Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Travesty of Justice - The Shocking Prosecution of Lt Clint Lorance - cover

Travesty of Justice - The Shocking Prosecution of Lt Clint Lorance

Don Brown

Publisher: WildBlue Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The true story of the most despicable political prosecution in American military history—in the book that won a presidential pardon.   On the morning of July 2, 2012, in the most dangerous warzone in the world, Lieutenant Clint Lorance took command of his small band of American paratroopers at the spearhead of the American War in Afghanistan.   Intelligence reports that morning warned of a Taliban ambush against Lorance’s platoon. Fifteen minutes into their patrol, three military-age Afghan males crowded on a motorcycle and sped aggressively down a Taliban-controlled dirt road toward Lorance’s men…   Three weeks earlier, outside the massive American Kandahar Airfield, Taliban terrorists struck by motorcycle, riding into a crowded area, detonating body-bombs and killing twenty-two people. Sixty-three days before that, three Ohio National Guard soldiers were murdered in another motorcycle-suicide bombing. Suicide-by-motorcycle had become a common Taliban murder-tactic against Americans…   It was a split-second decision: Either open fire and protect his men or ignore the speeding motorcycle and pray his men weren’t about to get blown up. Lorance ordered his men to fire.   When no weapons were found on the Afghan bodies, the Army betrayed one of its finest young officers and prosecuted Lorance for murder. Hiding crucial evidence from the military jury and ordering Lorance’s own men to testify against him or face murder charges themselves, the Army railroaded Lorance into a 20-year prison sentence at Fort Leavenworth.  Updated with breaking news, plus a copy of the pardon!  “Gripping…. A true-life thriller... [a] page-turner.”—The Baltimore Sun   “This one will keep you planted in your reading chair from start to finish.”—Sun-Sentinel  

Other books that might interest you

  • An I-Novel - cover

    An I-Novel

    Minae Mizumura

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Minae Mizumura’s An I-Novel is a semi-autobiographical work that takes place over the course of a single day in the 1980s. Minae is a Japanese expatriate graduate student who has lived in the United States for two decades but turned her back on the English language and American culture. After a phone call from her older sister reminds her that it is the twentieth anniversary of their family’s arrival in New York, she spends the day reflecting in solitude and over the phone with her sister about their life in the United States, trying to break the news that she has decided to go back to Japan and become a writer in her mother tongue.Published in 1995, this formally daring novel radically broke with Japanese literary tradition. It liberally incorporated English words and phrases, and the entire text was printed horizontally, to be read from left to right, rather than vertically and from right to left. In a luminous meditation on how a person becomes a writer, Mizumura transforms the “I-novel,” a Japanese confessional genre that toys with fictionalization. An I-Novel tells the story of two sisters while taking up urgent questions of identity, race, and language. Above all, it considers what it means to write in the era of the hegemony of English—and what it means to be a writer of Japanese in particular. Juliet Winters Carpenter masterfully renders a novel that once appeared untranslatable into English.
    Show book
  • Think And Grow Rich - cover

    Think And Grow Rich

    Napoleon Hill

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    Think and Grow Rich is a motivational personal development and self-help book written by Napoleon Hill and inspired by a suggestion from Scottish-American businessman Andrew Carnegie. While the title implies that this book deals only with how to get rich, the author explains that the philosophy taught in the book can be used to help people succeed in all lines of work and to do or be almost anything they want
    Show book
  • The Anatomy of Fake News - A Critical News Literacy Education - cover

    The Anatomy of Fake News - A...

    Nolan Higdon

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Since the 2016 U.S. presidential election, concerns about fake news have fostered calls for government regulation and industry intervention to mitigate the influence of false content. These proposals are hindered by a lack of consensus concerning the definition of fake news or its origins. Media scholar Nolan Higdon contends that expanded access to critical media literacy education, grounded in a comprehensive history of fake news, is a more promising solution to these issues. The Anatomy of Fake News offers the first historical examination of fake news that takes as its goal the effective teaching of critical news literacy in the United States. Higdon employs a critical-historical media ecosystems approach to identify the producers, themes, purposes, and influences of fake news. The findings are then incorporated into an invaluable fake news detection kit. This much-needed resource provides a rich history and a promising set of pedagogical strategies for mitigating the pernicious influence of fake news.
    Show book
  • In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World - cover

    In Praise of Retreat - Finding...

    Kirsteen MacLeod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.
    		 
    An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent
    		 
    From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.
    		 
    In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.
    Show book
  • Bad Behavior - cover

    Bad Behavior

    Noire, Kiki Swinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    NINE LIVESKIKI SWINSONWild-card Aiden. Dead-shot Ava. Efficient, fast, and brutal, this notorious brother-sister hit team grew up abused, unwanted—and in lethal tune with each other. Killing nine targets in ten days will be their biggest score yet. But as Ava sets up their final target, she falls hard for him and a chance at a normal life. And that's a betrayal she may not live to regret . . . THE CRUSHED ICE CLIQUENOIREAt first all ghetto princesses Honore and Cucci want is quick cash-flow. But after sexing jewelry distributor Slimy Sam and learning his illegal tricks of the trade, they assemble a crack team of thieves for one dazzling scam. Replacing diamonds with fakes and selling the reshaped real deal on the black market is making them crazy-rich. But when Sam double-crosses them, these diamond divas must survive to steal another day . . . “Treachery, betrayal, and revenge add to the twists and turns and lots of drama in this book. Loved it! Can’t wait until the sequel comes out.”—RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars on Kiki Swinson’s The Score “Noire has created one of the liveliest urban fiction series headed by a most memorable protagonist. Fans will get a hoot out of the biting insults and dark humor marking practically every page.”—Library Journal STARRED REVIEW on Noire’s Stone Cold Liar
    Show book