Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Across Canada by Story - A Coast-to-Coast Literary Adventure - cover

Across Canada by Story - A Coast-to-Coast Literary Adventure

Douglas Gibson

Publisher: ECW Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Canada is a country rich in stories, and few take as much joy as Douglas Gibson in discovering them. As one of the country’s leading editors and publishers for 40 years, he coaxed modern classics out of some of Canada’s finest minds, and then took to telling his own stories in his first memoir, Stories About Storytellers.
Gibson turned his memoir into a one-man stage show that eventually played almost 100 times, in all ten provinces, from coast to coast. As a literary tourist he discovered even more about the land and its writers, and harvested many more stories, from distant past and recent memory, to share.
Now in Across Canada by Story, Gibson brings new stories about Robertson Davies, Jack Hodgins, W.O. Mitchell, Alistair MacLeod, and Alice Munro, and adds lively portraits of Al Purdy, Marshall McLuhan, Margaret Laurence, Guy Vanderhaeghe, Margaret Atwood, Wayne Johnson, Linwood Barclay, Michael Ondaatje, and many, many others. Whether fly fishing in Haida Gwaii or sailing off Labrador, Douglas Gibson is a first-rate ambassador for Canada and the power of great stories.

Other books that might interest you

  • Savage Grace - A Journey in Wildness - cover

    Savage Grace - A Journey in...

    Jay Griffiths

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Jay Griffiths is a tour guide for anyone who has ever wished to commune with the side of our human psyche that remains in touch with the wild. Equally at home among the “sea gypsy” Bajo people who live off the coast of Thailand and forage their food from the ocean floor, drinking the psychedelic ayahuasca plant with Amazonian shamans, or joining an Inuit whale hunt at the northern tip of Canada, Griffiths takes readers on an adventure both charted and un-chartable. She divides her meditations on these travels into sections named after the ancient elemental properties of the universe—Earth, Air, Fire, Ice, and Water—because her subject matter is not merely the places traveled to but the depths of mind and the cultural narratives revealed by place. It is a universal story told of far-flung groups of humans, with vastly different ways of life, connected through the varied wilderness that sustains them. By describing the ways in which human societies and the human mind have developed in response to the wilder elements of our homelands, Savage Grace reveals itself as a benediction for the emotional, intellectual, and physical nourishment that people continue to draw from the natural world. Under the sway of Griffiths’ charisma, her poetic prose, and her deeply learned and persuasive case for the wild roots of our shared human being, we learn that we are all, each and every one of us, a force of nature.
    Show book
  • 24 Days - How Two Wall Street Journal Reporters Uncovered the Lies that Destroyed Faith in Corporate America - cover

    24 Days - How Two Wall Street...

    Rebecca Smith, John R. Emshwiller

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This is the story of Rebecca Smith and John R. Emshwiller, the two reporters who led the Wall Street Journal's reporting on Enron and uncovered the unorthodox partnerships at the heart of the scandal through skill, luck, and relentless determination.  
    It all started in August 2001when Emshwiller was assigned to write a supposedly simple article on the unexpected resignation of Enron CEO Jeff Skilling. During his research, Emshwiller uncovered a buried reference to an off-balance-sheet partnership called LJM. Little did he know, this was the start of a fast and furious ride through the remarkable downfall of a once highly-prized company.  
    Written in an intense, fast paced narrative style, 24 Days tells the gripping story of the colossal collapse of what would become the world's most notorious corporation. The reader follows along as Smith and Emshwiller continue to uncover new partnerships and self-dealing among the highest levels of Enron's management. As they publish articles detailing their findings in the Journal, Wall Street and individual investors have a crisis of confidence and start selling Enron stock at unprecedented levels of volume. In the end - 24 short days later - Enron had completely collapsed, erasing 16 years of growth and losing $19 billion in market value while watching the stock drop from $33.84 to $8.41. Not only was the company destroyed, but investors and retired employees were completely wiped out-all the while Enron executives were collecting millions of dollars.  
    Climaxing with this 24-day period, this book shows the reporter's-eye view of a David-and-Goliath battle between journalists and a giant corporation. Each day a new story uncovered another fact; each day the company issued denials. And when the investigative stories reached critical mass and momentum, the stock market cast its final vote of no confidence. In the tradition of Indecent Exposure and Barbarians at the Gate, two other gripping narratives that began as a series of Wall Street Journal stories and ended up as books that defined an era, 24 Days brings the importance of great investigative journalism to life.
    Show book
  • HP Lovecraft: The Complete Collection - cover

    HP Lovecraft: The Complete...

