Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Emperor's Men 3: Passage - cover

The Emperor's Men 3: Passage

Dirk van den Boom

Publisher: Atlantis Verlag

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The victory over the Goths has only brought temporary peace to the Roman Empire. Unrest and intrigues threaten to jeopardize the achievements made. The time travelers from the Saarbrücken not only help to reform Empire but also have to take first steps against the threat posed by the Huns. An expedition is sent to Africa to spread new ideas in the Empire and begin the search for profitable commodities. But the opponents of the new order are not asleep and begin their preparations to restore the old ways - and this with the help of a man who was believed to be dead.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Rogue Retrieval - cover

    The Rogue Retrieval

    Dan Koboldt

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the tradition of Terry Brooks' Landover series, Piers Anthony Xanth books, and Terry Pratchett's Discword novels, scientist and blogger Dan Koboldt weaves wonder, humor, and heart into his debut novel, The Rogue Retrieval.  
    Sleight of hand…in another land 
    Stage magician Quinn Bradley has one dream: to headline his own show on the Vegas Strip. And with talent scouts in the audience wowed by his latest performance, he knows he’s about to make the big-time. 
    What he doesn’t expect is an offer to go on a quest to a place where magic is all too real. 
    That's how he finds himself in Alissia, a world connected to ours by a secret portal owned by a powerful corporation. He’s after an employee who has gone rogue, and that’s the least of his problems. Alissia has true magicians…and the penalty for impersonating one is death. In a world where even a twelve-year-old could beat Quinn in a swordfight, it's only a matter of time until the tricks up his sleeves run out. 
     
    Show book
  • A Mail Order Bride - cover

    A Mail Order Bride

    Jessica Wolf

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Amidst the streets of London they grew up till their parents died, and even after Scarlett had moved to Coventry her heart still ached for home. The home where all of her memories were and the town which had streets she would give anything to tread upon again. She longed to see her sister Adrienne who still lived in London, in the same old house their parents had left behind. 
    Scarlett had left her home years ago after she had made the terrible mistake of falling in love with her sister’s betrothed, Edward, after merely running into him one strange night and the aftermath of her ordeal left her collecting bits and pieces of her heart ever since. 
    It was just another day when she received a letter that announced of her sister’s untimely demise. She travelled to her hometown the very next day after so many years only to see her sister being lowered to the ground and have the man who ruined both their lives change her thereafter. 
    He changed her into someone she had never seen herself become and made her feel things she never imagined herself feeling again.
    Show book
  • Beyond: Technology - cover

    Beyond: Technology

    Scott Overton

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Three tricky tangles with technology:
    
    
    
     
    Once
    Upon A Midnight
    
     
    A woman whose job at a bio-weapons lab is
    to calculate the destructiveness of the world’s most deadly organisms is
    overwhelmed by a personal calamity. And the results could be catastrophic.
    (First published in In Poe’s Shadow, Dark Opus Press, 2011 and Tesseracts 16:
    Parnassus Unbound, Hades Publications, Inc., 2012.)
    
     
    Democracy
    
     
    A small tropical island claims to have
    perfect democracy thanks to technology enabling every citizen to vote on every
    issue of governance. When cynical reporter Jayne Connor investigates, the truth
    is stranger than anything she could have imagined.
    
     
    Shakedown
    
     
    A top gaming competitor seems like the
    perfect choice to pilot a virus-sized submersible through the bloodstream by
    virtual reality. But can the human mind exist in two realities at one time?
    (First published in Canadian Tales of the Fantastic, Red Tuque Books, 2011.)
    
    
    
     
    Praise
    for Scott Overton:
    
     
    “A storyteller of boundless skill…a writer
    to watch.”
    
     
    “A gifted wordsmith.”
    Show book
  • An Oath of Brothers (Book #14 in the Sorcerer's Ring) - cover

    An Oath of Brothers (Book #14 in...

