Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
No Second Chances - A voodoo mystery set in New Orleans - cover

No Second Chances - A voodoo mystery set in New Orleans

Don Bruns

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

When a fellow cop is shot dead, homicide detective Quentin Archer suspects that there’s far more to this case than meets the eye. One of Quentin Archer’s fellow officers has been shot dead in broad daylight, in his own squad car. A random cop killing . . . or something more sinister?  With no leads to go on, Archer turns to voodoo queen Solange Cordray for help. But is he prepared to take her advice?As Archer uncovers some surprising facts about the dead man’s past, there is another murder. With the simmering racial tensions in the city threatening to escalate into outright violence, Archer begins to suspect there’s far more to Officer Leroy’s killing than he’d first supposed. Could it be part of a carefully-orchestrated plan of revenge . . .?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Guards - Jack Taylor #1 - cover

    The Guards - Jack Taylor #1

    Ken Bruen

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    It's almost impossible to be thrown out of the Gardaí, but former police detective Jack Taylor has managed it… 
    Following the death of his father, Jack finds himself disgraced, unemployed, and drinking himself into oblivion when he is asked to privately investigate a teenage suicide.  
    The case is one of several successive suicides from the same bridge in Galway, and all the victims are teenage females.  
    The Irish police, the Guards, are quick to dismiss the deaths as coincidences, suggesting the bridge has become a destination spot for depressed teens.  
    However, when he is approached by Ann Henderson, the mother of one of the girls, Jack begins to uncover facts that suggest otherwise…  
    Plunged into a dangerous confrontation with the police and a powerful but suspicious businessman, Jack finds himself questioning his instincts, his motives, and who – if anyone – he can trust.  
    The Guards, winner of the Shamus Award for Best Novel and finalist for Edgar Award for Best Novel, is the first title in Ken Bruen's best-selling crime series featuring Jack Taylor.  
    Praise for Ken Bruen: 
    'Taylor is a classic figure: an ex-cop turned seedy private eye . . . The book's pleasure comes from listening to Taylor's eloquent rants, studded with references to songs and books. His voice is wry and bittersweet, but somehow always hopeful.' - Seattle Times  
    'Ken Bruen, Ireland's first real crime novelist . . . the Godfather of the modern Irish crime novel . . . Bruen writes in machine gun fashion, his words verbal bullets that rip through the veneer of the safe bourgeois Catholic society in which he was reared . . . The acerbic wit and off-the-wall comments throughout all the books are somewhat reminiscent of the work of Raymond Chandler and Peter Cheyenne.' - Irish Times  
    'Ken Bruen doesn't need a lot of words to tell his tales of perpetually falling Irish angel Jack Taylor—he knows the right ones. Bruen gets more done in a paragraph, a word, even a fragment of a word, than most writers get in an entire four-hundred page doorstop. If his prose was any sharper, your eyeballs would bleed.' - Mystery Scene  
    'One sign of a winning detective series is how much fun the author has with the creation. In the 11th Jack Taylor novel, Green Hell, Ken Bruen is having a shameless good time . . . Go ahead—crack open Green Hell and have some fun.' - Shelf Awareness  
    'The Taylor series is generally very pleasurable to read . . . filled with a glorious love of the language and an engaging protagonist who is unlike almost any other. It's unclear at this point how many more go-arounds Taylor has left in him . . . but it will be a privilege to be with him for as long as he's able.' - Strand Magazine 
    Ken Bruen received a doctorate in metaphysics, taught English in Africa, and then became a crime novelist. The critically acclaimed author of ten previous Jack Taylor novels and The White Trilogy, he is the recipient of two Barry Awards and two Shamus Awards and has twice been a finalist for the Edgar Award. He lives in Galway, Ireland.
    Show book
  • Triple Nine Sleuths: Dangerous Schemes - cover

    Triple Nine Sleuths: Dangerous...

    Maranna Chan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In Dangerous Schemes, Corey, Colton and Stacy find themselves being chased by thugs in Sentosa’s Children’s Museum. 
     
