Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Forgotten Murder - cover

Forgotten Murder

Dolores Gordon-Smith

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Jack Haldean’s newly-wedded bliss is disrupted by a series of shocking revelations in this gripping historical mystery.

When an old schoolfriend of Jack’s wife Betty witnesses a disturbing vision in the garden of a smart suburban house, Jack is intrigued. Just what did Jenny Langton see beneath the cedar tree at Saunder’s Green that frightened her so much she fainted on the spot?

Jack’s subsequent enquiries stir up a hornet’s nest of repressed emotions and long-buried secrets. What exactly happened at Saunder’s Green almost twenty years before – and why will no one talk about it? As he unearths evidence of a possible murder, how is even a seasoned investigator like Jack supposed to solve a crime that took place two decades before with no tangible clues, no reliable witnesses – and at least one person who is determined to stop him discovering the truth … whatever it takes.

Other books that might interest you

  • House of the Red Slayer - A Brother Athelstan Medieval Mystery 2 - cover

    House of the Red Slayer - A...

    Paul Doherty

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    December, 1377.  A great frost has London in its icy grip; even the Thames is frozen bank to bank. The Constable of the Tower of London, Sir Ralph Witton, is found murdered in a cold, bleak chamber in the North Bastion.  The door is still locked from the inside and guarded by trusted retainers. So how did the assassins slip across a frozen moat to climb the sheer wall to commit such a dreadful crime? Appointed to investigate, Brother Athelstan and Sir John Cranston soon discover that Sir Ralph’s murder is only the first in a series of macabre killings which have their roots in a terrible act of betrayal committed many years previously.
    Show book
  • Remains of Innocence - A Brady Novel of Suspense - cover

    Remains of Innocence - A Brady...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Sheriff Joanna Brady must solve two perplexing cases that may be tied together in New York Times bestselling author J. A. Jance’s thrilling tale of suspense that brings to life Arizona’s Cochise County and the desert Southwest in all its beauty and mystery. 
    An old woman, a hoarder, is dying of emphysema in Great Barrington, Massachusetts. In cleaning out her house, her daughter, Liza Machett, discovers a fortune in hundred dollar bills hidden in the tall stacks of books and magazines that crowd every corner. 
    Tracing the money’s origins will take Liza on a journey that will end in Cochise County, where Sheriff Joanna Brady is embroiled in a personal mystery of her own. A man she considers a family friend is found dead at the bottom of a hole in a limestone cavern near Bisbee. And now there is the mystery of Liza and the money. Are the two disparate cases connected? It’s up to Joanna to find out.
    Show book
  • The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe and Savage Thriller - cover

    The Girl in the Glass - A McCabe...

    James Hayman

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller! 
    Two identical women.  
    Two identical murders. Two lives brutally cut short  
    108 years apart 
    June 1904. 
    Aimée Garnier Whitby, a beautiful French artist and wife of one of Maine's richest and most powerful men, is found near death on the Whitby family's private summer island, the letter "A" mysteriously carved into her chest. 
    June 2012. 
    Veronica Aimée Whitby, the eighteen-year-old descendant and virtual double of the first Aimée, becomes the victim of a near perfect copycat murder. With another beautiful, promising young Whitby woman slain, the media begin to swarm and pressure builds for Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage to bring the killer quickly to justice. But the key to solving Aimée's death just might have been buried with her beautiful ancestor. 
    The latest McCabe and Savage thriller from USA Today bestselling author James Hayman is a crackling, twisty novel of suspense, perfect for fans of J.A. Jance and John Sandford.
    Show book
  • The Vanished - cover

    The Vanished

    Lotte Hammer, Søren Hammer

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Lying at the bottom of his apartment stairs, a postman is found dead.  
     
    At first glance, his death appears to be a simple fall, a straightforward accident and the perfect case for Detective Chief Superintendent Konrad Simonsen to return to after a severe heart attack. But when he is called to investigate, new forensic evidence comes to light and something doesn't add up. Did the postman fall or was he pushed? 
     
    When life-size images of a girl are discovered plastering the walls of the dead man's attic, the case takes a new and sinister turn. Who is she? Could she be alive? 
     
    Soon the homicide team find themselves delving into the past, but as they approach the truth, Simonsen discovers long-hidden skeletons in his own closet.
    Show book
  • Famous Mysteries - Ten Top Mysteries - cover

    Famous Mysteries - Ten Top...

