"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Jodie at Crater Cove - Book 2 - cover

Jodie at Crater Cove - Book 2

Diane Fagan

Publisher: Publicious Book Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Jodie Jackson is a twelve-year-old girl, who lives with her father above their boat shed in Serpentine Bay, Sydney.  She attends her mother’s old school and has made a new friend, Sarah Chan, whose mother is a famous TV chef. Sarah has panic attacks and anxiety, and Jodie encourages her to talk to her parents. 
Jodie works at her grandmother’s New Age shop on Saturdays, and is saving for a school excursion to Fraser Island. 
When the school Mother/Daughter lunch is planned, Jodie asks her Nan, because her mother died the previous year. Alicia, the class bully, constantly harasses Jodie about her family situation, her home life and even her schoolwork. 
Jodie escapes her problems by sailing her little boat to Crater Cove, where she investigates some old, abandoned shacks. She wants to draw one of them for a project in art class, and happens to discover a homeless university student, Serena. They share their ideas about the after- life, and their spiritual beliefs. 
When a bush fire rages towards the shacks, Jodie is afraid that Serena is in danger. She illegally takes her father’s runabout, and goes to Crater Cove.  Her motor dies, and she is heading for the rocks, but the water police turn up just in time, and luckily, Jodie spots Serena marooned on the rocks.  They pick her up and return to Jodie’s home, where the police threaten to give Jodie a fine. Serena stays at Jodie’s place, and her father promises to talk to the university about getting Serena accommodation. 
Jodie goes to pay her deposit for the excursion, and discovers that thirty dollars is missing.  She confronts Serena, who confesses that she needed the money for antibiotics for an infected leg that she cut on the oyster shells when she was climbing on the police boat. 
When Jodie hands in her colourful sketch of Crater Cove for art class, she realizes it was supposed to be drawn in charcoal.  She dreads the humiliation of showing it to the rest of the class. 
Nan breaks her ankle and is in hospital, but arrives in time for the Mother/Daughter lunch, where she is a special guest, and Jodie learns that she is the third generation to attend that school. 
Nan offers Serena a place to stay, in return for helping her around the house, while she is disabled wearing a boot on her foot. 
Jodie’s art teacher wants to hang her sketch of the shack at Crater Cove, in the Council Chambers. 
  
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Anne of Green Gables - A Graphic Novel - cover

    Anne of Green Gables - A Graphic...

    Mariah Marsden

    • 1
    • 25
    • 0
    The spirit of Anne is alive and well in Mariah Marsden's crisp adaptation, and it's a thrill to watch as the beloved orphan rushes headlong through Brenna Thummler's heavenly landscapes. Together Marsden and Thummler conjure all the magic and beauty of Green Gables. Like Anne herself, you won't want to leave. — Brian Selznick, author/illustrator of “The Invention of Hugo Cabret” and “The Marvels”The magic of L.M. Montgomery’s treasured classic is reimagined in a whimsically-illustrated graphic novel adaptation perfect for newcomers and kindred spirits alike.When Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert decide to adopt an orphan who can help manage their family farm, they have no idea what delightful trouble awaits them. With flame-red hair and an unstoppable imagination, 11-year-old Anne Shirley takes Green Gables by storm.Anne’s misadventures bring a little romance to the lives of everyone she meets: her bosom friend, Diana Barry; the town gossip, Mrs. Lynde; and that infuriating tease, Gilbert Blythe. From triumphs and thrills to the depths of despair, Anne turns each everyday moment into something extraordinary. 
    Show book
  • Soul Riders - The Legend Awakens - cover

    Soul Riders - The Legend Awakens

    Helena Dahlgren, Star Stable...

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Step into the second installment of the massively popular online Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game (MMORPG) Star Stable, and follow four friends who discover their magic powers and learn that every girl can be a hero in this fantasy trilogy. The Soul Riders series tells the heroic tale of four young girls who have been chosen by destiny to save the world from the ancient demon: Garnok and his band of dangerous Dark Riders.Having split up on their own individual missions at the end of book 1, the Soul Riders are now in increasing danger. In a desperate act, Anne manages to save her friends by using her newfound magical abilities. Together again, the Soul Riders feel their powers intensify as they work in unison for the first time. The legend awakens as they start their training with the druids and learn who they are and what it means to be a Soul Rider.To truly master their powers they must obtain a book that is kept by the witch Pi who was once an ally to the druids, but now has turned on them. When they return to the druids, they learn that a magical rift has been opened up threatening to destroy Winter Valley and the thousands who live there. Linda has visions of the dark and terrible fate that awaits if the Dark Riders succeed. But worst of all, they realize that they are the ones who caused the rift and have no choice but to ride out together to try and neutralize the threat . . . The Legend Awakens is the second installment in the epic, fantasy trilogy, Soul Riders, about magic, friendship, and horses bound to thrill all young equestrian fans. 
    Show book
  • Past Perfect Life - cover

    Past Perfect Life

    Elizabeth Eulberg

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An exciting new direction for acclaimed author Elizabeth Eulberg, Past Perfect Life   is a tense and tender read about secrets and lies, reality and   identity, and the ways we put ourselves back together when everything is   broken.  
     
