Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Walking in the Shade - Growing Point The - cover

Walking in the Shade - Growing Point The

Doris Lessing

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The second volume of Doris Lessing's extraordinary autobiography covers the years 1949-62, from her arrival in war-weary London with her son, Peter, and the manuscript for her first novel, The Grass is Singing, under her arm to the publication of her most famous work of fiction, The Golden Notebook. She describes how communism dominated the intellectual life of the 1950s and how she, like nearly all communists, became disillusioned with extreme and rhetorical politics and left communism behind. Evoking the bohemian days of a young writer and single mother, Lessing speaks openly about her writing process, her friends and lovers, her involvement in the theater, and her political activities. Walking in the Shade is an invaluable social history as well as Doris Lessing's Sentimental Education.

Other books that might interest you

  • America's First Daughter - A Novel - cover

    America's First Daughter - A Novel

    Stephanie Dray, Laura Kamoie

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    In a compelling, richly researched novel that draws from thousands of letters and original sources, bestselling authors Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie tell the fascinating, untold story of Thomas Jefferson’s eldest daughter, Martha “Patsy” Jefferson Randolph—a woman who kept the secrets of our most enigmatic founding father and shaped an American legacy. 
    From her earliest days, Patsy Jefferson knows that though her father loves his family dearly, his devotion to his country runs deeper still. As Thomas Jefferson’s oldest daughter, she becomes his helpmate, protector, and constant companion in the wake of her mother’s death, traveling with him when he becomes American minister to France. 
    It is in Paris, at the glittering court and among the first tumultuous days of revolution, that fifteen-year-old Patsy learns about her father’s troubling liaison with Sally Hemings, a slave girl her own age. Meanwhile, Patsy has fallen in love—with her father’s protégé William Short, a staunch abolitionist and ambitious diplomat. Torn between love, principles, and the bonds of family, Patsy questions whether she can choose a life as William’s wife and still be a devoted daughter. 
    Her choice will follow her in the years to come, to Virginia farmland, Monticello, and even the White House. And as scandal, tragedy, and poverty threaten her family, Patsy must decide how much she will sacrifice to protect her father's reputation, in the process defining not just his political legacy, but that of the nation he founded.
    Show book
  • Nevertheless She Wore It - 50 Iconic Fashion Moments - cover

    Nevertheless She Wore It - 50...

    Ann Shen

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    From the creator of the bestselling Bad Girls Throughout History!Celebrated illustrator and author Ann Shen shares her striking study of history's most iconic styles, and the women who changed the world while wearing them.From the revolutionary bikini to the presidential pantsuit, this book explores 50 fashions through bold paintings and insightful anecdotes that empower readers to make their own fashion statements.• Demonstrates the power of fashion as a political and cultural tool for making change• Brilliantly illustrated with Ann's signature art style• Filled with radical clothing choices that defined their timeLooks include the Flapper Dress, the unofficial outfit of women's independence in the 1920s; the Afro, worn as a symbol of black beauty, power, and pride; the Cone Bra, donned by Madonna in her 1989 power anthem "Express Yourself"; and the Dissent Collar, Ruth Bader Ginsburg's famous signifier for when she disagrees with the majority.With stunning and vibrant illustrations, this is a treasure for anyone who wants to defy style norms and rewrite the rules. • An insightful look at the intersection of fashion statements and historical female power• Perfect for fans of Ann Shen, as well as anyone who loves fashion, feminism, and political consciousness• You'll love this book if you love books like Women In Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed The World by Rachel Ignotofsky; Strong Is the New Pretty: A Celebration Of Girls Being Themselves by Kate T. Parker; and Women Who Dared: 52 Stories Of Fearless Daredevils, Adventurers, And Rebels by Linda Skeers.
    Show book
  • Introducing Stephen Hawking - A Graphic Guide - cover

    Introducing Stephen Hawking - A...

    J.P. McEvoy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'An ideal introduction [to Stephen Hawking]' - Independent
    
    
    'Astonishingly comprehensive - clearer than Hawking himself' - Focus
    
    
    Stephen Hawking was a world-famous physicist with a cameo in The Simpsons on his CV, but outside of his academic field his work was little understood. To the public he was a tragic figure - a brilliant scientist and author of the 9 million-copy-selling A Brief History of Time, and yet spent the majority of his life confined to a wheelchair and almost completely paralysed.
    
