The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Ugly Duckling - cover

The Ugly Duckling

Donald Kasen

Publisher: Peter Pan Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The egg of swan gets mixed up with the eggs of a mother duck. Four eggs hatch and one of the babies looks different than the others. As it is growing up the fourth baby is teased and called ugly. After a year of teasing and exile from the ducks the “ugly duckling” grows up to be a beautiful swan. The audio EPUB includes every word in the book and a musical background.

Other books that might interest you

  • Warriors #4: Rising Storm - cover

    Warriors #4: Rising Storm

    Erin Hunter

    • 7
    • 113
    • 0
    The fourth book in Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series 
    Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter’s Warriors series a bestselling phenomenon. More thrilling adventures, epic action, and fierce warrior cats await in Warriors #4: Rising Storm. 
    Fireheart’s traitorous enemy Tigerclaw has been vanquished and exiled from ThunderClan—but Fireheart can’t shake the feeling that he is lurking in the forest, waiting for a chance to strike. 
    In the heat of a blazing summer, Fireheart struggles to handle sinister omens, an apprentice with a shocking secret, and a devastated Clan leader who is a shell of her former self. And as the forest gets hotter and hotter, every cat braces for the coming storm….
    Show book
  • Finding Hope - cover

    Finding Hope

    Colleen Nelson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    2016 VOYA Top Shelf Fiction Selection 
    
    CCBC’s Best Books for Kids & Teens (Fall 2016) — Starred Selection 
    
     
    
    Hope leaves her small town for a fresh start, but her plans are derailed by an online romance and the appearance of her brother. 
    
     
    
    Hope lives in a small town with nothing to do and nowhere to go. With a drug addict for a brother, she focuses on the only thing that keeps her sane, writing poetry. To escape, she jumps at the chance to attend Ravenhurst Academy as a boarding student. She’ll even put up with the clique-ish Ravens if it means making a fresh start. 
    
     
    
    At first, Ravenhurst is better than Hope could have dreamed. She has a boyfriend and a cool roommate, and she might finally have found a place she can fit in. But can she trust her online boyfriend? And what can she do after her brother shows up at the school gates, desperate for help, and the Ravens turn on her? Trapped and unsure, Hope realizes that if she wants to save her brother, she has to save herself first.
    Show book
  • We Come Apart - cover

    We Come Apart

    Sarah Crossan, Brian Conaghan

    • 4
    • 10
    • 0
    YA rising stars Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan join forces to break readers' hearts in this contemporary story of star-cross'd lovers.  
     
    Jess would never have looked twice at Nicu if her friends hadn't left her in the lurch. Nicu is all big eyes and ill-fitting clothes, eager as a puppy, even when they're picking up litter in the park for community service. He's so not her type. Appearances matter to Jess. She's got a lot to hide. 
     
    Nicu thinks Jess is beautiful. His dad brought Nicu and his mum here for a better life, but now all they talk about is going back home to find Nicu a wife. The last thing Nicu wants is to get married. He wants to get educated, do better, stay here in England. But his dad's fists are the most powerful force in Nicu's life, and in the end, he'll have to do what his dad wants. 
     
    As Nicu and Jess get closer, their secrets come to the surface like bruises. The only safe place they have is with each other. But they can't be together, forever, and stay safe – can they? 
     
    An extraordinary, high-impact, high-emotion collaboration between two Carnegie honoured rising stars of YA. Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Malorie Blackman, Rainbow Rowell and John Green. 
     
    Sarah Crossan received the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal for her astonishing novel One, which also won the YA Book Prize,CBI Book of the Year Award and the CliPPA Poetry Award. Brian Conaghan's powerful debut, When Mr Dog Bites, was shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, Peters Book of the Year and CBI Book of the Year Award.
    Show book
  • Breaking Beautiful - cover

    Breaking Beautiful

    Jennifer Shaw Wolf

    • 2
    • 74
    • 0
    Fans of dark contemporary stories will feel right at home in Jennifer  Shaw Wolf's debut as she takes them on an emotional  ride through the  murky waters of love, shame, and ultimately,  forgiveness. 
     
    Allie  lost everything the night her boyfriend, Trip, died in a horrible car  accident--including her memory of the event.  She doesn't remember  driving on the cliff road. She doesn't recall jumping from the truck  just before Trip lost control.  
     
    As their small town mourns his  death, Allie is afraid to remember because doing so means delving into  what she's kept hidden for so long, the horrible reality of their  abusive relationship. When the police reopen the investigation, it  quickly turns on Allie and her best friend, Blake, especially as their  budding romance raises eyebrows around town. As the threats begin and  the survivor's guilt takes over, Allie knows she must tell the truth.  Can she reach deep enough to remember that night so she can finally  break free?
    Show book
  • Libby in the Middle - cover

    Libby in the Middle

    Gwyneth Rees

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Libby and her big sister Bella used to be close, but lately it's felt like Bella is a closed book: she's sarcastic and mean and obsessed with her boyfriend. Then there's six-year-old Grace, the baby of the family. Whenever Mum and Dad aren't at work, it's all about Grace. So where does Libby fit in? 
     
    Things change suddenly when the girls move to the tiny village where their dad grew up – as their bossy Aunt Thecla has offered to pay for them to go to a posh new school. Libby doesn't mind, but Bella can't bear to leave her boyfriend behind. 
     
    Soon there are secrets everywhere … 
     
    Perfect for readers of Cathy Cassidy, Jacqueline Wilson and Judy Blume, Libby in the Middle is a story about family, friendship and discovering where you fit into the world.
    Show book
  • Warriors #3: Forest of Secrets - cover

    Warriors #3: Forest of Secrets

    Erin Hunter

    • 5
    • 64
    • 0
    The third book in Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series 
    Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter’s Warriors series a bestselling phenomenon. More thrilling adventures, epic action, and fierce warrior cats await in Warriors #3: Forest of Secrets. 
    Allegiances are shifting among the Clans of warrior cats that roam the forest. With tensions so delicately balanced, friends can become enemies overnight, and some cats are willing to kill to get what they want. 
    Fireheart is determined to find out the truth about the mysterious death of the former ThunderClan deputy Redtail. But as he searches for answers, he uncovers secrets that might be better left hidden….
    Show book