Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Electrical Machines - Lecture Notes for Electrical Machines Course - cover

Electrical Machines - Lecture Notes for Electrical Machines Course

Dr. Hidaia Mahmood Alassouli

Publisher: Dr. Hidaia Mahmood Alassouli

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This book includes my lecture notes for electrical machines course. The book is divided to different learning partsPart 1- Apply basic physical concepts to explain the operation and solve problems related to electrical machines.Part 2- Explain the principles underlying the performance of three-phase electrical machines.Part 3- Analyse, operate and test three-phase induction machines.Part 4- Investigate the performance, design, operation, and testing of the three-phase synchronous machine.Part1:  Apply basic physical concepts to explain the operation and solve problems related to electrical machines.Describe the construction of simple magnetic circuits, both with and without an air gap. Explain the basic laws which govern the electrical machine operation, such as Faraday's Law, Ampere-Biot-Savart's Law, and Lenz's Law. Apply Faraday's Law of electromagnetic induction, Ampere-Biot-Savart's Law, and Lenz's Law to solve for induced voltage and currents in relation to simple magnetic circuits with movable parts. Illustrate the principle of the electromechanical energy conversion in magnetic circuits with movable parts.Part 2: Explain the principles underlying the performance of three-phase electrical machines. Compare and contrast concentric and distributed windings in three-phase electrical machines. Identify the advantages of distributed windings applied to three-phase machines. Explain how the pulsating and rotating magnetic fields are produced in distributed windings. Calculate the synchronous speed of a machine based on its number of poles and frequency of the supply. Describe the process of torque production in multi-phase machines.Part 3: Analyse, operate and test three-phase induction machines. Calculate the slip of an induction machine given the operating and synchronous speeds. Calculate and compare between different torques of a three-phase induction machine, such as the locked rotor or starting torque, pull-up torque, breakdown torque, full-load torque or braking torque. Develop and manipulate the equivalent circuit model for the three-phase induction machine. Analyse, and test experimentally, the torque-speed and current-speed characteristics of induction machines. and discuss the effects of varying such motor parameters as rotor resistance, supply voltage and supply frequency on motor torque-speed characteristics. Perform no-load and blocked rotor tests in order to determine the equivalent circuit parameters of an induction machine. Explore various techniques to start an induction motor. Identify the applications of the three-phase induction machines in industry and utility. Classify the insulations implemented in electrical machines windings and identify the factors affecting them.        Part4. Investigate the performance, design, operation, and testing of the three-phase synchronous machine. Describe the construction of three-phase synchronous machines, particularly the rotor, stator windings and the rotor saliency. Develop and manipulate an equivalent circuit model for the three-phase synchronous machine. Sketch the phasor diagram of a non-salient poles synchronous machine operating at various modes operation, such as no-load operation, motor operation, and generator operation. Investigate the influence of the rotor saliency on machine performance. Perform open and short circuit tests in order to determine the equivalent circuit parameters of a synchronous machine. Identify the applications of the three-phase synchronous machines in industry and utility List and explain the conditions of parallel operation of a group of synchronous generators. Evaluate the performance of the synchronous condenser and describe the power flow control between a synchronous condenser and the utility in both modes: over and under excited. Explain the principles of controlling the output voltage and frequency of a synchronous generator.

Other books that might interest you

  • Stoneywish and other chilling stories: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Stoneywish and other chilling...

    Joan Aiken

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A brilliant collection of spine-chilling tales by Joan Aiken, author of The Wolves of Willoughby Chase.  
     
    From a mysterious traveller who leaves an injured horse with a stranger, to a garden plant that slowly creeps into a house during a thunderstorm and a man who comes across two angry forces in the middle of a forest, this chilling collection of stories will have readers jumping at bumps in the night. 
     
    Much-loved author Joan Aiken is best known for The Wolves of Willoughby Chase and the Arabel and Mortimer books. This brilliant collection has spooky black-and-white illustrations by Masha Ukhova and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence, covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Blue 
    Ideal for ages 9+
    Show book
  • Eye of the Storm - cover

    Eye of the Storm

    Kate Messner

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    In the not-too-distant future, huge tornadoes and monster storms have become a part of everyday life. Sent to spend the summer in the heart of storm country with her meteorological engineer father, Jaden Meggs is surprised at the strides her father's company StormSafe, has made with custom shelters that keep her family safe in even the worst of storms. At her exclusive summer science camp, Eye On Tomorrow, Jaden meets Alex, a boy whose passion for science matches hers. Together, they discover that her father's company is steering storms away from the expensive neighborhoods and toward the organic farming communities that are in competition with his bio-engineered food company, NatureMade. Jaden must confront her father, but when she does, she uncovers a terrifying family secret and must call on both her scientific knowledge and her faith to save the people she loves most from one of her father's monster storms.
    Show book
  • We Are Bound by Stars - cover

    We Are Bound by Stars

    Kesia Lupo

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The next adventure in Kesia Lupo's stunning and original YA fantasy world. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor. 
     
    On a mysterious island where the very earth holds magic, masked assassins plague the city and strange creatures rise from the desert. Livio has riled against his destiny his whole life. Beatrice longs to escape her life of servitude. But when a twist of fate unites them, it is up to them to stop a deadly revolution. 
     
    Are they just puppets in someone else's game? Will they have to accept the hands they have been dealt or can either change their fortunes? 
     
    Another thrilling, plot-driven adventure, with an even bigger twist, We Are Bound by Stars is a tale of masks, politics, desire and deception that will have you gripped once again in Kesia Lupo's rich fantasy world.
    Show book
  • Cinderella Is Dead - cover

    Cinderella Is Dead

    Kalynn Bayron

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Wholly original and captivating." - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely 
     
    Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that's perfect for fans of Dhonielle Clayton and Melissa Albert. 
     
      It's 200 years after Cinderella found her prince, but the fairy tale is over. Teen girls are now required to appear at the Annual Ball, where the men of the kingdom select wives based on a girl's display of finery. If a suitable match is not found, the girls not chosen are never heard from again.  
      
     Sixteen-year-old Sophia would much rather marry Erin, her childhood best friend, than parade in front of suitors. At the ball, Sophia makes the desperate decision to flee, and finds herself hiding in Cinderella's mausoleum. There, she meets Constance, the last known descendant of Cinderella and her step sisters. Together they vow to bring down the king once and for all--and in the process, they learn that there's more to Cinderella's story than they ever knew . . . 
     
    This fresh take on a classic story will make readers question the tales they've been told, and root for girls to break down the constructs of the world around them.
    Show book