Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Death at La Fenice - A Commissario Brunetti Mystery - cover

Sorry, the publisher does not allow users to read this book from the country from which you are connecting.

Death at La Fenice - A Commissario Brunetti Mystery

Donna Leon

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Death at La Fenice is the first novel in Donna Leon’s internationally best-selling Commissario Guido Brunetti series. During intermission at the famed La Fenice opera house in Venice, a notoriously difficult conductor is poisoned, and suspects abound. Brunetti, a native Venetian, sets out to unravel the mystery behind the high-profile murder. To do so, he he calls on his knowledge of Venice, its culture, and its dirty politics. Revenge, corruption, and even Italian cuisine play a role. The novel that started it all, Death at La Fenice is an entrancing mystery, rich in atmosphere.“Few detective writers create so vivid, inclusive and convincing a narrative as Donna Leon, the expatriate American with the Venetian heart. . . . One of the most exquisite and subtle detective series ever.” —The Washington Post

Other books that might interest you

  • The Club - cover

    The Club

    Takis Würger

    • 1
    • 8
    • 1
    For fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Leïla Slimani’s The Perfect Nanny, The Club is a smoldering story of class, privilege, and matters of the heart 
    The Club is a blistering, timely, and gripping novel set at Cambridge University, centering around an all-male dining club for the most privileged and wealthy young men at Cambridge and following an outsider who exposes the dark secrets of this group, the Pitt Club.  
     As a boy, Hans Stichler enjoys a fable-like childhood among the rolling hills and forests of North Germany, living an idyll that seems uninterruptable. A visit from Hans’s ailing English aunt Alex, who comes to stay for an entire summer, has a profound effect on the young Hans, all the more so when she invites him to come to university at Cambridge, where she teaches art history. Alex will ensure his application to St. John’s College is accepted, but in return he must help her investigate an elite university club of young aristocrats and wealthy social climbers, the Pitt Club. The club has existed at Cambridge for centuries, its long legacy of tradition and privilege largely unquestioned. As Hans makes his best efforts to prove club material and infiltrate its ranks, including testing his mettle in the boxing ring, he is drawn into a world of extravagance, debauchery, and macho solidarity. And when he falls in love with fellow student Charlotte, he sees a potential new life of upper-class sophistication opening up to him. But there are secrets in the club’s history, as well as in its present—and Hans soon finds himself in the inner sanctum of what proves to be an increasingly dangerous institution, forced to grapple with the notion that sometimes one must do wrong to do right.
    Show book
  • Hardcastle's Quandary - cover

    Hardcastle's Quandary

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A letter from a vicar in Norfolk leads DDI Hardcastle and DS Marriott on the road to a shocking and macabre discovery . . .
    
    One rainy morning in March 1927, Divisional Detective Inspector Ernest Hardcastle of the Metropolitan Police is summoned to the office of the Chief Constable CID at New Scotland Yard. Frederick Wensley has received a letter from a Reverend Percy Stoner in Norfolk, convinced that his nephew, Captain Guy Stoner, has been murdered. He recently received a letter, supposedly from Guy, claiming that there had been a fire at his farm in Ditton, Surrey, and asking for money.
    
    Assigned the case, Hardcastle and Detective Sergeant Charles Marriott travel to Ditton, where they make a shocking discovery, and are soon drawn into a shady world of deception, fraud, ex-army officers and West End nightclubs, navigating a labyrinth of twists and turns in their determination to see justice served.
    Show book
  • Since We Fell - A Novel - cover

    Since We Fell - A Novel

    Dennis Lehane

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    Barnes and Noble Best Book of the Year 
    Bookpage Best of 2017 
    Booklist Best Crime Novel 
    PopSugar Best Book of 2017 
    The new novel from New York Times bestseller Dennis Lehane, author of Mystic River and Shutter Island 
    “Lehane is the master of complex human characters thrust into suspenseful, page-turning situations.” —Gillian Flynn 
     
    Since We Fell follows Rachel Childs, a former journalist who, after an on-air mental breakdown, now lives as a virtual shut-in. In all other respects, however, she enjoys an ideal life with an ideal husband. Until a chance encounter on a rainy afternoon causes that ideal life to fray. As does Rachel’s marriage. As does Rachel herself. Sucked into a conspiracy thick with deception, violence, and possibly madness, Rachel must find the strength within herself to conquer unimaginable fears and mind-altering truths. By turns heart- breaking, suspenseful, romantic, and sophisticated, Since We Fell is a novel of profound psychological insight and tension. It is Dennis Lehane at his very best.
    Show book
  • The Last Mrs Parrish - cover

    The Last Mrs Parrish

    Liv Constantine

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER AND DECEMBER PICK FOR REESE WITHERSPOON'S HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB 
    "Filled with envy, deception, and power, it’s a great reading escape. And there is a thrilling twist at the end!!" —Reese Witherspoon 
    “Will keep you up. In a ‘can’t put it down’ way. It’s ‘The Talented Mr. Ripley’ with XX chromosomes.”—The Skimm 
    “Deliciously duplicitous. . . . equally as twisty, spellbinding, and addictive as Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl or Paula Hawkins’s The Girl on the Train.”—Library Journal (starred review) 
    Amber Patterson is fed up. She’s tired of being a nobody: a plain, invisible woman who blends into the background. She deserves more—a life of money and power like the one blond-haired, blue-eyed goddess Daphne Parrish takes for granted.  
    To everyone in the exclusive town of Bishops Harbor, Connecticut, Daphne—a socialite and philanthropist—and her real-estate mogul husband, Jackson, are a couple straight out of a fairy tale. 
    Amber’s envy could eat her alive . . . if she didn't have a plan. Amber uses Daphne’s compassion and caring to insinuate herself into the family’s life—the first step in a meticulous scheme to undermine her. Before long, Amber is Daphne’s closest confidante, traveling to Europe with the Parrishes and their lovely young daughters, and growing closer to Jackson. But a skeleton from her past may undermine everything that Amber has worked towards, and if it is discovered, her well-laid plan may fall to pieces.  
     
    With shocking turns and dark secrets that will keep you guessing until the very end, The Last Mrs. Parrish is a fresh, juicy, and utterly addictive thriller from a diabolically imaginative talent.
    Show book
  • Until Proven Guilty - cover

    Until Proven Guilty

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 17
    • 0
    “Any story by Jance is a joy.” —Chattanooga Times Now fans of the enormously popular Sheriff Joanna Brady suspense series by J.A. Jance can discover another side to the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author. Until Proven Guilty—a riveting tale of the very worst kind of murder—marks the debut of Seattle Homicide Detective J.P. Beaumont. This Premium Plus edition of Until Proven Guilty—the classic novel that put the incomparable Jance on the crime fiction map—indisputably proves that she truly belongs “in the elite company of Sue Grafton and Patricia Cornwell” (Flint Journal).
    Show book
  • Driven to Murder - Who's guiltier? The killer or the victim? - cover

    Driven to Murder - Who's...

    Simon Farrant

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Who’s guiltier, the killer…or the victim?
     
    Newdon. A town with a dark history where sinners were tried, found guilty and murdered for their sins.
     
    But that was in the past. Or was it?
     
    Joel Simpson loved his job as a driving instructor. He cared about his students. A good man devoted to his wife with a burning desire to start a family. His dreams are finally coming true.
     
    Until…
     
    When the bodies of two men, guilty of domestic violence, are found murdered, the fingers of suspicion point to Joel. Did he risk it all to save two of his students, or has the dark history of the town once again reared its ugly head?
     
    Read your copy of Driven to Murder and discover who is responsible for the latest dark deeds in Newdon.
    Show book