Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Blondie: Parallel Lives - cover

Blondie: Parallel Lives

Dick Porter, Kris Needs

Publisher: Omnibus Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Parallel Lives is the definitive biography of Blondie, the iconic New York band led by singer Debbie Harry and guitarist Chris Stein. One of the most iconic groups of their generation, Blondie experienced an unparalleled rise to global superstardom during the late 1970s, topping charts and breaking moulds. 
 
This Omnibus Enhanced edition includes a Digital Timeline of Blondie's career packed with audio, video and images of tour nights, memorabilia, music videos and interviews. Additionally, throughout the book are links to curated playlists allowing you to hear Blondie's finest gems, their early influences and more. 
 
Beginning with their childhoods, backgrounds and influences, Parallel Lives charts the development of Blondie towards their global success and fractured break-up; followed by their 1997 reformation, critical renaissance and controversial induction into the Rock n’ Roll Hall of Fame. 
 
Drawing upon extensive and revealing interviews with Debbie Harry, Chris Stein and other significant players, the Omnibus Enhanced Blondie: Parallel Lives is the definitive, eye-witness account of the group’s long and tumultuous existence. Co-author Kris Needs had established a friendship with Harry, Stein and the rest of the band that endures to this day. Now, as a trusted confidante, he finally reveals the full story.

Other books that might interest you

  • Toxic Love - The Shocking True Story of the First Murder by Cancer - cover

    Toxic Love - The Shocking True...

    Tomás Guillén

    • 0
    • 17
    • 2
    The chilling true story of romantic obsession and murder by cancer from the New York Times–bestselling author of The Search for the Green River Killer.Omaha, Nebraska, 1978. Sandy Johnson was in shock. Her husband, Duane, and young daughter, Sherrie, were violently ill when word arrived that her infant nephew just died of mysterious causes. Days earlier, the entire family was happy, healthy, and living the American dream. Now they were at the center of a terrifying medical crisis.   Duane soon died in a condition unlike anything the doctors had ever seen. As they raced to discover what disease or toxin could have done so much damage so quickly, Lt. Foster Burchard of the Omaha police began to suspect foul play. Sandy herself became a primary suspect, as did her ex-boyfriend Steven Harper—a man prone to violence who never got over their breakup.   In Toxic Love, investigative reporter and true crime author Tomás Guillén offers a detailed and vivid account of this baffling case from the day of the poisoning to the harrowing trial and the murderer’s eventual suicide on death row.  
    Show book
  • Think Little - Essays - cover

    Think Little - Essays

    Wendell Berry

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The first in the new Counterpoints series, Think Little is an evergreen, ever-urgent, and now pocket-sized argument for focused and inclusive climate change activism
    Designed and priced for point-of-sale, the Counterpoints series will feature essays, poems, and stories from Wendell Berry, Gary Snyder, Mary Robison, Betty Fussell, MFK Fisher, and many more
    Berry argues that environmental activism and policy change cannot only be a public, large-scale, corporate- and organization-led; instead, changes must happen at the person, individual, and community levels in order for our attempts to slow climate change to be successful. Just as the Civil Rights movement had to become personal, had to be adopted in homes and communities across the country in order to gain momentum and critical mass, so too does environmental activism
    Berry also reminds us that the forces that would exploit people based on their race, gender, and socioeconomic status are the same forces that are content to exploit the earth for its natural resources
    Show book
  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • Holidays Are Hell - cover

    Holidays Are Hell

    Kim Harrison, Lynsay Sands,...

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    This holiday, spend quality time with family and loved ones—living and dead . . . 
    There's no place like home for the horrordays—unless you'd prefer a romantic midnight walk through a ghost-infested graveyard . . . or a haunted house candlelight dinner with the sexy vampire of your dreams. The (black) magical season is here—and whether it's a solstice séance gone demonically wrong with the incomparable Kim Harrison, a grossly misshapen Christmas with the remarkable Lynsay Sands, a blood-chilling-and-spilling New Year's with the wonderful Marjorie M. Liu, or a super-powered Thanksgiving with the phenomenal Vicki Pettersson, one thing is for certain: in the able hands of these exceptional dark side explorers, the holidays are going to be deliciously hellish!
    Show book
  • Yellow Arrow Journal Doubt: Vol IV No 1 Winter 2019 - Yellow Arrow Journal - cover

    Yellow Arrow Journal Doubt: Vol...

