Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Collection of Strangers - cover

A Collection of Strangers

Dolores Hitchens

Publisher: MysteriousPress.com

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A family torn apart by tragedy becomes the victim of a merciless killer in this gripping thriller from the twentieth-century author of The Baxter Letters.   Bad things have happened in the Stoddard household, but nothing as grim as what’s to come. One day, young Davie gets a phone call, an anonymous voice threatening to do lewd and horrible things to his teenage sister unless he follows instructions.   A little over a week later, another call, this one telling Davie to watch what his father does with his keys when he gets home at night—and to be ready to swipe them when asked. Briefly, Davie almost recognizes the voice, but then the moment passes.   Gripped by terror, Davie doesn’t know who to turn to. The recent tragic death of his three-year-old brother has isolated each member of his family in their own separate worlds. And now, someone dangerously close to them stands to gain from their fracture—unless Davie can summon a courage far beyond his years . . .  Praise for Dolores Hitchens   “High-grade suspense.” —San Francisco Chronicle on Stairway to an Empty Room/Terror Lurks in Darkness   “Dolores Hitchens wrote crime novels that were both tough and compassionate, with a sharp eye for the emotional scars that violence leaves.” —MysteryTribune   “Almost unbearable suspense . . . Holds the reader to the last punctuation mark.” —Greensboro News & Record on The Grudge
Available since: 06/22/2021.
Print length: 254 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Highwayman - cover

    Highwayman

    MJ Preston

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    First in the serial killer series from the author of Four. “A stunning achievement! . . . Prose of this quality is rare in horror stories.” —San Francisco Review of Books Meet Lance Belanger, he has only one ambition, to be the most infamous killer of all time. After murdering a single mom and her toddler child, Lance indoctrinates himself into the world of serial murder. Before long, the bodies start turning up all over the country. Each victim is incapacitated by a puncture wound to the spine, then, while still alive, they are dismembered, their arms, legs, and head are severed from the torso.   FBI investigators call their killer “Highwayman.” But beyond the multi-state dumping of staged victims, the killer has left them little else to go on. With no DNA or forensic evidence, veteran FBI agent Lewis Ash is in a race against retirement as he tracks the elusive murderer.   Meanwhile, Lance has other plans that will up his game and increase his body count. In a web of murder that reaches from the United States to Bucharest, Romania, a diabolical plan is set into motion to attract the most dangerous predators the world has to offer . . .   “Brilliant, haunting . . . M.J. Preston has created a gripping thriller that few readers will be able to put down. Not for the faint of heart, the story plays out like a cinematic tale that is waiting to be told and creates a modern-day killer that is sure to haunt the dreams of many a reader.” —Anthony Avina, author of Identity
    Show book
  • The Gaia Trilogy Books One to Three - Blue Gold Rose Gold White Gold - cover

    The Gaia Trilogy Books One to...

    David Barker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The action-packed trilogy now in one volume—set in a water-starved world where international agents fight to keep doomsday at bay . . .   This three-in-one digital edition of the thrilling Gaia series includes:  Blue Gold Climate change and geopolitical tension have given rise to a new international threat: a world war over water. This vital resource has become a precious commodity, and some will stop at nothing to control its flow. When a satellite disappears over Iceland, Sim Atkins joins the Overseas Division to hunt for the terrorists responsible—a quest that will take him and his partner, Freda, to a billionaires’ tax haven in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean and into a web of deceit . . .  Rose Gold In the aftermath of war, tensions remain high and terrorism is a daily fact of life. But a mining base on the moon offers a rare example of international co-operation and a possible solution to the world’s energy problems. Yet not everyone on Earth is keen for this endeavour to succeed—and Sim Atkins’s plan to start a family with his wife may have to be put on hold . . .  White Gold Agent Atkins has returned home after surviving his last deadly mission, and all he can think about is finding the criminals responsible for a heinous act. But his fury and lust for revenge must be set aside when a nuclear warhead is stolen . . .
    Show book
  • Be Mine - A Novel - cover

