Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Love In No Man's Land - cover

Love In No Man's Land

Duo Ji Zhuo Ga

Publisher: Head of Zeus

  • 0
  • 22
  • 0

Summary

An epic saga from Tibet's bestselling author. Perfect for anyone who loved The Kite Runner and Wild Swans. 
 
The Changthang Plateau lies in the centre of Tibet. A vast, rolling grassland stippled with azure-blue lakes and ringed by snow peaks, it is home to seven-year-old Gongzha and his family who live, as their ancestors have done for centuries, by herding and hunting. 
 
But it is 1967 and the Cultural Revolution is seeping across China. As the Red Guard systematically loot and destroy Tibet's monasteries, Gongzha helps hide two treasures belonging to his local temple: an ebony-black Buddha marked with an ancient symbol and a copy of the twelfth-century text The Epic of King Gesar, written in gold ink. The repercussions of his act will echo across the decades. 
 
Gongzha will be taken far from home. He will lose love and find it. He will battle wolves, bears, outlaws and his own self, as legend and history are interwoven in the story of a young man's quest to find happiness in a time of uncertainty and unrest.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Claus Killing - cover

    The Claus Killing

    Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A small-town realtor must solve Santa’s murder in this Southern holiday whodunit from the author of the Pooch Party Cozy Mysteries.   Christmas is just around the corner, and the entire town of Bramblett County, Georgia, is ready and waiting for the big event! But a terrible tragedy threatens the celebration and leaves a key component of the holiday dead. Now Lily must uncover the truth and save Bramblett County’s Christmas . . . before it’s too late.Join Lily in her holiday hunt for the truth!  Praise for the mysteries of Carolyn Ridder Aspenson  “I love the charming Southern small-town dynamic and all the drama it brings. And the supporting characters are a hoot!” —Caroline Fardig, USA Today–bestselling author   “If you like southern charm and laughter with deadly mysteries, this is your series.” —Wulfwyn Reads Excessively   “Has all the earmarks I look for in an engrossing whodunnit; a couple of plausible red herrings, a few rescue dogs for interest, and a budding romantic interest that will keep at least this avid reader coming back with each new installment. An excellent read, I am highly recommending!” —Roxx Is Reading
    Show book
  • The Marquis Wins - cover

    The Marquis Wins

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    For demure young and beautiful Daniela Brooke it had been bad enough to find out that her much-loved late father, Lord Seabrooke, had been tricked into marriage by the use of drugs by a disreputable Parisian courtesan called Esmé Blanc. It was even worse to discover just four weeks after her father’s death that her scheming stepmother is trying to arrange a marriage in the German spa resort of Baden-Baden between Daniela and her penniless lover for her own nefarious and greedy purposes, as Lord Seabrooke has left all his money and estates to Daniela and most definitely not to Esmé Blanc. Although guarded by day and night by her stepmother, in desperation Daniela manages to meet the Marquis of Crowle secretly in the garden of the Baden-Baden casino and begs him to help her escape as soon as possible from her perilous predicament. Overcome with sympathy at her story, the Marquis arranges to whisk her away from the Church at the very last minute before she is married and they sail off back to England in his magnificent yacht, The Sea Horse, down the River Rhine to freedom with Daniela’s wicked stepmother in hot pursuit. Will the distraught Daniela find the freedom she yearns for from her grasping stepmother? And even then can it be possible that she will ever find the sublime love that she has always dreamed about? 
    Show book
  • Outraged - Why Everyone is Shouting and No One is Talking - cover

    Outraged - Why Everyone is...

    Ashley 'Dotty' Charles

    • 4
    • 6
    • 1
    'The powerful new voice of her generation' 
    The Times 
     
    'Funny, nuanced and wonderful'  
    Jon Ronson 
     
    'A book that had me hollering, nodding and questioning at the same time'  
    Candice Carty-Williams, author of Queenie 
     
    ------- 
     
    A candid exploration of the state of outrage in our culture, and how we can channel it back into the fights that matter, from presenter and DJ Ashley 'Dotty' Charles. 
      
    In this wise and very funny journey into the outrage industry, Ashley 'Dotty' Charles explores how by shouting about everything, we have lost sight of the fights that actually matter - and created a world where our outrage feels with consequence. 
     
    Here's how we can get it back on track. 
     
    ------- 
     
    'Funny, educational, enlightening . . . Way ahead of its time' Chris Evans 
     
    'A smart and timely manifesto for surviving the age of rage' i 
     
    'Everyone with a social media account should read this book' Bella Mackie 
     
    'A swipe at the empty rhetoric of activism' Observer
    Show book
  • Vampire Granny and Other Surprising Stories - cover

    Vampire Granny and Other...

    Lura Dymond

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Meet the entertaining characters of this short story collection and follow them on their action-filled adventures. The dozen stories are contemporary science fiction with a twist, except for the last one. Granny Evans is a sweet old lady who bakes cookies and babysits. None of her neighbors know that she was made a vampire more than 175 years ago in New Orleans. Then her too-handsome vampire son comes for a visit and wreaks havoc in the neighborhood. Sindra is an initiative in the Cult of the Virgin, using a portal to travel between worlds, when the universe sends her flying in another direction and she ends up at the cookie store in the West Temple Mall. She has to evade an evil flute player and find the arches that will take her home. Janey and Timmy are playing tag across time one Sunday when they become embroiled in the 1381 Peasants Revolt and Janey has a baby named after her in the fourteenth century. As for the story that isn't science fiction? It'll break your heart.
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • The Rina Walker Series Books One to Four - Harm Threat Malice and Stealth - cover

    The Rina Walker Series Books One...

    Hugh Fraser

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Four novels in the edgy series about a female contract killer in 1960s London.  Harm In Acapulco, Rina Walker is on assignment. Just another quick, clean kill—until she wakes to find a severed head in her hotel room and a man with an AK-47 charging through the door, in this action-packed series debut that takes us into the traumatic childhood in postwar London that made Rina what she is today . . .  Threat London 1961. Rina is hired by a Soho vice king to investigate the disappearance of girls from his clubs, and discovers they’re being supplied to a member of the aristocracy for the gratification of his macabre tastes. Her efforts to save the innocent from slaughter become increasingly perilous as she grapples with layers of depravity, corruption, and betrayal . . .  Malice London 1964. As gang warfare breaks out, Rina struggles to survive amid the battles and betrayals of a gruesome cast of racketeers and gangsters. Her considerable skills as an assassin are her only hope of survival. But it’s not just her own life at stake . . .  Stealth London 1967. A working girl is brutally murdered, and when Rina Walker takes out the killer she attracts the attention of a sinister line-up of gangland enforcers with a great deal to prove. But the stakes get even bigger when British intelligence forces her into the deadly arena of the Cold War . . .  Praise for the series:   “The perfect combination of action, mystery and intrigue.” —Benjamin Maio Mackay, actor and podcaster
    Show book