    With the doors locked and no way to escape, the Triple Nine Sleuths have to come up with a plan to stop a mysterious object from falling into evil hands! Plus, Stacy gets one giant step closer to finding out who her father is…
    Show book
  • The Girl in the Woods - cover

    The Girl in the Woods

    Patricia Macdonald

    • 5
    • 45
    • 0
    A deathbed confession has chilling consequences in this gripping novel of psychological suspense.“I have to tell you something … I did something bad”.Ever since her best friend Molly was murdered fifteen years before, Blair Butler has returned to her small hometown in the Pocono mountains as seldom as possible. Now she has been summoned home to see her terminally ill sister one last time – only for Celeste to make a shocking deathbed confession. Is it really true that the wrong man has spent fifteen years in jail for a crime he didn’t commit?Having promised her dying sister that she would do her best to right the wrongs of the past, Blair sets out to discover what really happened that cold, wet November night fifteen years before: the night Molly’s battered body was found in the woods behind her home. But is Blair prepared for the shocking truth … ?
    Show book
  • A Darker Shade of Sweden - Original Stories by Sweden's Greatest Crime Writers - cover

    A Darker Shade of Sweden -...

    Henning Mankell, Henning Nesser,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ever since Stieg Larsson shone a light on the brilliance of Swedish crime writing with his acclaimed and bestselling Girl With the Dragon Tattoo trilogy, readers around the world have devoured fiction by some of the greatest masters of the genre. In this landmark and unique publication, Sweden’s most distinguished and best-loved crime writers have contributed stories to an anthology that promises to sate the desire to read about the dark side of Sweden.Containing seventeen stories, never before published in English, A Darker Shade of Sweden illuminates this beguiling country and its inhabitants as never before. Included are stories from such Swedish literary luminaries as:• Stieg Larsson• Henning Mankell• Åsa Larsson• Eva Gabrielsson
    Show book
  • The Devil's Star - A Novel - cover

    The Devil's Star - A Novel

    Jo Nesbo

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    Detective Harry Hole is on the trail of a diabolical serial killer terrorizing Oslo in another electrifying thriller in the Harry Hole series from the author of The Snowman—soon to be a major motion picture, starring Michael Fassbender, Rebecca Ferguson, and J. K. Simmons. 
    “It’s fascinating to watch this Norwegian author adapt our homegrown monster [the serial killer] to a foreign culture.... When things go wrong, Harry goes on a bender, but when he’s on his game, no one is better than this obsessive detective. He systematically works his way through the intricacies of a plot that speeds along like a bullet train.”—New York Times Book Review 
    In the heat of a sweltering Oslo summer, a young woman is found murdered in her flat—with one of her fingers cut off and a tiny red star-shaped diamond placed under her eyelid. An off-the-rails alcoholic barely holding on to his job, Detective Harry Hole is assigned to the case with Tom Waaler, a hated colleague whom Harry believes is responsible for the murder of his partner. When another woman is reported missing five days later, and her severed finger turns up adorned with a red star-shaped diamond ring, Harry fears a serial killer is at work.  
    But Hole's determination to capture a fiend and to expose Waaler's crimes is leading him into shadowy places where both investigations merge in unexpected ways, forcing him to make difficult decisions about a future he may not live to see.
    Show book
  • The Pallbearer - A Novel - cover

    The Pallbearer - A Novel

    Jordan Farmer

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    For fans of Daniel Woodrell and Frank Bill, The Pallbearer is a stunning debut that takes an unflinching look at an Appalachian town after several coal mines close, resulting in widespread poverty, unemployment, and drug addiction.  
    The Pallbearer has a physically disabled protagonist and several fully realized gay characters whose narratives go beyond their sexuality. This answers a call for more inclusive and diverse characters in publishing. 
    Jordan Farmer, who has dwarfism, writes about the challenges of physical disability from an informed POV. He is currently a Ph.D. candidate studying creative writing at the University of Lincoln-Nebraska. He will be able to use his connections there to bolster the publicity of the book.
    The novel directly addresses the contemporary issues surrounding the coal industry, the rage of lower-class white families, the opioid epidemic, discrimination against the LGBTQ community, and the prison industrial complex.
    Show book