    Be Mine - A Novel

    Laura Kasischke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A novel of “sex, mystery, betrayal, intrigue and violence, all wrapped up in the disturbing world of a middle-aged woman’s deepest desires” (USA Today). The first note came on Valentine’s Day. Written with a red pen in an unfamiliar hand, it said: Be Mine. For Sherry Seymour, a community college English professor and recent empty-nester, the anonymous message was amusing and, she had to admit, flattering. When she told her husband, Jon, about it, he raised his eyebrows and looked at her with a kind of attention she hadn’t felt in some time.   As the notes continue, Sherry becomes increasingly aroused by the idea that she could inspire such feelings—as does her husband. With Jon’s encouragement, she pursues her admirer and begins a wild affair. But living in a fantasy can never last. As events spiral out of Sherry’s control, she discovers how little she knows about herself—or the men in her life. This darkly erotic thriller explores what we risk when we step away from our daily lives and allow our passions to take control.   “If there is any justice in the world, Laura Kasischke will soon be as big as Alice Sebold. . . . Kasischke’s novels are as beautifully written and as daring in their subjects.” —Detroit Free Press   “Kasischke has proven herself again to be a bold chronicler of dark obsession.” —Publishers Weekly   “What makes this erotic thriller disturbing and, therefore, successful is how convincingly Kasischke renders Sherry’s life and feelings so eerily normal and familiar.” —Booklist
    Show book
  • The Lost Girls - A Gripping Mystery Thriller - cover

    The Lost Girls - A Gripping...

    Helen Pryke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this dark thriller series debut, an English reporter investigates a missing persons case gone cold while getting dangerously closer to a madman. Four years ago, two teenage girls were abducted. Also four years ago, a ten-year-old boy was murdered. Both cases remain unsolved. Desperate to find their missing sisters, Michael and Chloe ask investigative journalist Maggie Turner to help them. And what starts as a simple investigation, soon turns into a frantic race against time. The kidnapper took the girls to replace his sisters; sisters who died seventeen years earlier. Forced to face traumatic events from the past, Maggie finds herself in the middle of a nightmare that can only get worse . . .Tense, fast-paced, and gritty, The Lost Girls is the perfect read for fans of authors like Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, and Helen Fields.
    Show book
  • The Return of Sherlock Holmes - Further Extraordinary Tales of the Famous Sleuth - cover

    The Return of Sherlock Holmes -...

    Maxim Jakubowski

    • 1
    • 12
    • 1
    Fifteen brand-new stories about the British super sleuth by an assortment of talented tale-tellers!   Sherlock Holmes and Watson have been household names for generations. In this new anthology from Maxim Jakubowski, you can read all about the dynamic duo in a new light and revisit the legacy of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. From brand new stories to deeper looks into famous Sherlock Holmes cases, fans have a new chance to delve into the world of Holmes, Watson, and their crime-solving capers.   “One highlight is Paul A. Freeman’s imaginative ‘Sherlock Holmes and a Case of Humbug,’ in which the detective doubts Ebenezer Scrooge’s change of heart resulted from ghostly visitations and uncovers a violent crime. Another is Eric Brown’s eerie ‘The Curse of Carmody Grange,’ in which Holmes investigates a disappearance from a sealed room attributed to a centuries-old curse.” —Publishers Weekly   “I have been a fan of Maxim Jakubowski for years. There just is no finer mystery writer and editor anywhere.” ―Alexander Algren, author of Out in a Flash: Murder Mystery Flash Fiction
    Show book
  • Blame - A Completely Gripping Psychological Suspense - cover

    Blame - A Completely Gripping...

    Patricia Dixon

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A compelling exploration of the human psyche . . . stands out as an excellent piece of psychological fiction” from the bestselling author of #MeToo (Book Rant Reviews).What if the past came knocking? Frankie is running away from her past and the repercussions of a night that changed her life forever. Hoping for a fresh start she unexpectedly falls in love. Unbeknown to Frankie, the wheels of fate are set in motion when Herbert Dunne, a convicted murderer, is released from prison. When he moves in with Margaret, a woman he has formed an unlikely relationship with, their dark sides gradually emerge allowing their inner demons to blossom. News of Herbert’s release once again rocks the small village of Elkdale, as the locals remember the young woman he murdered. But what is Herbert hoping to achieve by stirring up the past? And who is behind the new spate of murders? One thing is clear—someone is out for revenge. Someone who thinks Frankie and her friends are to blame . . .“With settings I could get lost in, characters that inspired even my dark little heart and the thrill of bad meeting bad, I thoroughly recommend this.” —Melanie’s Reads
    Show book