Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Hunchback of Notre Dame - cover

Hunchback of Notre Dame

Donald Kasen

Publisher: Peter Pan Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The story is set in Paris in 1482 during the reign of Louis XI. The beautiful gypsy, Esmeralda captures the hearts of many men, including Gringoire, but especially Quasimodo. 
 
At this time gypsies were not allowed within the gates of Paris. As Esmeralda was about to be arrested Gringoire helps her escape. Taken in by the outcasts of the city Esmeralda and Gringoire hlep create printed posters telling of the crimes against the poeple.
 
Gringorire leaves to spread the word while Esmeralda and Quasimodo wait for his eventual return.

Other books that might interest you

  • No and Me - cover

    No and Me

    Delphine de Vigan

    • 1
    • 51
    • 0
    Parisian teenager Lou has an IQ of 160, OCD tendencies, and a mother who has suffered from depression for years. But Lou is about to change her life-and that of her parents-all because of a school project about homeless teens. While doing research, Lou meets No, a teenage girl living on the streets. As their friendship grows, Lou bravely asks her parents if No can live with them, and is astonished when they agree. No's presence forces Lou's family to come to terms with a secret tragedy. But can this shaky, newfound family continue to live together when No's own past comes back to haunt her? 
     
    Winner of the prestigious Booksellers' Prize in France, No and Me is a timely and thought-provoking novel about homelessness that has far-reaching appeal.
    Show book
  • Skylarks - cover

    Skylarks

    Karen Gregory

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Karen Gregory's heartfelt, thought-provoking second novel about love against the odds is perfect for readers of Lisa Williamson, Sara Barnard and Sarah Crossan.  
     
    'We watch the bird as it flies high above us, singing like it's the only thing in the world that matters. And I feel it – that life can be beautiful. That there are possibilities.' 
     
    Keep your head down and don't borrow trouble is the motto Joni lives by, and so far it's seen her family through some tough times. It's not as if she has the power to change anything important anyway. Like Dad's bad back, or the threat of losing their house. 
     
    So when Annabel breezes into her life, Joni's sure they're destined to clash. Pretty, poised, privileged – the daughter of the richest family in town must have it easy.  
     
    But sometimes you find a matching spirit where you least expect it. Sometimes love can defy difference. And sometimes life asks you to be bigger and braver … 
     
     
     
     
    Praise for Karen Gregory's debut, Countless:   
    'A heartbreaking, hopeful and highly unusual debut' – Metro 
     
    'Proving that human resilience may wilt, but it will never die' – United by Pop
    Show book
  • The School for Good and Evil #4: Quests for Glory - cover

    The School for Good and Evil #4:...

    Soman Chainani

    • 3
    • 39
    • 0
    Soon to be a major motion picture from Netflix! 
    With every end comes a new beginning in the fourth installment of Soman Chainani’s New York Times bestselling School for Good and Evil series, Quests for Glory. 
     
    If Good and Evil can’t find a way to work together, neither side will survive... 
    Join Sophie, Agatha, Tedros, and the other students as they begin a new era in the Endless Woods—The Camelot Years—where Evers and Nevers alike must move beyond the bounds of school and into the biggest, boldest adventures of their lives.  
    The students at the School for Good and Evil thought they had found their final Ever After when they vanquished the malevolent School Master. Now, on their required fourth-year quests, the students face obstacles both dangerous and unpredictable, and the stakes are high: success brings eternal adoration, and failure means obscurity forever. 
    For their quests, Agatha and Tedros are trying to return Camelot to its former splendor as queen and king. For her quest, Dean Sophie seeks to mold Evil in her own image. But soon they all feel themselves growing more isolated and alone. 
    When their classmates’ quests plunge into chaos, however, someone must lead the charge to save them... 
    Don't miss the thrilling conclusion to the beloved series, The School for Good and Evil #6: One True King, available June 2020!
    Show book
  • Finding Orion - cover

    Finding Orion

    John David Anderson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The acclaimed author of Ms. Bixby’s Last Day and Posted returns with an unforgettable tale of love and laughter, of fathers and sons, of what family truly means, and of the ways in which we sometimes need to lose something in order to find ourselves. Celebrate dads and Father's Day year-round with this warm and witty novel for tweens. 
    Rion Kwirk comes from a rather odd family. His mother named him and his sisters after her favorite constellations, and his father makes funky-flavored jellybeans for a living. One sister acts as if she’s always on stage, and the other is a walking dictionary. But no one in the family is more odd than Rion’s grandfather, Papa Kwirk. 
     
    He’s the kind of guy who shows up on his motorcycle only on holidays handing out crossbows and stuffed squirrels as presents. Rion has always been fascinated by Papa Kwirk, especially as his son—Rion’s father—is the complete opposite. Where Dad is predictable, nerdy, and reassuringly boring, Papa Kwirk is mysterious, dangerous, and cool. 
    Which is why, when Rion and his family learn of Papa Kwirk’s death and pile into the car to attend his funeral and pay their respects, Rion can’t help but feel that that’s not the end of his story. That there’s so much more to Papa Kwirk to discover. 
    He doesn’t know how right he is.
    Show book
  • Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue - cover

    Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue

    Paula Harrison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Girl by day. Cat by night. Ready for an adventure. Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue is the first book in a chapter book series about Kitty and her superhero adventures.  
     
    Meet Kitty, a charming chapter book character with catlike superpowers. With dramatic two-color art on every page and an emphasis on friendship, family, bravery, and building self-confidence, Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue is a perfect choice for independent readers and fans of Rebecca Elliott’s Owl Diaries.  
    Kitty is special. Her mother is a superhero with catlike powers that Kitty and her little brother Max will someday inherit. But being a superhero involves going on daring adventures at night, and Kitty doesn’t know if she’ll ever be brave enough for that!  
    One night though, Kitty finds a sleek black cat with white paws waiting at her window. When he introduces himself, Kitty is shocked to realize she can understand him—her powers have arrived! The cat, Figaro, has a problem. There’s a terrible meowing sound coming from the clock tower, and the other cats don’t know what to do. The night outside looks cold and uninviting, and Kitty is afraid of the dark. But she musters up her courage and sets out to find the source of the mysterious sound. Along the way, she makes new friends, uncovers her confidence, and learns what it means to be brave.  
     With an aspirational main character, a kindle of cats, striking two-color art on every page, and fun facts included at the end of each story, these chapter books are just right for newly independent readers.
    Show book
  • The Good Girls - cover

    The Good Girls

    Sara Shepard

    • 7
    • 67
    • 0
    Don’t miss the Freeform TV series, Pretty Little Liars: The Perfectionists!  
    From Sara Shepard, author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Pretty Little Liars, comes the shocking finish to The Perfectionists, a series perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and We Were Liars—with an ending you’ll have to read to believe! 
    Mackenzie, Ava, Caitlin, Julie, and Parker have done some not-so-perfect things. But even though they all talked about killing rich bully Nolan Hotchkiss, they didn’t actually go through with it. It’s just a coincidence that Nolan died in exactly the way they planned . . . right? 
    Except Nolan wasn’t the only one they fantasized about killing. When someone else they named dies, the girls wonder if they’re being framed. Or are they about to become the killer’s next targets? 
     
    Show book