    Morgan Rice

    • 5
    • 20
    • 0
    “THE SORCERER’S RING has all the ingredients for an instant success: plots, counterplots, mystery, valiant knights, and blossoming relationships replete with broken hearts, deception and betrayal. It will keep you entertained for hours, and will satisfy all ages. Recommended for the permanent library of all fantasy readers.”--Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto MattosAN OATH OF BROTHERS is Book #14 in the Bestselling series THE SORCERER'S RING, which begins with A QUEST OF HEROES (book #1)!  In AN OATH OF BROTHERS, Thorgrin and his brothers emerge from the land of the dead, more driven than ever to find Guwayne, and set sail across a hostile sea, leading them to places beyond their wildest dreams. As they come ever-closer to finding Guwayne, they also encounter obstacles unlike ever before, obstacles which will test them to their very limits, which will call on all their training and force them to stand together as one, as brothers. Darius stands up to the Empire, boldly amassing an army as he frees one slave village after the next. Facing off against fortified cities, against an army a thousand times his size, he summons all of his instincts and courage, determined to survive, determined to win, to strive for freedom at any cost, even at the cost of his life.
    Gwendolyn, with no other choice, leads her people into the Great Waste, deeper into the Empire than anyone has ever journeyed, on a quest to find the legendary Second Ring—the last hope for the survival of her people, and the last hope for Darius. Yet along the way she will encounter horrific monsters, worse landscapes, and an insurrection from amidst her own people that even she may not be able to stop. Erec and Alistair sail for the Empire to save their people, and along the way stop at hidden islands, determined to raise an army—even if it means dealing with mercenaries of questionable repute. Godfrey finds himself deep inside the city of Volusia and deep in trouble as his plan goes from bad to worse. Imprisoned, set to be executed, finally, even he can see no way out. Volusia forges a pact with the darkest of sorcerers, and driven to even greater heights, she continues her ascent, conquering all who stand in her way. More powerful than ever, she will take her war all the way to the steps of the Empire Capital—until she is up against the entire Empire army, an army that dwarfs even her own, setting the stage for an epic battle. Will Thorgrin find Guwayne? Will Gwendolyn and her people survive? Will Godfrey escape? Will Erec and Alistair reach the Empire? Will Volusia become the next Empress? Will Darius lead his people to victory? With its sophisticated world-building and characterization, AN OATH OF BROTHERS is an epic tale of friends and lovers, of rivals and suitors, of knights and dragons, of intrigues and political machinations, of coming of age, of broken hearts, of deception, ambition and betrayal. It is a tale of honor and courage, of fate and destiny, of sorcery. It is a fantasy that brings us into a world we will never forget, and which will appeal to all ages and genders. “A spirited fantasy that weaves elements of mystery and intrigue into its story line…. For those seeking meaty fantasy adventures, the protagonists, devices, and action provide a vigorous set of encounters that focus well on Thor's evolution from a dreamy child to a young adult facing impossible odds for survival….Only the beginning of what promises to be an epic young adult series.” Midwest Book Review (D. Donovan, eBook Reviewer)
    Show book
  • Kris Longknife's Bloodhound - Kris Longknife - cover

    Kris Longknife's Bloodhound -...

    Mike Shepherd

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It’s dangerous to get too close to one of those damn Longknife.  So Senior Chief Agent in Charge Foile volunteers to get too damn close to the whole family of Longknifes.  It seemed like a good idea at the time.  Kris Longknife feared the survival of the entire human race might hang on what her Grampa Al did next – but she couldn’t figure out what he was up to.  After a career in the Wardhaven Bureau of Investigations, Foile was good at finding out what others wanted to keep hidden. 
    Exactly why he found himself volunteering, he’d never know, but soon he was spending his annual leave digging into what the powerful Longknife family wanted hidden and up to his neck in trouble of every kind. 
    Note to reader.  This story takes place in the middle of Kris Longknife - Furious. 
    Note about cover photo.  This is a file photo of Kris and Nelly when she was in college on the political stump for her father’s campaign.  For the latest photo of Kris, check out Kris Longknife - Defender.
    Show book
  • Skyblade's Gambit - The Skyblade Saga #1 - cover

    Skyblade's Gambit - The Skyblade...

    Robert Dahlen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Captain Annabel Skyblade commands the Peregrine, the most feared pirate airship to sail the skies of Aldarre, plundering the rich and powerful. The rulers of the great sky realms have had enough of her, and Victorie Brassfeld, Cerindel's top Navy intelligence agent, has a plan to capture the pirate, using a lure too strong to resist—a valuable, beautiful sapphire amulet. 
    But the amulet hides a great secret, and when it is stolen by sinister forces, Annabel and Victorie must join together to retrieve it. And as they face danger and adventure, they also have to face their feelings for each other, feelings they have never had before, when they discover... 
    Hearts can be stolen too.
    Show book