Do you dare to read without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Real Thing - Stories and Sketches - cover

The Real Thing - Stories and Sketches

Doris Lessing

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The stories and sketches in this collection penetrate to the heart of human experience with the passion and intelligence readers have come to expect of Doris Lessing. Most of the piece  are set in contemporary London, a city the author loves for its variety, its diversity, its transitoriness, the way it connects the life of animals and birds in the parks to the streets. Lessing's fiction also explores the darker corners of relationships between women and men, as in the rich and emotionally complex title story, in which she uncovers a more parlous reality behind the facade of the most conventional relationship between the sexes.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Phantom of the Opera - cover

    The Phantom of the Opera

    Gaston Leroux

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Based on the translation by Alexander Teixeira de Mattos. With an Introduction by David Stuart Davies.
     
     
    ‘… the shadow turned round; and I saw a terrible death’s-head, which darted a look at me from a pair of scorching eyes. I felt as if I were face to face with Satan…’
     
     
    Erik, the Phantom of the Paris Opera House, is one of the great icons of horror literature. This tormented and disfigured creature has made his home in the labyrinthine cellars of this opulent building where he can indulge in his great passion for music, which is a substitute for the love and emotion denied him because of his ghastly appearance.
     
     
    It is in the Opera House that he encounters Christine Daaé whom he trains in secret to become a great singer. Erik’s passionate obsession with a beautiful woman beyond his reach is doomed and leads to the dramatic tragic finale.
     
     
    Gaston Leroux’s novel is a marvellous blend of detective story, romance and spine-tingling terror which has fascinated readers ever since the work was first published.
    Show book
  • The Tickling Therapist - Amanda's massage - cover

    The Tickling Therapist -...

    A. G. Steve

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Mike has just opened his new massage parlour and his very first client is a friend of him, Amanda. An adorable girl with special interests. After a few massage movements the therapist notices that Amanda's body is too sensitive and changes the way of the therapy. But his client seems to enjoy this change. 
     
    Short story of a tickling therapy. PICTURE AND VOICES INCLUDED. 
     
    BONUS:
     
    10 Tickling challenges for Couples. 
     
    ONLY FOR ADULTS!
    Show book
  • The King's Witch - Frances Gorges historical trilogy Book I - cover

    The King's Witch - Frances...

    Tracy Borman

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Borman’s latest book, The Private Lives of the Tudors, was a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice and published in hardcover to strong sales and favorable reviews, cited as an “authoritative work” (New York Times Book Review) and “riveting history” (O, The Oprah Magazine). The book was the basis for a multi-part documentary series, hosted by Borman, which aired on British television in June 2016.
    Americans continue to be fascinated by the Tudors, from the Showtime dramatic series to Philippa Gregory and Hilary Mantel’s novels (and their TV and stage adaptations). The King’s Witch will appeal to readers of Mantel’s Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, Alison Weir’s Six Tudor Queens series, and Gregory’s The Last Tudor.
    HBO is producing a three-part mini-series entitled Gunpowder that focuses on the Gunpowder Plot of 1605, which is also the culmination of Borman’s novel. The adaptation is premiering in December 2017 in the U.S. and includes many of the real-life characters also seen in The King’s Witch, such as Robert Catesby, King James I, and Guy Fawkes. 
    Borman is the joint Chief Curator of Historic Royal Palaces in the UK, working daily in the palaces that formed the private world of the Tudors.
    Show book
  • In the Heat of the Light - cover

    In the Heat of the Light

    Stephen Kearse

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    During a brutally hot Atlanta summer, a crew of Black teenagers deals with the aftermath of their biggest tag: an audacious defacement of the United States’ largest bas-relief monument to the Confederacy. They never exactly planned to hit Stone Mountain—things just got out of hand. But as June gives way to July and the temperature keeps rising, the crew can’t quite manage to get anything back under control. Instead, each struggles with conflicting allegiances and problems they’re not quite ready to handle, and they hurtle toward the summer’s end and a future that threatens to pull them apart for good. Meanwhile, two FBI agents attempt to untangle the knot of rage, alliances, and tensions that led to the tag, getting in deep and ultimately revealing their own dangerously different professional agendas. 
     
    Set to a thumping soundtrack, rolling down suburban lanes and congested highways, In the Heat of the Light delivers a new twist on the old story of a crew of young friends drawn in different directions on the verge of adulthood—one that is rooted in Black experiences of gentrification, Black Lives Matter, music, and a mosaic of Atlanta neighborhoods made up of families, food, and overwhelming change.
     
    Stephen Kearse is a dynamic journalist and critic covering movies, music, and American history for media including New York Times Magazine, Uproxx, Pitchfork, and Paste.
    Show book
  • This Shall Be a House of Peace - cover

    This Shall Be a House of Peace

    Phil Halton

    • 3
    • 13
    • 1
    After the collapse of Afghanistan’s Soviet-backed government, a mullah finds himself doing anything to protect his students. 
     
    
    
    Chaos reigns in the wake of the collapse of Afghanistan's Soviet-backed government. In the rural, warlord-ruled south, a student is badly beaten at a checkpoint run by bandits. His teacher, who leads a madrassa for orphans left behind by Afghanistan’s civil war, leads his students back to the checkpoint and forces the bandits out. His actions set in motion a chain of events that will change the balance of power in his country and send shock waves through history.
    
    Amid villagers seeking protection and warlords seeking power, the Mullah's influence grows. Against the backdrop of anarchy dominated by armed factions, he devotes himself to building a house of peace with his students — or, as they are called in Pashto, taliban. Part intrigue, part war narrative, and part historical drama, This Shall Be a House of Peace charts their breathtaking ambition, transformation, and rise to power.
    Show book
  • Shadows of the Past - cover

    Shadows of the Past

    Ikechukwu Joseph

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the beauty salon woman's house the strange ring cried out at midnight. "I want to drink water. I want to drink water," repeatedly. The curious husband of the Saloon owner dropped the crying ring into a bucket of water and behold the act was displayed and played out the money game. The ring transformed into a kid's head. Drinking the water the kid's head vomitted bundles of money at each gulp. In the morning the man rushed to the bank and deposited the money...“The law should not just have found me only guilty but also human, not only to have condemned me but to have corrected me also, not only lowered me but would have given me a second chance. The police instead of being peace keepers or peace enforcement agents, they prefer to enforce the law. They prefer crime detection to crime prevention. Crime detectives wait for a crime to be committed instead of preventing it and in some strange cases will lure you or help you into breaking the law so that they can enforce it. The world I met! No one told me that there was no uhuru. No one told me that all that glitters were not gold. No one told me that all that are black are not bad...""I came across a membership document of a white lodge in his file. Some detailed information there said that two pythons are fighting over his life. The day one kills the other, he will die. Pastor could this be serious. I dont know what I have gotten into in this marriage?" the wife cried...Shadows of the Past (Shadows Series Book One) is a page turner and game changer. A novel of how the dark past comes to haunt people. Some were swallowed by the past while others overcame. This series is revealing and suspense full. Get your own copy today and recommend it to others.
    Show book