Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Re-Creation: Gift for a Slave (The Three Lands) - The Three Lands - cover

Re-Creation: Gift for a Slave (The Three Lands) - The Three Lands

Dusk Peterson

Publisher: Love in Dark Settings Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"He could not leave this room without his father's permission. And he could not imagine going to his father and saying, 'Please let me go gather moss so that my slave can have a proper New Year for once.'"

 
What can you give a slave who, by law, can own nothing? That is the question faced by Peter, the teenage heir to the throne of an empire. Despite his father's desire that the imperial heir maintain a formal distance from servants, Peter finds himself drawn in friendship to the younger boy who serves as his slave.

 
But a shocking revelation on the eve of the New Year forces Peter to confront his own motives for keeping the slave close by. And that in turn will help him understand the deeper meaning of the gift-giving festival.

 
This holiday novelette of romantic friendship and a young man's quest for true manhood can be read on its own or as part of The Three Lands, a fantasy series on friendship, romantic friendship, romance, and betrayal in times of war and peace. The series is inspired by conflicts between nations during the Roman Empire and the Dark Ages. 

 
The Three Lands is part of The Great Peninsula, a cycle of fantasy series (Young Spies and The Three Lands) about an epic battle between cultures, set at a time when a centuries-old civilization is in danger of being destroyed.

Other books that might interest you

  • Anne Boleyn - A Novel - cover

    Anne Boleyn - A Novel

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 1
    • 10
    • 1
    From the bestselling author of Elizabeth: The love story of Henry Tudor and his queen, the mother of one of Britain’s greatest monarchs. On a lovely midsummer afternoon, Henry Tudor rides to Hever Castle. There, he feasts his eyes on Anne Boleyn, who caught his roving attention at court a few months earlier. Anne is in no mood to receive her king. He has torn from her the one man she loved: Harry Percy, who was forced to marry another. But King Henry VIII is not a man who gives up—the thrill of the chase only excites him more. Yet the woman he desires so passionately is no fool. Educated at the French court, Anne vows that she will not share the fate of her naïve younger sister, Mary, who after bearing Henry a bastard son was cast away and married off to a country squire. No, Anne will settle for nothing less than the crown of England, even if Henry has to break with Rome in order to marry her.   Sixteenth-century history comes thrillingly alive in a novel that features a teeming canvas of iconic real-life characters: Cardinal Thomas Wolsey, the enemy Anne vows to destroy; Henry’s first wife, the proud and pious Queen Catherine of Aragon; and Thomas Cromwell, who engineers Anne’s downfall. From the halcyon early days of courtship to her imprisonment in the palace tower for treason, this is a tale of love, ambition, and the tragic destiny of Anne of the Thousand Days.
    Show book
  • The Confusion - Volume Two of The Baroque Cycle - cover

    The Confusion - Volume Two of...

    Neal Stephenson

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    In the year 1689, a cabal of Barbary galley slaves -- including one Jack Shaftoe, aka King of the Vagabonds, aka Half-Cocked Jack -- devises a daring plan to win freedom and fortune. A great adventure ensues -- a perilous race for an enormous prize of silver ... nay, gold ... nay, legendary gold. 
    In Europe, the exquisite and resourceful Eliza, Countess de la Zeur, is stripped of her immense personal fortune by France's most dashing privateer. Penniless and at risk from those who desire either her or her head (or both), she is caught up in a web of international intrigue, even as she desperately seeks the return of her most precious possession. 
    Meanwhile, Newton and Leibniz continue to propound their grand theories as their infamous rivalry intensifies, stubborn alchemy does battle with the natural sciences, dastardly plots are set in motion ... and Daniel Waterhouse seeks passage to the Massachusetts colony in hopes of escaping the madness into which his world has descended.This P.S. edition features an extra 16 pages of insights into the book, including author interviews, recommended reading, and more.
    Show book
  • Dragonflies - cover

    Dragonflies

    Grant Buday

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After ten years the Trojan War is at a deadlock. Both sides are exhausted, and Odysseus, cleverest of men, wants more than anything to return to Ithaka and his wife and son and orange grove. He aches for home, but not without a certain fear that he will return a stranger to the son he hasn't seen in ten years. When Agamemnon, King of the Greeks, asks Odysseus to devise a scheme to settle the conflict once and for all, Odysseus comes up with the idea of the great horse. No Trojan, he thinks, can resist a magnificent horse. Yet many think the idea mad. The comic and iconoclastic Odysseus will have more than his ingenuity tested before he can set sail for home. This deeply imagined and exquisitely written novel details the last days of the Trojan War. Told from Odysseus' perspective, it fleshes out the myth and mystery of one of the greatest stories in the Western canon.
    Show book
  • The Walworth Beauty - cover

    The Walworth Beauty

    Michèle Roberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
     
    2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
     
    1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
     
    As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.
    Show book
  • Danny - A Journey on the Oregon Trail - cover

    Danny - A Journey on the Oregon...

    R. S. Heller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the spring of 1867, the country is focused on rebuilding after the Civil War. As westward emigration begins once again, two thousand miles of desolation and dust, drenching rains and blazing sun, and life and death await those brave enough to tackle the Oregon Trail.
    
    Ian OFallon, a solitary scout with a mysterious past, arrives in St. Louis on the request of his boss, Captain Tom Williams, to investigate an Irish horse breeder who wants to join his wagon train to Oregon. But everything changes when he meets the breederthe beautiful widow, Danny Seabhac, who has a dream of starting a horse farm in Oregon. As the two become acquainted, Ian begins to fall in love with her. But there is one problem: Danny has her own secreta past that may have more to do with Ian than he realizes.
    
    Danny is a story of determination and perseverance, life and death, and beginnings and endings as a wagon train embarks on a dangerous journey on the Oregon Trail with two passengers about to realize their true destinies.
    Show book
  • Bone Rattler - A Mystery of Colonial America - cover

    Bone Rattler - A Mystery of...

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In a novel rich in historical detail, acclaimed author Eliot Pattison reconsiders the founding of America and explores how disenfranchised people of any age and place struggle to find justice, how conflicting cultures can be reconciled through compassion and tolerance, and ultimately how the natural world has its own morality. Aboard a British convict ship bound for the New World, protagonist Duncan McCallum witnesses a series of murders and apparent suicides among his fellow Scottish prisoners. A strange trail of clues leads Duncan into the New World and eventually thrusts him into the bloody maw of the French and Indian War. Duncan is indentured to the British Lord Ramsey, whose estate in the uncharted New York woodlands is a Heart of Darkness where multiple warring factions are engaged in physical, psychological, and spiritual battle. Exploring a frontier world shrouded in danger and defying death in a wilderness populated by European settlers, Indian shamans, and mysterious scalping parties, Duncan, the exiled chief of his near-extinct Scottish clan, finds that sometimes justice cannot be reached unless the cultures and spirits of those involved are appeased.
    Show book