Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Love Uncovered - cover

Love Uncovered

Diane Holiday

Publisher: City Owl Press

  • 1
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Danger drives an archaeologist into the arms of her DEA agent ex-boyfriend in this romantic suspense novel for fans of Susan Stoker and Mary Burton.   Free-spirited Maddie Cooper never considered settling down—until Scott Fisher. But when the DEA agent left her with a broken heart and no forwarding address, Maddie dug in deeper with her first love: archaeology.   Scott suffered a tragic loss while on assignment and gave up on all the things that brought light to his life, including Maddie. She deserves far better than the dark, dangerous world that consumes him. Staying away from her turns out easier said than done as the man he’s chasing leads him to Maddie’s latest work site. Her spitfire attitude and impulsive nature have a habit of getting her into trouble, and her latest stunt places her in grave danger.   After a devastating break-in at her artifacts storage facility, Maddie’s shocked when Scott is assigned to the case. As if his reappearance and the burglary aren’t enough, a ruthless developer has moved to town and tries to bribe Maddie to falsify a survey. She’s determined to bring the crooked man down without any help, least of all from her former lover.    But with Maddie’s life on the line, Scott must win back the trust of the only woman he's ever loved before tragedy strikes again.    “This contemporary romance delivers electrifying heat between characters with a sprinkle of humor.”—InD’tale Magazine  “A fun, fast-paced story.”—Publishers Weekly
Available since: 08/21/2018.
Print length: 298 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Helga in Hiding - cover

    Helga in Hiding

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Things had been bad enough for the inspiring and beautiful young Helga Wensley when her much-loved father died some five years ago, leaving her and her mother in penury. 
    Recently her ailing mother too has passed away, which means that her stepfather, Sir Hector Preston, is now her Guardian. To make matters worse he promises her hand in marriage to a cruel and uncouth man called Bernard Howell, a Fate that she considers worse than dying. 
    As her mother suggested soon before her death, Helga goes for help to her estranged Aunt Millicent, a glamorous actress from the notorious Gaiety Theatre – and her life changes forever.
    Putting herself forward for a 'role' paying her one thousand pounds in which she pretends to be the fiancée of the dashing Hugo, Duke of Rocklington, Helga finds herself with the most sought-after bachelor in the whole of the Social world at his fabulous country seat, Rock Castle. 
    And, despite Aunt Millicent's firm instructions not to fall in love with the Duke, Helga is smitten and finds that playing the part of the lovestruck fiancée requires no acting at all. 
    But all that changes when by chance Helga again meets the dreaded Bernard Howell, who pursues her brandishing his horse whip and she races back to Rock Castle to the Duke to save her –
    Show book
  • The Counterfeit Count - A Regency Romance - cover

    The Counterfeit Count - A...

    Jo Ann Ferguson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Creighton Marshall is glad to be back in England after a long year of fighting the French. He plans to sell his captain’s commission and resume his life as Viscount Ashcroft, but his commanding officer has one more task for him: play host to Count Dmitri Dmitrieff, the hero of several Russian campaigns, who has arrived London with Czar Alexander on a state visit. He agrees reluctantly, then wishes he said no when he discovers that the count is actually a woman. Natalya Dmitrieff truly is a war hero. She took her brother’s place in the army and served without anyone guessing she was a woman. If Creighton reveals the truth, she will lose out on the prize she fought for: her family’s lands. He agrees, even more reluctantly, to keep her secret. All should go well, except that Natalya is a beautiful woman who lingers in his mind too often. But if he convinces her that she wants to put aside her disguise, think of the fun they could have while she is in London. He needs only to find a way to persuade her that she wants to be loving in his arms rather than to fight by his side. It is the greatest challenge he has ever faced, but he is determined to be the victor.
    Show book
  • Unspoken - cover