    Ann Quinn, Roz Weaver, Yellow...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Volume IV, No. 1 of Yellow Arrow Journal released winter 2019. Poetry and creative nonfiction by writers that identify as women on the theme of DOUBT. 
    Featuring: T.J. Butler, Jessica Cappelluti, Diane Finlayson, Jessica Gregg, Tami Lauteren, Edele C. Morgan, Ann Quinn, Mindy Stokes, and Roz Weaver. 
    Editors: Kapua Iao, Gwen Van Velsor, and Leila Warshaw. 
     
    Thank you for supporting independent publishing.
    Show book
  • Hearts Bound Together as One: A Pride and Prejudice Variations Collection - cover

    Hearts Bound Together as One: A...

    P. O. Dixon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ❝There could have never been two hearts so open, no tastes so similar, no feelings so in unison, no countenances so beloved.❞ –Jane Austen 
    A Limited Edition Collection! 
    Here's a chance to add to your growing collection of Pride and Prejudice 'what-if' stories with two P. O. Dixon stories for under the price of one, plus a special bonus story just because. 
     
     
    Book One - Only a Heartbeat Away 
     
    Long before they meet, Miss Elizabeth Bennet entertains notions of Mr. Darcy as being good-natured, compassionate, and exceedingly handsome. Indeed, everything a gentleman ought to be. In light of the ardent disdain that he incites in her family and friends at the Meryton assembly, reconciling her favorable impression of him proves deeply unsettling. Hence she goes about making out his true nature. Boasting to the gentleman of an acquaintance with his worst enemy, however, hardly recommends her to him. 
     
    Tempestuous sparks promise to ignite into passionate flames as Darcy and Elizabeth endeavor to sketch each other’s character. 
     
    Praise for Only a Heartbeat Away: 
     
    ❝This is one story that captured my heart and soul! Thanks to Ms. Dixon for another riveting adaptation of a most beloved book!!❞ –Liz C., Amazon Reader 
     
    ❝I love Lizzy and Darcy, and I love what Dixon continually does to my beloved characters in her books.❞ –Books Hug Back 
     
     
    Book Two - Miss Elizabeth Bennet: Where the Heart Lives 
     
    Mr. Darcy emerges as a hero in Miss Elizabeth Bennet’s eyes almost from the start. With such a beginning, one might think the journey to happily ever after for Jane Austen’s beloved couple would be absent any bumps in the road. On the contrary. There are quite a few fires to be put out along the way. 
     
    Praise for Miss Elizabeth Bennet: 
     
    ❝What a setup! It makes for compelling reading through to the last page. Georgiana plays a significant role here, and there's plenty of good interplay between Darcy and Elizabeth. It's well written, as usual for this author. Good stuff!❞ –Debbie B., Goodreads Reader 
     
    ❝This is a very interesting and entirely new version of Pride and Prejudice from P.O. Dixon. All of her stories are unique and entertaining, ...❞ –Colleen C., Goodreads Reader 
     
      
    BONUS BOOK! 
    Lady Harriette: Fitzwilliam's Heart and Soul 
     
    Their hasty courtship and subsequent marriage notwithstanding, Colonel Fitzwilliam finds himself deeply in love with his beautiful wife. However, having seduced his innocent young bride, a single question haunts him—does he truly deserve his happiness? 
     
    Her husband’s lack of fortune never concerned Lady Harriette. She loves him. Young, spirited, and confident, she has always enjoyed a charmed life. When Richard’s past lands on their doorstep, suspicion rears its head, and Harriette’s questions go unanswered. Seeking explanations on her own is her only recourse. Will she uncover more than she bargained for? 
     
    Praise for Lady Harriette: 
     
    ❝While keeping the beloved Pride and Pride story in motion and being respectful of the Austen characters we adore, Dixon creates a continuing tale with romance and intrigue.❞ –Books Hug Back 
     
    ❝This is truly a romance novel with some steamy love scenes, so please take heed. You are forewarned and forearmed for a great read. I highly recommend it.❞ –Austenprose
    Show book