Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Archaeology of Political Spaces - The Upper Mesopotamian Piedmont in the Second Millennium BCE - cover

The Archaeology of Political Spaces - The Upper Mesopotamian Piedmont in the Second Millennium BCE

Dominik Bonatz

Publisher: De Gruyter

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Die Reihe Topoi. Berlin Studies of the Ancient World versammelt Beiträge aus allen altertumswissenschaftlichen Disziplinen, von der Ur- und Frühgeschichte über die Klassische Archäologie bis zur antiken Philosophie, Wissenschaftstheorie und Theologie. Einen Schwerpunkt bilden Monographien und Sammelbände, in denen die Forschungsergebnisse des Exzellenzclusters Topoi vorgestellt werden. Weitere Schwerpunkte sind in Planung. Das Exzellenzcluster Topoi untersucht die Formation und Transformation von Raum und Wissen in den antiken Zivilisationen. Topoi wird von der Freien Universität Berlin und der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin gemeinsam getragen. Partner sind die Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften, das Deutsche Archäologische Institut, das Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte und die Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz. Topoi ist darüber hinaus mit vielen weiteren universitären und außeruniversitären Einrichtungen vernetzt. Näheres unter www.topoi.org. Ausgewählte Titel aus der Reihe Topoi. Berliner Studien der Alten Welt werden gleichzeitig mit dem Erscheinen als Buch auch in digitaler Form im Internet frei zugänglich gemacht. Die Reihe versteht sich als Pilotprojekt für eine Verbindung des open-access-Gedankens mit der verlegerischen Betreuung von wissenschaftlichen Publikationen. Siehe Presseinformation vom 23. Juni 2009.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Battle of Britain - An Epic Conflict Revisited - cover

    The Battle of Britain - An Epic...

    Christer Bergström

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A thorough look at this turning-point WWII aerial battle, with eyewitness accounts, maps, and rare photos: “incredibly well-researched” (Aircrew Book Review).   By late summer 1940, Nazi Germany had conquered all its opponents on the continent, including the British Army itself, which was forced to scramble back aboard small boats to its shores. A non-aggression pact with the Soviet Union in hand, Hitler had only one remaining object that season—the British Isles themselves. However, before he could invade, his Luftwaffe needed to wipe the Royal Air Force from the skies. History’s first strategic military campaign conducted in the air alone was about to take place.   This book contains a large number of dramatic eyewitness accounts, even as it reveals new facts that will alter common perceptions of the battle. For example, the twin-engined Messerschmitt Bf 110 was actually a good day fighter, and it performed at least as well in this role as the Bf 109 during the battle. The Luftwaffe’s commander, Hermann Göring, performed far better than has been believed. The British night bombers played a more decisive role than previously thought; in addition, this book disproves that the German 109 pilots were in any way superior to their Hurricane or Spitfire counterparts.   The author has examined records from both sides and provides surprising statistics that shatter much conventional wisdom—laying out the Battle of Britain as seldom seen before.   Includes color photos of the relevant aircraft.
    Show book
  • The Black Cabinet - The Untold Story of African Americans and Politics During the Age of Roosevelt - cover

    The Black Cabinet - The Untold...

    Jill Watts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Watts’s The Black Cabinet is the first of its kind full-scale in-depth examination of Roosevelt’s Black Cabinet.The Black Cabinet traces an arc directly from Reconstruction to the Black Cabinet assembled for Theodore Roosevelt and subsequently disbanded by Taft and Wilson, past the New Deal era to the March on Washington and the Civil Rights Movement. It is a missing link in a continuous African American fight to be treated as equal citizensRoosevelt’s Black Cabinet was a diverse group made up of social scientists, legal minds, educators, politicos, and journalists who sought to get the black community’s needs on the table during the New Deal, a time when Black Americans were in even direr economic straits than whites.Because the Democratic Party of the day was so dependent on Southern white votes, Roosevelt never publicly acknowledged the Black Cabinet and only met personally with a tiny number of its members. Besides a red-baiting Senator, its name was never spoken aloud except in the black press, which has been underexploited as a source by historians. As a result Mary McLeod Bethune, a celebrity in her day, is the only one of these figures who has made it into the mainstream historical record; Watts has uncovered a rich story here.From assimilation and accommodation vs protest, #OwnVoices leadership vs working with white leadership, and down to the very basic question of whom the federal government is supposed to serve and protect, and what the unique history of and resulting challenges facing African Americans entitles them to, The Black Cabinet demonstrates that events that happened 75+ years ago share themes ripped from today’s headlines.Watts’s narrative synthesizes the story of the Black Cabinet, which at one time numbered over a hundred, into a character-driven story focusing in on five key figures, tracing them from their infancy in politics to their ascent into key powerful positions.For fans of The Warmth of Other Suns, The New Jim Crow, and The New Negro.
    Show book
  • Lost Powers - Reclaiming Our Inner Connection - cover

    Lost Powers - Reclaiming Our...

