Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Proper Marriage - cover

A Proper Marriage

Doris Lessing

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

An unconventional woman trapped in a conventional marriage, Martha Quest struggles to maintain her dignity and her sanity through the misunderstandings, frustrations, infidelities, and degrading violence of a failing marriage. Finally, she must make the heartbreaking choice of whether to sacrifice her child as she turns her back on marriage and security. 
A Proper Marriage is the second novel in Doris Lessing's classic Children of Violence series of novels, each a masterpiece on its own right, and, taken together, an incisive and all-encompassing vision of our world in the twentieth century.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Summer Demands - cover

    The Summer Demands

    Deborah Shapiro

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    A moody, psychological, and compulsively page-turning novel of one woman’s shifting ambitions and desires over the course of an aimless Massachusetts summer at an abandoned summer camp
     Emily and her husband meant to fix up the abandoned summer camp they’d inherited; instead, Emily finds herself grieving a miscarriage and her missing ambition alone while her husband, David, works in the city. That is, until she discovers Stella, a guileless young woman squatting in one of the abandoned cabins. Their immediate and intense connection expands and contracts over the course of a dreamlike summer, calling all of Emily’s relationships into closer scrutiny. 
     A smart and accessible summer must-read to be devoured in a single sitting, The Summer Demands begins with no preamble; we are immediately plunged into Stella's appearance and the consequences that unfold
     Shapiro is a master at exploring the inertia of ambition, at sprinkling sharp little daggers in her sentences, and at involving the reader as a bystander in her taut, tense, and subvertly sexy plot
     Paradoxically very little and yet so much happens over the course of a short amount of time in this slim novel, where characters' nostalgia and (lack of) control propel the story forward
     The Massachusetts lakeside camp setting for The Summer Demands is evocative and menacing and dreamlike, and will remind readers of their own summers on the brink of adulthood
     The Summer Demands is a wryly intelligent look at women’s interior lives that calls to mind Rachel Cusk’s Outline, is page-turning like Edan Lepucki’s Woman No. 17, and deftly explores complex relationships like Julie Buntin’s Marlena. Shapiro reflects on relationships among women wherein there is a substantial age difference, and how the act of watching, viewing, judging ourselves and women changes as we age, and as we have more of our life to look back on.
     The Summer Demands is also a look at the transitional points in our lives; nearing forty and grappling with the idea that she may never be a mother, Emily finds herself experiencing a summer out of time, at a place she knew intimately as a child, and delicately exploring what might be next
     Shapiro is a well-connected journalist who’s written for New York, Elle, The New York Times Book Review, Los Angeles Review of Books, and more, with ties to Chicago, New York, Boston, Los Angeles, and San Francisco. Her debut novel, The Sun in Your Eyes, was a New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice.
    
     
    Bookseller Praise for The Summer Demands
    "A summer camp, maybe a chance to change directions in life. Well, yes, that is possible. Who knows what a summer will bring when you discover a young, beautiful stranger living in a cabin on the property you and your husband just inherited. Or what comes next when closeness becomes a reality, and then Alice arrives to complicate matters. Diving deeply into the mind and heart of Emily and her past, Ms. Shapiro brings us the reality that isn’t found in reality TV. Self-discovery can be a painful experience, but it can also set us free to find a brighter, wiser future. I think you’ll enjoy this one!" —Linda Bond, Auntie's Bookstore (Spokane, WA)
    "A beach read for the introspective set looking to read something cover-to-cover in a day. Both heady like a balmy night and refreshing like a dip in a cool lake. Shapiro captures a portrait of an aching and confused woman and lets her breathe in the exuberant air of summer." —Luis Correa, Avid Bookshop (Athens, GA)
     "Emily doesn't know what to do with herself. She and her husband had plans to renovate the camp she inherited from her aunt, but work has stalled. With no other job prospects in sight, she is adrift in a listless echo of the eternity of childhood summers. So when she discovers a magnetic young woman staying on their property, she is more intrigued than alarmed. Despite her better judgment, Emily is drawn to Stella, and they quickly become very close—friends, or maybe something more. But a powerful current runs beneath their relationship, one that threatens to become an undertow. I was enchanted with this dreamy novel, with the questions Shapiro raises about intimacy, identity, and purpose. With its hypnotic pacing and prose, The Summer Demands is as seductive as a secret." —Lauren Peugh, Powell's Books (Portland, OR)
    "A nuanced and emotionally compelling portrait of a woman in her forties recalibrating her life and identity through shifting interactions with a young woman squatting on her property. Their relationship strays across lines of friend, daughter, lover, and even self, as seen through a flawed lens of introversion, grief, and midlife crisis. Engaging but also dreamy, the perfect summer read." —Genevieve Taylor, Boulder Book Store (Boulder, CO)
    "The writing is elegant! Love it." —Joanne Berg, Mystery to Me (Madison, WI)
    Show book
  • Murderous Mind A - A Naomi Blake British Mystery - cover

    Murderous Mind A - A Naomi Blake...

    Jane A. Adams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The murder of a student re-opens a series of cold cases in this intriguing mysteryA young student is found brutally murdered in her room, killed while her flatmates slept nearby. The police soon recognize that this is frighteningly similar to a crime committed fifteen years before. A crime investigated by the now discredited Detective Inspector Joe Jackson, but never solved.Other deaths, linked to the same modus operandi and stretching back more than twenty years, have also remained unsolved. No link has been found between the victims – but it seems Joe Jackson had a perpetrator in mind. He had however been unable to prove his guilt.Can the new investigation trust the judgement of a man who was himself a killer? Or did that give Naomi Blake’s one-time friend and mentor an insight his colleagues did not have?
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 5
    • 67
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • Midwife's Baby Wish - A Medical Romance - cover

    Midwife's Baby Wish - A Medical...

    Gill Sanderson

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Life has to go on. Lyn Pierce's husband is dead. Now there is no need for her to worry about whether or not she can have children. Bringing babies into the world makes her happy and so she is more than contented with her life as a midwife. Then Dr Adam Fletcher joins her practice. They meet first when he rescues her from drowning and they quickly become more than just friends. But Adam loves children, and is determined to have a family. He loves Lyn as much as she loves him. But could she marry a man when the chances are that they will never have a child of their own?
    Show book
  • The Pumilio Child - cover

    The Pumilio Child

    Judy McInerney

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ya Ling’s cultured life of privilege in Beijing is cruelly cut short when she is abducted and shipped to the slave market in Venice. When Mantegna sees her chained to a post, his initial intention is to paint her exotic beauty, but he soon he desires her company for pleasures of a more private nature. Ya Ling has two ambitions, to ruin Mantegna, then to escape back to her family in China. However, Mantegna’s latest commission, two huge frescos for the ruling Gonzaga family, make him invincible. 
    Will Ya Ling survive? And can she succeed?
    Show book
  • The Devil's Bargain - cover

    The Devil's Bargain

    Edith Layton

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Katherine Corbet abhors injustice -- and is happy to assist the disturbingly attractive Sir Alasdair St. Erth quash the brazen schemes of a marriage-minded opportunist. But appearing on the arm of the dark, dashing rogue at London balls as his interest will never be more than a sham -- no matter how Katherine's aching heart yearns for more. 
    This naive country miss is ideal! With Katherine's unsuspecting assistance, Alasdair can at long last take his revenge on an old, hated enemy -- though it pains him to use such an innocent in this unscrupulous manner. Worse still is the longing she inspires within him, a passionate need to taste the sweetness of her lips. Alasdair knows his vengeful plan could destroy a fragile, blossoming love. And when he finally releases Katherine from his devil's bargain, will he truly be able to let her go?
    Show book