    Hawking's major contribution to science was to integrate the two great theories of 20th-century physics: Einstein's General Theory of Relativity and Quantum Mechanics.
    
    
    J.P. McEvoy and Oscar Zarate's brilliant graphic guide explores Hawking's life, the evolution of his work from his days as a student, and his breathtaking discoveries about where these fundamental laws break down or overlap, such as on the edge of a Black Hole or at the origin of the Universe itself.
    Show book
  • Coroner - cover

    Coroner

    Thomas T. Noguchi, Joseph DiMona

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    America’s most controversial medical examiner explores the unanswered questions surrounding the deaths of Marilyn Monroe, Robert F. Kennedy, Sharon Tate, Janis Joplin, William Holden, Natalie Wood, John Belushi, and many of his other important casesNow, for the first time, Dr. Noguchi recounts his colorful and stormy career, explains his innovative techniques, and reveals the full story behind his most fascinating investigations.In Coroner, Dr. Noguchi sheds new light on his most controversial cases—controversies that persist even today:—How did Natalie Wood spend the last terrifying moments of her life?—Did Marilyn Monroe commit suicide or were the drugs that killed her injected into her body by someone else?—Did Sirhan Sirhan or another gunman fire the bullet that killed Robert Kennedy?—How could the knives used in the murder of Sharon Tate be identified and traced to the Manson gang if they were never found?—What were the real circumstances behind the drug-related death of Janis Joplin?—Were Patty Hearst’s kidnappers victims of police brutality or of their own revolutionary zeal?—How and why did William Holden die?—Was John Belushi murdered?These are just some of the questions answered in this powerful, gutsy book written by the real-life “Quincy,” with co-author Joseph DiMona.
    Show book
  • Marcus Agrippa - Right-hand Man of Caesar Augustus - cover

    Marcus Agrippa - Right-hand Man...

    Lindsay Powell

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The authoritative biography of the ancient Roman general and loyal deputy to Emperor Augustus by the acclaimed historian and author of Augustus at War.   When Gaius Octavius became the first emperor of Rome, Marcus Agrippa was by his side. As the emperor’s loyal deputy, he waged wars, pacified provinces, beautified Rome, and played a crucial role in establishing the Pax Romana—but he always served knowing that he would never rule in his own name. Why he did so, and never grasped power for himself, has perplexed historians for centuries. In this authoritative biography, historian Lindsay Powell offers a penetrating new assessment of Agrippa’s life and achievements.   Following Caesar’s assassination, Agrippa was instrumental in asserting the rights of his friend Gaius Octavius as the dictator’s heir, seeing him crowned Emperor Augustus. Agrippa then established a reputation as a bold admiral, defeating Marcus Antonius and Queen Cleopatra at the Battle of Actium, and ending bloody rebellions in the Cimmerian Bosporus, Gaul, Hispania, and Illyricum.   Agrippa was also an influential statesman and architect. He established the vital road network that turned Julius Caesar’s conquests into viable provinces, overhauled Rome’s drains and aqueducts, and built the original Pantheon. Marrying Augustus’s daughter, Julia the Elder, Agrippa became co-ruler of the Roman Empire until his death in 12 BC. His bloodline lived on in the imperial family, through Agrippina the Elder, his grandson Caligula, and great-grandson Nero.
    Show book
  • Mi casco por almohada - cover

    Mi casco por almohada

    Robert Leckie

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Las memorias de Robert Leckie constituyen uno de los más apasionantes relatos de un testigo directo de la Segunda Guerra Mundial.En enero de 1942, poco después del ataque japonés a Pearl Harbor, se alistó en el cuerpo de marines de los Estados Unidos. Aquí se narra su odisea, desde el durísimo y apresurado entrenamiento en Carolina del Sur hasta las feroces batallas de la campaña del Pacífico.
    Sin escatimar detalle de las atrocidades y sacrificios de la guerra, retrata en toda la crudeza de qué madera están hechos los verdaderos soldados, cómo luchan y a menudo mueren en defensa de su país.
    Tom Hanks, Steven Spielberg y Gary Goetzman, creadores de la magistral serie Hermanos de sangre, han adoptado material de esta obra para la exitosa miniserie épica de HBO The Pacific, en la que James Badge Dale interpreta a Robert Leckie.
    Show book