    Howard Phillips Lovecraft

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Fiction, Poetry, Essays and Letters from the Master of the Macabre, H.P. Lovecraft
    Read the complete collection of writings from H.P. Lovecraft. This edition includes a fully linked table of contents so you can find your favorites easily and return to Lovecraft's work again and again. The following stories (plus poems, letters and essays!) are included in this massive ebook: 
    The Tomb 
    Dagon 
    Polaris 
    Beyond the Wall of Sleep 
    Memory 
    Old Bugs 
    The Transition of Juan Romero 
    The White Ship 
    The Doom That Came to Sarnath 
    The Statement of Randolph Carter 
    The Terrible Old Man 
    The Tree 
    The Cats of Ulthar 
    The Temple 
    Facts Concerning the Late Arthur Jermyn and His Family 
    The Street 
    Celephaïs 
    From Beyond 
    Nyarlathotep 
    The Picture in the House 
    Ex Oblivione 
    The Nameless City 
    The Quest of Iranon 
    The Moon-Bog 
    The Outsider 
    The Other Gods 
    The Music of Erich Zann
    Herbert West — Reanimator 
    Hypnos 
    What the Moon Brings 
    Azathoth 
    The Hound 
    The Lurking Fear 
    The Rats in the Walls 
    The Unnamable 
    The Festival 
    The Shunned House 
    The Horror at Red Hook 
    He 
    In the Vault 
    The Descendant 
    Cool Air 
    The Call of Cthulhu 
    Pickman's Model 
    The Silver Key 
    The Strange High House in the Mist 
    The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath 
    The Case of Charles Dexter Ward 
    The Colour Out of Space 
    The Very Old Folk 
    The Thing in the Moonlight 
    The History of the Necronomicon 
    Ibid 
    The Dunwich Horror 
    The Whisperer in Darkness 
    At the Mountains of Madness 
    The Shadow Over Innsmouth 
    The Dreams in the Witch House 
    The Thing on the Doorstep 
    The Evil Clergyman 
    The Book 
    The Shadow out of Time 
    The Haunter of the Dark 
    
    
    Keywords (max 15):
    hp lovecraft  xThe Complete H.P. Lovecraft Collection  xH.P. Lovecraft  xlovercraft  xhp lovecraft complete  xhp lovecraft collection
    Show book
  • Sin - cover

    Sin

    Erin Lee, Alice La Roux, Mila...

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Cardinal sins, they vary by person, but seven always seem to make the list. 
    Pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth. 
    These are said to be obvious, everyday sins, but something about them isn't so ordinary. 
    What happens when these excessive desires become more than a craving, but a way of life? 
    Prepare to meet the embodiment of each. 
    Seven authors present seven deadly sins and what happens when you give in to temptation. 
    Forgive us, for we have sinned...and we will do it again and again.
    Show book
  • Horror Short Stories - cover

    Horror Short Stories

    Howard Phillips Lovecraft

    • 2
    • 19
    • 0
    Ghouls, ghosts, and macabre terrors stalk the night in this spine-tingling collection. With tales describing unnatural frights and haunting visions of cosmic terror, you will be taken on a journey into the disturbing imaginations of some of horror's greatest writers. The stories' heroes face incredible creatures, unknowable gods, and supernatural beings who have no regard for human life.Horror literature has its roots in the mists of time. In the 19th century, writers delved into ancient folk tales and local legends to inspire an entire genre. In the 20th century, the next generation of writers brought to life a brand new array of terrifying monsters.The authors in this volume range from Victorian pioneers, such as Bram Stoker and Edgar Allan Poe, to the pulp writers of the 20th century, such as William Hope Hodgson and H. P. Lovecraft. The tradition of horror writing that developed took very different turns on either side of the Atlantic - while American authors turned to unknowable horrors and cosmic terrors, British writers such as E. F. Benson and M. R. James mastered a more familiar form, the classic ghost story.It was not only English-speakers who sought to terrify their readers. The French writer Guy de Maupassant, a prolific short story writer and pupil of the acclaimed novelist Gustave Flaubert, found ways to make his protagonists doubt their own sanity as they faced terrors that would drive any ordinary man mad.This collection of bone-chilling tales comes from the pens of some of horror's most acclaimed writers. Authors include:E. F. BensonAmbrose BierceFrancis Marion CrawfordW. W. JacobsM. R. JamesWilliam Hope HodgsonH. P. LovecraftGuy de MaupassantEdgar Allan PoeBram Stoker
    Show book
  • Awakening Power of Miracle Bracelet - Join the Phenomenon Jewel of Health Love & Wealth - cover

    Awakening Power of Miracle...

    A. Atina

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The book is a true live-changing story of a woman named Susan. Its about her astonishing historical journey and her imperfect circumstances that transformed her into an extraordinary woman. Through her faith, Susan discovered that her life was a deliberate journey by the Higher Source. Therefore, she allowed her senses to channel with supernatural glowing light, higher energies, and receive messages. As a result, Susan is able to transmit this supernatural, glowing energy through her handmade bracelet, 4P steps miracle, and healing others life and body. As an addition, she is anticipating to leave the legacy of this power spread behind herself. 
    
    Susans story reveals the foundation of our resolution on earth. Her challenging, ordinary life of being born as a woman in Afghanistan hauled her into a life of mystery yet is rewarding and had her travel on the road no ones dared to cross. Thus, doubt is not her life philosophy as she lived life by example. Susans accomplishments and her PhD are not bought and cant be taught. It was designated by the Higher Source as he knows her strength.
    Show book