed, makes the matter urgent. Libertus, whose humbler status affords obscurity, is charged with spiriting Marcus’s young family away to a place of safety. But his task will bring problems of its own, as Libertus uncovers a grisly secret and an ancient crime – with ramifications stretching to the present day.
    Show book
  • A Body on the Porch - Dekker Cozy Mystery Series #10 - cover

    A Body on the Porch - Dekker...

    Steve Demaree

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When a retired detective encounters a stranger standing outside a restaurant when both of them are on vacation and the stranger finds out what he did before he retired, the detective jokingly tells the stranger that he will come and solve a murder for him if he goes home and finds a body on his front porch.
    Show book
  • The Borrowed - cover

    The Borrowed

    Chan Ho-Kei

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From award-winning Hong Kong writer Chan Ho-Kei, The Borrowed tells the story of Kwan Chun-dok, a Hong Kong detective whose career spans fifty years of the territory’s history. A deductive powerhouse, Kwan becomes a legend in the force, nicknamed “the Eye of Heaven” by his awe-struck colleagues. Divided into six sections told in reverse chronological order—each of which covers an important case in Kwan’s career and takes place at a pivotal moment in Hong Kong history from the 1960s to the present day—The Borrowed follows Kwan from his experiences during the Leftist Riot in 1967, when a bombing plot threatens many lives; the conflict between the HK Police and ICAC (Independent Commission Against Corruption) in 1977; the Tiananmen Square Massacre in 1989; to the Handover in 1997; and the present day of 2013, when Kwan is called on to solve his final case, the murder of a local billionaire, while Hong Kong increasingly resembles a police state. Along the way we meet Communist rioters, ultraviolent gangsters, stallholders at the city’s many covered markets, pop singers enmeshed in the high-stakes machinery of star-making, and a people always caught in the shifting balance of political power, whether in London or Beijing—all coalescing into a dynamic portrait of this fascinating city.Tracing a broad historical arc, The Borrowed reveals just how closely everything is connected, how history always repeats itself, and how we have come full circle to repeat the political upheaval and societal unrest of the past. It is a gripping, brilliantly constructed novel from a talented new voice.
    Show book