Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Cereal Murders: A Culinary Murder Mystery - Goldy Schulz #3 - cover

The Cereal Murders: A Culinary Murder Mystery - Goldy Schulz #3

Diane Mott Davidson

Publisher: Endeavour Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Thanks to her recent adventures in Dying for Chocolate, Chef Goldy, the premier caterer of Aspen Meadow, Colorado, is no stranger to violence—or sudden death. But it's the last thing she expects to encounter when she agrees to cater at the exclusive Elk Park Preparatory School.  

 

Sure, the competition among students is fierce, and some of the parents do act as if they'd kill to get their children into a big-name college, but as Goldy ladles out sumptuous Early Decision Dumplings and sublime Ivy League Ice Cream Pie, the only deadly things she comes up against are snobbery and boredom … until she steps outside. 

 

There, yards from her van and half buried in the fresh October snow, is the battered body of the school valedictorian, Keith Andrews. "Saint Andrews" his classmates dubbed Keith for his holier-than-thou attitude, but was that reason enough for murder?  

 

Goldy investigates, sifting through information that leads her to believe that Keith had learned enough to blow the lid off some very unscholarly secrets. And then, as her search rattles one skeleton too many, Goldy discovers a crucial fact: a little knowledge about a killer can be a dangerous thing. 

 

The Cereal Murders mixes irresistible suspense with delicious humor to create a five-star treat. Diane Mott Davidson offers up Goldy's original recipes for such delectable dishes as heavenly Sugar Plum Cake, luscious Red 'n' White Cookies, and savory Nachos Schulz. The Cereal Murders is a mystery with a gourmet twist—and a cookbook that you won't be able to resist. 

 

 
Praise for The Cereal Murders…

 
 

"The most satisfying book yet in this increasingly popular series … mouthwatering." — The Denver Post 

 

"Cleverly constructed … an immensely likable, sympathetic heroine." — The Sun, Baltimore 

 

"A winning combination of character, plot, and setting." — Library Journal 

 

"[A] delicious combination of unique personalities, first-rate recipes and sustained suspense." — Publishers Weekly 

 

Diane Mott Davidson (born March 22, 1949) is an American author of mystery novels that use the theme of food, an idea she got from Robert B. Parker. Several recipes are included in each book, and each novel title is a play on a food or drink word. Mott Davidson was nominated for both the 1991 Anthony Award and the 1990 Agatha Award for Catering to Nobody in the "Best First Novel" category. Additionally, her story Cold Turkey won the 1993 Anthony Award for "Best Short-story".

Other books that might interest you

  • None So Deadly - A Cullen and Cobb Mystery - cover

    None So Deadly - A Cullen and...

    David A. Poulsen

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A police investigator’s murder has put Cullen and Cobb back on a twenty-five-year-old cold case. 
     
    
    
    It’s a case that has haunted Cullen and Cobb for years  — the murder of eleven-year-old Faith Unruh. And now the brutal killing of a police investigator who was similarly obsessed with the little girl’s murder has put PI Mike Cobb and former crime-writing journalist Adam Cullen back on the killer’s trail — and directly in the line of fire. 
     
    
    As the case is unfolding, Cullen is desperately trying to get out from under the thumb of a local biker gang without ruining his relationship, getting arrested … or worse.
    Show book
  • Make Them Pay - cover

    Make Them Pay

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Brock and Poole investigate a double murder and find themselves caught up in a crime with international implications . . .|Detective Chief Inspector Brock is called out to a burnt-out camper van in Richmond, Surrey. The van contained two badly burned and very dead bodies. At first thought to be an unfortunate fire, Brock and his assistant, Detective Sergeant Dave Poole, discover the truth: a double murder has been committed. As enquiries progress, it becomes clear that the dead couple were on the wrong side of the law, and Brock finds himself investigating not just a double murder, but a financial crime with international implications.
    Show book
  • The Art Teacher: Shocking Page-Turning Crime Thriller - cover

    The Art Teacher: Shocking...

    Paul Read

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'A fast-paced and gritty read.' --The Daily Mail 
    'An impressive feat' --Publishers Weekly 
    'This is a superb debut... gritty, disturbing and pacy. It opens with thrilling intensity and never lets up.' --Alex Lake, author of After Anna 
    Patrick Owen managed seven years at Highfields Secondary School without punching a pupil in the face. 
    Unknowingly drawn into a war against his own pupils, Patrick's patience finally snaps as he finds himself the number one target with the boy the school just can't seem to expel. 
    When one of his Art students needs his help, she unwittingly pulls Patrick further into the line of fire, altering their lives forever. 
    With the media circling and rumours of his involvement reaching new highs, Patrick must escape the world he lives in, or face the consequences. 
    A gritty, harrowing page-turner. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Peter James
    Show book
  • The Killing Room - A Balzano & Byrne Novel - cover

    The Killing Room - A Balzano &...

    Richard Montanari

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Nothing will ever be the same again . . .  
    In the heart of Philadelphia’s badlands, Homicide Detectives Byrne and Balzano are called out to a particularly chilling crime scene. Once the pillar of the neighbourhood, an abandoned church has become a killing room. At first it looks like a random act of violence. But then a second body is found, and a third. Each crime scene more disturbing than the last, each murder more brutal. And it soon becomes horrifyingly clear that a cold, calculating and terrifyingly precise mind is at work. With very few leads, and a mastermind who always seems to be one step ahead, Byrne and Balzano are faced with challenges they could never have imagined as they race against time to hunt down their killer, before it’s too late . . .  
      
    Discover what readers around the world already know: Richard Montanari’s novels are “relentlessly suspenseful” (Tess Gerritsen)
    Show book
  • Silent Footsteps - cover

    Silent Footsteps

    Jo Bannister

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Constable Hazel Best attracts a sinister new admirer in this absorbing police procedural.
    
    When does a secret admirer become a stalker? When chocolates on the doorstep give way to the sound of an intruder on the stairs? When the victim’s friends are waylaid in the dark and beaten bloody? When she receives photographs memorializing these events? Or when people start dying?
    
    For Constable Hazel Best, the pivot point is the attack on her friend Gabriel Ash. That’s when she focuses all her ingenuity on finding the man responsible. Her police colleagues would be more help if they weren’t already occupied with two murders – but assistance does arrive from an unexpected source.
    
    In the end, though, Hazel must deal with the stalker alone. And more than her own life will depend on the outcome …
    Show book
  • Red Dog - A Novel - cover

    Red Dog - A Novel

    Jason Miller

    • 1
    • 1
    • 1
    Pitbull fighters, shadowy ne’er-do-wells, and murder mark Jason Miller’s wry, darkly atmospheric second novel in his Little Egypt series—perfect for fans of Frank Bill and Greg Iles. 
    One hot summer day, in his home in the southern Illinois coal country known as Little Egypt—a Midwest Gothic wonderland of barren vistas, sinister hollows, petty corruption, and deeply strange characters—the self-appointed “redneck detective” known as Slim gets a visit from a shady-looking pair who introduce themselves as Sheldon Cleaves and his son, A. Evan, looking to hire him to find a missing dog. As a miner with a reputation for “bloodhounding”—tracking down missing persons the police can’t find or won’t—Slim is accustomed to looking for people, not pets. On the other hand, he needs the cash to fix his air conditioner. But when he pulls the thread that leads to the Cleaveses’ red-haired purebred pitbull—and then the dognapper is discovered with his head blown off—Slim finds himself plunged into a world of underground dogfights and white supremacists. . .  all because he just wanted to get cool.As bitingly funny as it is starkly violent, Red Dog marks the emergence of a new, gritty voice in detective fiction. 
    Show book