    Albert Jack

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Author of the Internationally Bestselling Books - Red Herrings & White Elephants, What Caesar did for My Salad, Shaggy Dogs, Pop Goes the Weasel, They Laughed at Galileo:  We all love a good mystery, don’t we? And by all, I mean each and every one of us are, or will be, captivated at one time or another by a decent, real-life mystery; either one of the world’s best, or something on a smaller scale such.   But writing a book on just one of these would have been relatively easy. The challenge came from researching lots and lots of them and then condensing them down in a way that I know you, the reader, who continue to pay my wages, enjoy reading. And that is short, sharp informative sections you can read on the train, bus queue or while waiting to pick the kids up after you arrive at school to find them in detention.   In other words, the challenge was to explain the mystery in a way you can enjoy and absorb in about ten minutes. Inevitably some information will be missing, for which I apologize in advance. But the missing information isn’t critical to the basic story; the ‘core’ details of the mystery in question should all be there. In some cases, such as the sections on The Loch Ness Monster, Bigfoot and crop circles, there are literally thousands of examples that I could have used of course, but, in each case, i’ve kept it down to just a handful.  And this brings me to an important point. Given that I am a fan of the unknown and the unexplained, I have not set out to be a mystery buster in this volume. Instead I just wanted to tell the story, provide some little-known detail and offer a rational explanation wherever I could. I wanted to provoke a bit of thought and conversation, but leave you to decide the answer for yourselves: does the story remain a mystery, in your view, or have you managed to piece together a theory of your own that you ca then share with your friends. Although, to be fair, I must admit there are some cases where I just couldn’t resist presenting my own ideas and giving full rein to my scepticism, but don’t let that stop you enjoying yourselves.  Including:  Mystery 1 – Bigfoot Mystery 2 – Crop Circles Mystery 3 – Who Killed Marilyn Munroe? Mystery 4 – The Loch Ness Monster Mystery 5 – The Death of Robert Maxwell Mystery 6 – Will the Real Paul McCartney Please Stand Up Mystery 7 – The Awful Fate of Edgar Allan Poe Mystery 8 – The St Valentines Day Massacre Mystery 9 – The Chilling Tale of The Chase Vault Mystery 10 – Fairies at the Bottom of the Garden
    Show book
  • Seven Days - cover

    Seven Days

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In Deon Meyer's Thirteen Hours, which won the Barry Award for Best Thriller in 2011, Cape Town homicide detective Bennie Griessel struggled to solve the murder of an American girl, find her missing friend, and avoid drinking again, all in a single day.In Seven Days, Griessel is given another nearly impossible task. Two police officers have been shot, and the department has received emails from the shooter alleging corruption and a cover up in a cold case. The shooter quotes scripture and threatens more violence until the cold case is solved.The case in question is the murder of Hanneke Sloet, an ambitious lawyer stabbed to death in her luxury apartment. There's no apparent motive, no leads, and no promising forensic evidence. There's no sign of a struggle either; the front door to Sloet's apartment was not damaged, so Griessel is sure she either knew the killer, or the killer had a key. All in all, the original inspector seems to have done a thorough job, only to come up empty.The one piece of evidence that Griessel finds promising is a set of provocative professional photos of herself that Sloet kept in her apartment. Perhaps jealous rage was the motive? Sloet's ex-boyfriend, who works at a vineyard making barrels, had the strength, the connection, and the access to the right type of blade, but he has an alibi that checks out.And then, another cop is shot.Pressure ramps up on Griessel, and on his feisty colleague, Captain Mbali Kaleni, who is hunting the shooter, trying desperately to find a connection to Sloet as the number of injured rise. The emails keep coming, and the shooter reaches out to the media. And then, as if Griessel's life isn't complicated enough, his girlfriend Alexa Bernard, a singer who was in Thirteen Hours, falls off the wagon herself thanks to the pressure of a big comeback concert.Seven Days is another fantastic novel from Deon Meyer, one of international crime fiction's stars. He has won major awards and is gaining new fans here, as his Barry Award and successful tour for Thirteen Hours can attest. Seven Days is a completely gripping read, a brilliant amalgam of thriller and mystery.
    Show book