Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Racetrack Gangs - Four Decades of Doping Intimidation and Violent Crime - cover

The Racetrack Gangs - Four Decades of Doping Intimidation and Violent Crime

Dick Kirby

Publisher: Pen & Sword True Crime

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“So if you’re a fan of Peaky Blinders and want to read the true stories behind those characters and tales . . . this is the book for you.” —Britain’s Gangland Magazine 
 
Between the two World Wars, there was a dramatic upsurge of violence as rival criminal gangs vied for rich pickings from bookmakers at racetracks throughout England. 
 
With ready access to cash, “bookies” were a magnet for mobsters’ blackmailing demands. Refusal to pay resulted in severe punishment. Their justified fears spawned a ready “protection” market. 
 
Conflict between rival gangs were frequent and increasingly violent. Charles “Darby” Sabini with his brothers ran “The Italian Mob” who clashed with Billy Kimber and his Brummagen Hammers. 
 
Uneasy partnerships were formed but seldom lasted. The Sabinis were friendly with the Cortesi family until a rift resulted in one of the Cortesis shooting Harryboy Sabini. Other gangs such as The Titanics and The Nile Mob were ready to fill voids. As well as broken alliances, internal friction and members changing sides resulted in bloodshed on the streets, in pubs and clubs and on the courses. Public order was so threatened that the Flying Squad was tasked with the eradication of the problem and, in 1936, the celebrated Battle of Lewes Racecourse brought matters to a bloody conclusion. 
 
This well researched and gripping account describes the vicious dramas played out in the 1920s and 1930s.

Other books that might interest you

  • Old Angel Midnight - cover

    Old Angel Midnight

    Jack Kerouac

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A sensory narrative poem capturing the rhythms of the universe and secrets of the subconscious with stunning linguistic dexterity from the author of On the Road A spontaneous writing project in the form of an extended prose poem, this sonorous and spiritually playful book is one of Jack Kerouac’s most boldly experimental works. Collected from five notebooks dating from 1956 to 1959—a time in which Kerouac was immersed in Buddhist theory—Old Angel Midnight is comprised of sixty-seven short sections unified by an unwavering dedication to sounds, the subconscious, and verbal ingenuity.Friday Afternoon in the Universe, in all directions in & out you got your men women dogs children horses pones tics perts parts pans pools palls pails parturiences and petty Thieveries that turn into heavenly Buddha. Thus begins Kerouac’s Joycean language dance. From birdsong to dharmic verse, street jargon to French slang, the resonances of the universe come blaring in though the windows, unfurling their meaning as the mind lets go and listens.
    Show book
  • Inside The Beatles Sphere 1 - cover

    Inside The Beatles Sphere 1

    Geoffrey Giuliano

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Beatles live and uncut in an exclusive, unheard, impossible to find collection of historic interviews and press conferences from the trippy height of global Beatlemania.Yet more outrageous inside Beatlespeak from John, Paul, George, and Ringo literally buried in a vault for the last four-plus decades. Icon Audio is pleased and proud to present it here for the very first time ever!
    Show book
  • No Limitations - Brother Shen Xiao Feng - His Story and Writings - cover

    No Limitations - Brother Shen...

    Brother Shen Xiao Feng

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    He contemplated suicide as a boy when he developed a debilitating disease. He was constantly hounded and hunted which forced him into hiding for months at a time. He was arrested and beaten severely. He was kidnapped by one of the most dangerous cults in the world. 
    This is the true story of Brother Shen, one of the most significant Christian leaders in the world today as the head of China Gospel Fellowship. It is his story in his words. It is very unusual that an active leader of one of the major house church movements in China share his life story, let alone while he is still in active leadership. This story demonstrates that there is no limit as to what God can do in the life of a surrendered vessel. It will challenge you, encourage you and our prayer is that it will move you to action.
    ©2009 Brother Shen; (P)2009 Oasis
    Show book
  • Harperland - The Politics of Control - cover

    Harperland - The Politics of...

    Lawrence Martin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Harperland, the story Stephen Harper’s first four years in power, soared to the top of the best-seller lists in the first week it was out. Peter C. Newman called it “A book of revelations...This is Stephen Harper unplugged.” Don Martin of The National Post declared that it was an excellent book that provides insights, which the Prime Minister could well learn from. 
    In Harperland, Stephen Harper's governance comes under the microscope of prominent Globe and Mail columnist Lawrence Martin. Focusing on the growth of executive power under Harper and drawing on interviews with prominent insiders, Martin probes the smearing of opponents, the silencing of the public and diplomatic service, the secrecy, the prorogations, the unprecedented centralizing of power, and the attempted muzzling of the media. He examines controversies such as the existence of a secret dirty-tricks handbook, the Chuck Cadman affair, campaign financing, the dismissal of nuclear power head Linda Keen, the Afghan detainees cover-up, the turning of access-to-information laws into barricades to information, and more -- and lets readers draw their own conclusions. Tough but balanced, Harperland offers a clear picture of a skilled politician at a crucial point in Canadian politics. 
    Published by Post Hypnotic Press Inc. Distrubited by Big Happy Family LLC.
    Show book
  • The Road - cover

    The Road

    Jack London

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "The Road" is an autobiographical memoir by Jack London, first published in 1907. It is London's account of his experiences as a hobo in the 1890s, during the worst economic depression the United States had experienced up to that time. He describes his experiences hopping freight trains, "holding down" a train when the crew is trying to throw him off, begging for food and money, and making up extraordinary stories to fool the police. He also tells of the thirty days that he spent in the Erie County Penitentiary, which he described as a place of "unprintable horrors," after being "pinched" (arrested) for vagrancy. In addition, he recounts his time with Kelly's Army, which he joined up with in Wyoming and remained with until its dissolution at the Mississippi River.
    Show book
  • In Praise of Retreat - Finding Sanctuary in the Modern World - cover

    In Praise of Retreat - Finding...

    Kirsteen MacLeod

    • 3
    • 9
    • 1
    For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.
    		 
    An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent
    		 
    From pilgrim paths to forest cabins, and from rented hermitages to arts temples and quiet havens for yoga and meditation, In Praise of Retreat explores the pleasures and powers of this ancient practice for modern people. Kirsteen MacLeod draws on the history of retreat and personal experiences to reveal the many ways readers can step back from society to reconnect with their deepest selves — and to their loftiest aspirations in life.
    		 
    In the 21st century, disengaging, even briefly, is seen by many as self-indulgent, unproductive, and antisocial. Yet to retreat is as basic a human need as being social, and everyone can benefit, whether it’s for a weekend, a month, or a lifetime. Retreat is an uncertain adventure with as many peaks and valleys as any mountain expedition, except we head inward, to recharge and find fresh energy and brave new ideas to bring back into our everyday lives.
    Show book