Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Love Uncovered - cover

Love Uncovered

Diane Holiday

Publisher: City Owl Press

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Danger drives an archaeologist into the arms of her DEA agent ex-boyfriend in this romantic suspense novel for fans of Susan Stoker and Mary Burton.   Free-spirited Maddie Cooper never considered settling down—until Scott Fisher. But when the DEA agent left her with a broken heart and no forwarding address, Maddie dug in deeper with her first love: archaeology.   Scott suffered a tragic loss while on assignment and gave up on all the things that brought light to his life, including Maddie. She deserves far better than the dark, dangerous world that consumes him. Staying away from her turns out easier said than done as the man he’s chasing leads him to Maddie’s latest work site. Her spitfire attitude and impulsive nature have a habit of getting her into trouble, and her latest stunt places her in grave danger.   After a devastating break-in at her artifacts storage facility, Maddie’s shocked when Scott is assigned to the case. As if his reappearance and the burglary aren’t enough, a ruthless developer has moved to town and tries to bribe Maddie to falsify a survey. She’s determined to bring the crooked man down without any help, least of all from her former lover.    But with Maddie’s life on the line, Scott must win back the trust of the only woman he's ever loved before tragedy strikes again.    “This contemporary romance delivers electrifying heat between characters with a sprinkle of humor.”—InD’tale Magazine  “A fun, fast-paced story.”—Publishers Weekly

Other books that might interest you

  • Out of the Ordinary (Apart From the Crowd Book #2) - cover

    Out of the Ordinary (Apart From...

    Jen Turano

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    Rollicking New Release from Humorous Historical Romance Author Jen Turano Miss Gertrude Cadwalader hoped her position as the paid companion to Mrs. Davenport would be easy. But as she becomes acquainted with her employer, she realizes the wealthy Mrs. Davenport has a strange tendency to be a bit light-fingered with other people's trinkets. Gertrude is relieved when Mrs. Davenport decides to have a quiet summer away from the social scene--until the woman changes her mind in order to help a young socialite launch into society. When Gertrude is caught in the act of trying to return one of the trinkets by Mrs. Sinclair, the mother of shipping magnate Harrison Sinclair, the woman jumps to an unfortunate conclusion. Harrison is determined to mend fences with Miss Cadwalader, but he's unprepared for the escapades a friendship with her will entail.
    Show book
  • The Wives' Revenge - A gritty saga of triumph over hardship - cover

    The Wives' Revenge - A gritty...

    Lindsey Hutchinson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Even in the hardest lives, some light must shine. 
     
    Violet Clancy can take no more of her brutal stepfather's attentions, so when he meets a tragic end she feels justice has been done. Looking around the bleak and pitiless Black Country town of Wednesbury, she realises that there are many other wrongs that she could help to put right. 
     
    Joining a coterie of women who call themselves the Wednesbury Wives, Violet and her friends are determined to win justice for the abused. Their mission is to bring a little light into the hardest lives. 
     
    Before long the wives find laughter and romance in their close-knit town. But will their friendships survive when some of their good deeds are brought into doubt, and some of their methods are called into question? And is justice always worth it, no matter what the price?
    Show book
  • Rivals For Love - cover

    Rivals For Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Two attractive, intelligent people with one thing in common both of them have sworn never to marry, unless it is for true love. Beautiful and headstrong, Lady Elva Chartham shocks her family when she denounces the debutante balls and festivities of London as a waste of her time. Determined not to bow to the pressure of polite society into an early marriage, she returns home to the pleasures of the country and to dream of travel and adventure. Little does she know that opportunities for both will be presented to her during a surprise visit from her cousin, the enigmatic Duke of Sparkbrook. Handsome and equally adamant that he will not marry the eligible young ladies paraded before him, they enter into a pact to help the British Government. Leaving the safety of England for Russia and the opulent court of Empress Catherine, Elva and the Duke grow closer as they face great danger amongst the plotters and espionage they discover. Will they succeed in their mission and return safely back to Britain? Or will their deception be discovered as they get drawn ever deeper into a court filled with desire, betrayal, revenge, and ultimately love?
    Show book
  • Caught by Surprise (Apart From the Crowd Book #3) - cover

    Caught by Surprise (Apart From...

    Jen Turano

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Miss Temperance Flowerdew is on her way to work when a stranger suddenly grabs her off the street and sends her on a Chicago-bound train before she can figure out what happened.When Mr. Gilbert Cavendish is called upon to rescue a missing woman, he follows the trail to Chicago only to discover that the woman is his good friend Temperance. Before they can discover who was behind the abduction, they're seen alone together by a New York society matron, putting their reputations at risk.Gilbert is willing to propose marriage--except Temperance will have none of it. She's finally stepped out of the shadow of her relations and won't give up her independence. But when it becomes clear the misunderstanding in Chicago has escalated into a threat on her life and followed her to New York, accepting Gilbert's help in solving the mystery may lead to more than she ever could have dreamed.
    Show book
  • The Sherrill Bodine Collection - The Rake's Redemption Scandal's Child A Soldier's Heart My Lord's Lady The Duke's Deceit and The Christmas Ball - cover

    The Sherrill Bodine Collection -...

    Sherrill Bodine

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Six sizzling Regency romances from “a talented author with a real gift for linking the modern reader to the glamorous past” (RT Book Reviews).    In The Rake’s Redemption, a gentleman’s life of luxury collides with a young widow’s journey to London, and the impact sends them tumbling into each other’s arms.   In Scandal’s Child, a marriage of convenience leads to a surprising passion between a spirited lady and a French nobleman.   A soldier returns from the war a changed man, and the love he left behind is tested in the toughest of battles in A Soldier’s Heart.   Two hotheaded nobles clash in My Lord’s Lady, only to discover that sparks fly between them.   When a woman helps a man rediscover his past in The Duke’s Deceit, she risks losing the blissful future they’ve begun to create.   And in The Christmas Ball, a masquerade party finds passions aflame while leaving identities hidden.
    Show book
  • The Audacious Adventuress - cover

    The Audacious Adventuress

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    The beautiful red-headed Druscilla Morley has been cruelly misused and abused by so-called 'gentlemen' all her young life. 
    And most recently by the lecherous Lord Walden whose children she was appointed the Governess to. 
    Not only had he forced himself upon her. Worse still he has told his wife that Druscilla was the louche philanderer and so she was summarily dismissed from their employment without any reference. 
    Little wonder then that she now dresses in the dowdiest of clothes with her hair in a matronly bun, anything to make herself unattractive to men, all of whom she despises, loathes and fears.
    Now employed as Governess to another noble household, Druscilla is startled to meet her older second cousin Valdo, the Marquis of Lynche, now a famously dashing and handsome 'ladies' man' in London Society and a considerable catch for ambitious debutantes.  And she is even more startled to find that he is engaged in an illicit affair with her employer. 
    Facing likely death in a duel with his lover's furious husband, the Marquis is forced to propose a marriage of convenience to Druscilla, who sees it as an escape from her misery loneliness.
    They are summarily married with a Special Licence and Druscilla's life now changes completely as she becomes the new Marchioness of Lynche.  
    Little does she know that her audacious adventure means that she risks losing her life – or that she is about to lose her heart.
    Show book