Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Howl's Moving Castle - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Howl's Moving Castle

Diana Wynne Jones

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

  • 12
  • 249
  • 0

Summary

Diana Wynne Jones's entrancing, classic fantasy novel is filled with surprises at every turn.  
Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to fail miserably should she ever leave home to seek her fate. But when she unwittingly attracts the ire of the Witch of the Waste, Sophie finds herself under a horrid spell that transforms her into an old lady. Her only chance at breaking it lies in the ever-moving castle in the hills: the Wizard Howl's castle. To untangle the enchantment, Sophie must handle the heartless Howl, strike a bargain with a fire demon, and meet the Witch of the Waste head-on. Along the way, she discovers that there's far more to Howl—and herself—than first meets the eye. 
In this giant jigsaw puzzle of a fantasy, people and things are never quite what they seem. Destinies are intertwined, identities exchanged, lovers confused. The Witch has placed a spell on Howl. Does the clue to breaking it lie in a famous poem? And what will happen to Sophie Hatter when she enters Howl's castle?

Other books that might interest you

  • Outlaws - cover

    Outlaws

    Jen Calonita

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    WANTED: ROYAL ACADEMY OUTLAWS
     
    Things are not looking great for Princess Devin Nile. In the past 24 hours, she and her four best friends have gotten kicked out of school, banished to the Hollow Woods, and declared as outlaws. (That's what happens when you accuse the Headmistress of Royal Academy of being in league with villains.) But Devin's not about to go down without a fight. Step one? Find the famous Red Riding Hood and her vigilante friends for backup. Step two? Come up with a plan to expose the truth about Headmistress Olivina to all of Enchantasia...or risk their homeland falling under villainous rule.
     
    No pressure, right?
    Show book
  • Never Look Back - cover

    Never Look Back

    Lilliam Rivera

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Expertly blends reality and fantasy to explore what's behind love and loss, what it takes to heal." - Randy Ribay, author of National Book Award finalist Patron Saints of Nothing 
     
    Acclaimed author Lilliam  Rivera blends a touch of magical realism into a timely story about cultural identity, overcoming trauma, and the power of first love. 
     
    Eury comes to the Bronx as a girl haunted. Haunted by losing everything in Hurricane Maria--and by an evil spirit, Ato. She fully expects the tragedy that befell her and her family in Puerto Rico to catch up with her in New York. Yet, for a time, she can almost set this fear aside, because there's this boy . . . 
      
    Pheus is a golden-voiced, bachata-singing charmer, ready to spend the summer on the beach with his friends, serenading his on-again, off-again flame. That changes when he meets Eury. All he wants is to put a smile on her face and fight off her demons. But some dangers are too powerful for even the strongest love, and as the world threatens to tear them apart, Eury and Pheus must fight for each other and their lives. 
     
    Featuring contemporary Afro-Latinx characters, this retelling of the Greek myth Orpheus and Eurydice is perfect for fans of Ibi Zoboi's Pride and Daniel José Older's Shadowshaper. 
     
    A Pura Belpré Honor winner!
    Show book
  • Ten Steps To Us - cover

    Ten Steps To Us

    Attiya Khan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    What if you meet the boy of your dreams but loving him is forbidden?
    Aisha Rashid has always felt invisible, so no one is more surprised than her when Darren, the hot new boy in school, takes an interest. But Aisha is a devout Muslim and Darren is firmly off limits. Will she follow her heart even if it means losing her own identity? If only there was a way to keep the boy and her faith. Maybe there is... all it takes is ten steps...
    Show book
  • Being Toffee - cover

    Being Toffee

    Sarah Crossan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I am not who I say I am,  
     and Marla isn't who she thinks she is. 
      
     I am a girl trying to forget.  
     She is a woman trying to remember.  
      
     Allison has run away from home and with nowhere to live finds herself hiding out in the shed of what she thinks is an abandoned house. But the house isn't empty. An elderly woman named Marla, with dementia, lives there – and she mistakes Allison for an old friend from her past named Toffee. 
      
     Allison is used to hiding who she really is, and trying to be what other people want her to be. And so, Toffee is who she becomes. After all, it means she has a place to stay. There are worse places she could be. 
      
     But as their bond grows, and Allison discovers how much Marla needs a real friend, she begins to ask herself - where is home? What is a family? And most importantly, who is she, really?
    Show book
  • Bad Mermaids Meet the Sushi Sisters - cover

    Bad Mermaids Meet the Sushi Sisters

    Sibéal Pounder

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Meri Pebble, professional spy mermaid, has a new mission. She's going to be a personal assistant to the Sushi Sisters (famous for their notorious appearance on reality TV programme Catwalk Prawn, and for driving around in a submarine shaped like a giant bit of sushi). Beattie, Mimi, Zelda and Steve the talking seahorse are coming along for the ride as the least convincing glam squad ever. 
       
    Meanwhile, on land, their human friend Paris is moving from California to a castle in Scotland complete with a loch rumoured to be haunted by a mermaid.  
     
    The gang soon realise there's something o-fish-ally fishy about the Sushi Sisters – but could it lead them all the way to Paris's loch? And what has the loch got to do with things like mercats and hamstars (half hamster, half starfish)?  
    Things are getting sea-riously weird in the fourth book in Sibéal Pounder's Bad Mermaids series!
    Show book
  • The Path of Finn McCool: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    The Path of Finn McCool: A...

    Sally Prue

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A comic tale based on Irish mythology and the Giant's Causeway from award-winning author Sally Prue.  
     
    If you go to Ireland and catch the bus to Ballycastle, there by the sea you'll find the Giant's Causeway. This is the story of how the causeway was made and it all starts with Finn McCool, the biggest giant in Ireland, who sets out to find an even bigger giant across the sea in Scotland. But Finn doesn't always have the best ideas and it's up to his wife Oona to come to the rescue when the Scottish giant follows Finn back home... 
     
    This funny retelling of an Irish myth from award-winning author Sally Prue has whimsical black-and-white illustrations by Brendan Kearney and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence, covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book