Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Last Suppers - Goldy Schulz #4 - cover

The Last Suppers - Goldy Schulz #4

Diane Mott Davidson

Publisher: Endeavour Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A blissful bride, a missing groom and a rendezvous with murder. 
It should be the happiest day of Goldy's life. The Colorado caterer is about to tie the knot with the man of her dreams, homicide detective Tom Schulz. But minutes before the ceremony is to begin, Tom phones with an urgent message: The wedding is off, and the reason is murder! 
Tom was on his way to the church when he stopped to pick up Father Olson—and found the rector shot and dying. Yet by the time Tom's fellow officers arrive at the crime scene, Tom has disappeared, leaving behind a notebook that contains a cryptic message. Has the groom been abducted by the killer? Or has he gotten cold feet and walked out of Goldy's life? 
For better or worse, Goldy needs to know the truth. So she puts her exquisitely decorated wedding cake on ice and begins to search for clues. What she quickly discovers is that her fiancé's life—and her future happiness—depend on her ability to decipher Tom's note. For only it can lead her to an unsavory killer whose unholy passion may make Goldy a widow before she's a wife. 
The Last Suppers is a classic cozy mystery, perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton and Mary Higgins Clark. Featuring original recipes for such heavenly delights as Monster Cinnamon Rolls, savory Shrimp Wheels, and sinful First Wasp Latkes! 
Praise for The Last Suppers: 
"The main course on Davidson's latest menu, served with lively pacing and characterization, is satisfying and tasty." — Publisher's Weekly 
Diane Mott Davidson (born March 22, 1949) is an American author of mystery novels that use the theme of food, an idea she got from Robert B. Parker. Several recipes are included in each book, and each novel title is a play on a food or drink word. Mott Davidson was nominated for both the 1991 Anthony Award and the 1990 Agatha Award for Catering to Nobody in the "Best First Novel" category. Additionally, her story Cold Turkey won the 1993 Anthony Award for "Best Short-story".

Other books that might interest you

  • Mosaic - cover

    Mosaic

    Caro Ramsay

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Megan Melvick has returned home after a three-year absence to visit her dying sister, Melissa, for the last time.  As she approaches the grand Scottish country estate where she grew up, the memories come flooding back. Just what did happen on the night of Melissa’s wedding five years before? Where has Megan and Melissa’s mother disappeared to? And why does Melissa whisper that solitary word before she finally slips away: Sorry.  
     
    In order to overcome her demons, Megan must confront her painful recollections of that terrible night, the night of Melissa’s wedding. The night somebody died. But can she really trust her memories?  And who is it who’s determined that she should forget …?
    Show book
  • Task Lyst - cover

    Task Lyst

    Scott Hylbert

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Techno-Thriller:  Set in the heart of Silicon Valley, this thrilling story illustrates the endless possibilities that technology has in making our lives easier, but as we invite strangers in so do we invite danger.
    
    
    
     
    Convincing:  Apps are commonplace in many different facets of our every day life and everyone will relate to the fears behind these remote transactions.
    
    
    
     
    Suspenseful:  Filled with action and intrigue, this book will leave you at the edge of your seat.
    Show book
  • The Room of the Dead - cover

    The Room of the Dead

    M.R.C. Kasasian

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    'A rival for M.C. Beaton' Frost Magazine. 
     
    DECEMBER, 1939. 
     
    Having solved the case of the Suffolk Vampire, Inspector Betty Church and her colleagues at Sackwater Police Station have settled back down to business. There's the elderly Mr Fern who keeps losing his slippers, Sylvia Satin's thirteenth birthday party to attend and the scintillating case of the missing bookmark to solve. 
     
    Though peace and quiet are all well and good, Betty soon finds herself longing for some cold-blooded murder... 
     
    When a bomb is dropped on a residential street, both peace and quiet are broken and it seems the war has finally reached Sackwater. But Betty cannot stop the Hun, however hard she tries. So when a body is found on Sackwater's beach, Betty concentrates on finding the enemy much closer to home. 
     
    'Eccentric and entertaining with a nicely complex plot' Crime Review. 
     
    'A wonderfully gripping old-fashioned murder mystery' The Lady.
    Show book
  • A Grave in the Cotswolds - cover

    A Grave in the Cotswolds

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Undertaker Drew Slocombe is not having a good day. His business is failing, the car needs an MOT and he’s driving 120 miles to the Cotswolds to carry out the late Greta Simmonds’ final wishes. Unfortunately, when he gets there, a string of mistakes leaves him the chief suspect of a murder inquiry. He’s beginning to wish he had never heard of Greta Simmonds. 
    Thea Osborne is still pursuing her occupation as house-sitter, despite the disastrous incidents of the past. While staying in Greta Simmonds’ house, currently between ownership, she is torn between moving back home or waiting for the execution of the will. Then the discovery of a body in a nearby field takes the decision out of Thea’s hands, and she finds herself embroiled in a murder investigation once again. But Thea believes Drew Slocombe is innocent. As Thea and Drew work together to clear his name, it slowly dawns on them that in a village simmering with secrets, a means and a motive could be laid at anybody’s door.
    Show book
  • Mist over the Water - cover

    Mist over the Water

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The second in a brand-new medieval mystery series from the author of the popular 'Hawkenlye' series - On Ely Island, the Normans are proclaiming their authority with the construction of a magnificent cathedral. When Morcar, fishing for eels nearby, is attacked, his cousin Lassair is sent to nurse him. Morcar tells Lassair a frightening tale of assassins in the dark and a brief vision of horror. Then the killers strike again, and, as the secret hidden within the walls of Ely Abbey claims more victims, Lassair is forced to face a challenge that she fears is far beyond her . . .
    Show book
  • Out of the Dawn Light - cover

    Out of the Dawn Light

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A brand new medieval mystery from the author of the Hawkenlye series - England, 1087. On her sister's wedding day, Lassair meets an attractive and enigmatic stranger who brings a breath of the fascinating outside world to her backwater Fenland village. When he asks Lassair to use her unique talents to help locate a mysterious treasure she accepts, despite the dangers. But this is no ordinary treasure hunt; the object of the perilous search is five hundred years old and has a terrifying power of its own . . .
    Show book