    Small-town Wisconsin high school senior Allison Smith loves her life the way it is--spending quality time with her widowed father and her tight-knit circle of friends, including best friend Marian and maybe-more-than-friends Neil. Sure she is stressed out about college applications . . . who wouldn't be? In a few short months, everything's going to change, big time. 
     
    But when Ally files her applications, they send up a red flag . . . because she's not Allison Smith. And Ally's--make that Amanda's--ordinary life is suddenly blown apart. Was everything before a lie? Who will she be after? And what will she do as now comes crashing down around her? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, this  is the story of one teen's search for herself amid the confusion of a  shattered past and a future far from all she planned.
    Show book
  • The Gravity of Us - cover

    The Gravity of Us

    Phil Stamper

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "I'm so starry-eyed for this wise, romantic gem of a book." - Becky Albertalli, bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda  
     
    In this smart, heart-warming YA debut perfect for fans of Becky  Albertalli and Adam Silvera, two teens find love when their lives are  uprooted for their parents' involvement in a NASA mission to Mars. 
     
    Cal wants to be a journalist, and he's already well underway with almost half a million followers on his FlashFame app and an upcoming internship at Buzzfeed. But his plans are derailed when his pilot father is selected for a highly-publicized NASA mission to Mars. Within days, Cal and his parents leave Brooklyn for hot and humid Houston.  
      
    With the entire nation desperate for any new information about the astronauts, Cal finds himself thrust in the middle of a media circus. Suddenly his life is more like a reality TV show, with his constantly bickering parents struggling with their roles as the "perfect American family."  
     
    And then Cal meets Leon, whose mother is another astronaut on the mission, and he finds himself falling head over heels--and fast. They become an oasis for each other amid the craziness of this whole experience. As their relationship grows, so does the frenzy surrounding the Mars mission, and when secrets are revealed about ulterior motives of the program, Cal must find a way to get to the truth without hurting the people who have become most important to him. 
     
    An IndieBound YA Bestseller! 
    An IndieNext List Pick! 
    An Amazon Best Book! 
    A Goodreads Choice Award Finalist! 
    A Cosmopolitan Best Young Adult Book of the Year! 
    Recommended on the TODAY Show!
    Show book
  • A Heart So Fierce and Broken - cover

    A Heart So Fierce and Broken

    Brigid Kemmerer

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    In the sequel to New York Times bestselling A Curse So Dark and Lonely, Brigid Kemmerer returns to the world of Emberfall in a lush fantasy where friends become foes and love blooms in the darkest of places. 
     
    Find the heir, win the crown. 
    The curse is finally broken, but Prince Rhen of Emberfall faces darker troubles still. Rumors circulate that he is not the true heir and that forbidden magic has been unleashed in Emberfall. Although Rhen has Harper by his side, his guardsman Grey is missing, leaving more questions than answers.  
     
    Win the crown, save the kingdom.  
    Grey may be the heir, but he doesn't want anyone to know his secret. On the run since he destroyed Lilith, he has no desire to challenge Rhen--until Karis Luran once again threatens to take Emberfall by force. Her own daughter Lia Mara sees the flaws in her mother's violent plan, but can she convince Grey to stand against Rhen, even for the good of Emberfall? 
     
    The heart-pounding, compulsively readable saga continues as loyalties are tested and new love blooms in a kingdom on the brink of war.
    Show book
  • Winter Road - cover

    Winter Road

    Kristin Butcher

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sixteen-year-old Kat and her mom haven't seen much of each other since Kat's father died last year. Her mom has taken over the family trucking business and has been away a lot. She promised that Kat could join her on her next run, a journey across the frozen Manitoba lake known as the "winter road." But at the last minute she changes her mind. Kat, who has recently been diagnosed with diabetes, stows away in the back of the semi instead. By the time her mother discovers her, it's too late to turn back.
    Show book