    Unspoken

    Dee Henderson

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Charlotte Graham is at the center of the most famous kidnapping in Chicago history. The task force of FBI and local cops found her two abductors, killed them, rescued her, but it took four very long years. The fact she was found less than three miles from her home, had been there the entire time, haunts them. She's changed her identity, found a profession she loves, and rebuilt her life. She's never said a word--to the cops, to her doctors, to family--about those four years. A family legacy has brought her back to Chicago where a reporter is writing a book about the kidnapping. The cops who worked the case are cooperating with him. Her options are limited: Hope the reporter doesn't find the full truth, or break her silence about what happened. And her silence is what has protected her family for years. Bryce Bishop doesn't know her past, he only knows she has coins to sell from her grandfather's estate--and that the FBI director for the Chicago office made the introduction. The more he gets to know Charlotte, the more interested he becomes, an interest encouraged by those closest to her. But nothing else is working in his favor--she's decided she is single for life, she struggles with her faith, and she's willing to forego a huge inheritance to keep her privacy. She's not giving him much of an opening to work with.Charlotte wants to trust him. She needs to tell him what happened. Because a crime cops thought was solved, has only opened another chapter...
    Show book
  • The Royal Ambition Series - The Dreadful Debutante The Savage Marquess Miss Fiona's Fancy The Viscount's Revenge The Chocolate Debutante Lady Margery's Intrigue The Paper Princess - cover

    The Royal Ambition Series - The...

    M. C. Beaton

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    A collection of seven Regency romps that draw you into a world of seduction, scandal, and sin—from the New York Times bestselling author.  The Dreadful Debutante: When Miss Mira Markham takes her hoydenish ways to London, she unexpectedly lights up the Season—and makes a most unexpected match.  The Savage Marquess: An innocent country vicar’s daughter enters into a marriage of convenience with a depraved nobleman—and realizes she may be in over her head.  Miss Fiona’s Fancy:  Fiona risks everything—including her heart—when she bets that she’ll catch the attention of the handsome and eligible Marquess of Cleveden.  The Viscount’s Revenge: His attraction to an impoverished woman threatens Lord Charles Hawksborough’s impending marriage—and exposes a dangerous secret.  The Chocolate Debutante: While braving the treacherous waters of London Society to help her niece find a match, bluestocking Harriet Tremayne doesn’t count on attracting the attentions of a lord . . .  Lady Margery’s Intrigue: Forced to snare a rich husband, a confirmed spinster never plans on falling in love—especially with a man she simply can’t stand.  The Paper Princess: Fleeing an unwanted marriage match, a woman impersonates a princess. But Lord Arthur Bessamy sees through her deception—and sets her heart on fire.  Praise for M. C. Beaton and her novels   “The best of the Regency writers.” —Kirkus Reviews   “A delightful tale . . . romance fans are in for a treat.” —Booklist   “Nicely atmospheric, most notable for its gentle humor and adventurous spirit.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • The Dawn of Love - cover

    The Dawn of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    Handsome, popular and much in demand in the Social world, Alstone, the Duke of Windlemere is bored with life and, seeking entertainment, he is drawn into a foolhardy wager with his friend Sir Hugo Benson. 
    The bet concerns whether they can successfully replicate the experiment in George Bernard Shaw's play, Pygmalion, in which Eliza Doolittle is taken from the flower market in London and trained to pass as a 'lady' in Society.
    Unbeknown to her, Sir Hugo's niece, the beautiful, innocent orphan, Lorena, whom he summons back to England from her French Convent School, is chosen by him to play the part and is taken to meet the sophisticated Windlemere Set made up of the Duke's spoilt entourage.
    On arrival with her uncle at the Duke's palatial stately home, Mere, Lorena is overawed by her surroundings and by the dashing and handsome Duke. 
    And for his part the Duke is captivated by Lorena's intelligence, honesty and loveliness. Not only is Lorena capable, it seems, of being accepted by his snobbish friends. 
    She inspires respect as well – and even love.
    Show book
  • Imperial Splendour - cover

    Imperial Splendour

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In St. Petersburg on a mission to glean intelligence for the Prime Minister on the likely intentions of Czar Alexander with regard to the ongoing war in which both Russia and the UK are at war with Napoleon's France, the dashing and eminently eligible bachelor Duke of Welminster is beset by diplomatic problems.
    The War aside, there is the issue the Princess who is pressing upon him the attractions of her daughter Tania. At thirty-three, the handsome Duke has vowed never to marry but has no choice but to agree to meet the young woman.
    But when he does, he finds Tania dancing with another young girl called Zoia. This other girl seems  to him 'as if she moves amongst trees covered with blossom and the whole world awakens with spring'. Instantly he is entranced.
    Then when he discovers she is the daughter of famous French composer Pierre Vallon and she plays for him, he is utterly smitten. But after he suffers a near-fatal injury and Zoia and her father are forced to flee the city or die, it seems that love is doomed by War.
    Show book