    J. Douglas Kenyon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Have we lost our way? Lost our psychic “sense of smell”? The conventional notion of the human psyche is that it is a product of our mass culture, and we are conditioned to see and understand only the stimulus that is provided to it. However, there is a deeper process at work, something coming from our innate ability to discern greater truth. Tapping into this subconscious truth-detector is key in determining whether we buy into the premises of the many mainstream “truths” presented to us in popular culture and popular science.In the quest to reestablish that universal connection, editor J. Douglas Kenyon has culled from the pages of Atlantis Rising® magazine this collection of 34 concise and well-illustrated articles by world-class philosophers and theoreticians who offer thought-provoking insights from the lost secrets of ancient and primordial wisdom.Featuring:Secrets of the Alchemists, by Joseph Robert JochmansThe Psi in CSI, by Barbara JasonCan We See into the Future?, by Robert M. SchochPsychokinesis, by Robert M. SchochThe Superhero Factor, by Len KastenDeathbed Visitations, by Michael TymnWar and Reincarnation, by John ChambersTime Travel Evidence, by Joseph Robert JochmansThe Case for Immortality, by Patrick Marsolek
    Show book
  • Reprogram Your Weight - Stop Thinking about Food All the Time Regain Control of Your Eating and Lose the Weight Once and for All - cover

    Reprogram Your Weight - Stop...

    Erika Flint

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Are you struggling with your weight – tired of thinking about food all the time, and feel like you’re eating is out of control? In Reprogram Your Weight, award-winning hypnotist Erika Flint combines insightful and leading edge hypnosis techniques with client success stories of weight loss to help many lose the weight once and for all. She understands many people don’t know what to do to lose weight and often have a hard time consistently following through. Some people feel like there’s something deeper going on inside that’s keeping them from achieving their weight loss goal—Flint shows them how to bring these issues to the surface and combat them in a healthy, mindful manner. Within these pages lies the roadmap to a healthier, happier you!
    Show book
  • Living Your Magic - How to Enjoy Your Mind and Enjoy Your Life - cover

    Living Your Magic - How to Enjoy...

    Dr. Robert Anthony

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Living Your Magic lays out how life, when people really look at it, is like a magic trick. 
     A magic trick works because of illusion and misdirection. And with all sorts of tricks of the mind, human thinking and perception works just like a magic trick. When people don’t understand how the trick is done, they get fooled every time! In Living Your Magic, Dr. Robert Anthony teaches readers how to look at their life before the trick or the illusions happens—and how to never be fooled again. 
     Rather than following the same flawed premise behind almost every self-help, therapeutic, or personal development methodology that projects people having a separate ‘self’ that needs fixing, Living Your Magic sees that ‘self’ as an illusion. The problem is that most people don’t recognize it as an illusion and believe they must change or improve their ‘self’ before they can be happy and live a magical life. Dr. Anthony reveals that everyone has an Inner Creative Genius that allows them to live a magical life—if people would only learn to trust it and get out of their own way. In that way, life becomes easier by giving people less to think about, less to remember, and less to do, so they can truly enjoy their mind and enjoy their life!
    Show book
  • Revolution from Within - A Book of Self-Esteem - cover

    Revolution from Within - A Book...

    Gloria Steinem

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Without self-esteem, the only change is an exchange of masters; with it, there is no need for masters.” —Gloria Steinem  When trying to find books to give to “the countless brave and smart women I met who didn’t think of themselves as either brave or smart,” Gloria Steinem realized that books either supposed that external political change would cure everything or that internal change would. None linked internal and external change together in a seamless circle of cause and effect, effect and cause. She undertook to write such a book, and ended up transforming herself as well as others. The result of her external plus internal reflection is this bestselling and truly transforming book: part collection of personal stories from her own life and the lives of many others, part revolutionary guide to finding community and inspiration. Steinem finds role models in a very young and uncertain Gandhi as well as unlikely heroes from the streets to history. Revolution from Within addresses the core issues of self-authority and unjust external authority, and argues that the first is necessary to transform the second.
    Show book