Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Howl's Moving Castle - cover

Howl's Moving Castle

Diana Wynne Jones

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

  • 8
  • 147
  • 0

Summary

Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to fail miserably should she ever leave home to seek her fate. But when she unwittingly attracts the ire of the Witch of the Waste, Sophie finds herself under a horrid spell that transforms her into an old lady. Her only chance at breaking it lies in the ever-moving castle in the hills: the Wizard Howl's castle. To untangle the enchantment, Sophie must handle the heartless Howl, strike a bargain with a fire demon, and meet the Witch of the Waste head-on. Along the way, she discovers that there's far more to Howl—and herself—than first meets the eye.

Other books that might interest you

  • He Fell from the Sky - cover

    He Fell from the Sky

    Judy Fischer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Canadian 
    Until now there has been no magic, no adventure in Mary Bell's life. Her small community in northern Saskatchewan is not a place where anything ever happens. Other than a heinous murder some thirty years ago, Buffalo Narrows has remained unscathed by notoriety. The population of Aboriginal people and of ancestors of European settlers, cohabit the tiny remote town and together they enjoy a peaceful, harmonious and simple but difficult existence.  
    But then on a beautiful summer day, in 2000, life as Mary Bell knows it, comes to a sudden halt.   
    A small Cessna hydroplane with five passengers on board crashes in the fields near Mary's town and she is the only witness to a bloody and fatal tragedy.  
    Jack Holden, a lawyer and human rights activist enters the scene and turns Mary's dreary life upside down. Not only does she fall in love, but a truth about her community, an ugly truth is revealed. An adventure which she dared only to dream about, is presented to her.  
    A gripping tale of romance and self-discovery mixed in with a relevant social issue.
    Show book
  • Scion of the Fox - The Realms of Ancient Book 1 - cover

    Scion of the Fox - The Realms of...

    S.M. Beiko

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    As the winter ice begins to thaw, the fury of a demon builds — all because one girl couldn’t stay dead . . .
     
    Roan Harken considers herself a typical high school student — dead parents, an infected eyeball, and living in the house of her estranged, currently comatose grandmother (well, maybe not so typical) — but she’s uncovering the depth of the secrets her family left behind. Saved from the grasp of Death itself by a powerful fox spirit named Sil, Roan must harness mysterious ancient power . . . and quickly. A snake-monster called Zabor lies in wait in the bed of the frozen Assiniboine River, hungry for the sacrifice of spirit-blood in exchange for keeping the flood waters at bay. Thrust onto an ancient battlefield, Roan soon realizes that to maintain the balance of the world, she will have to sacrifice more than her life in order to take her place as Scion of the Fox.
     
    American Gods meets Princess Mononoke in this powerful first installment of a trilogy sure to capture readers’ imaginations everywhere.
    Show book
  • Aiden - The Keatyn Chronicles Series - cover

    Aiden - The Keatyn Chronicles...

    Jillian Dodd

    • 1
    • 60
    • 0
    The God of all Hotties, with his dreamy green eyes and abs to die for. When Keatyn goes to Eastbrooke, their attraction is intense. He gives her a four-leaf clover, kisses her atop the Ferris wheel, and turns her brain to cotton candy. 
    But . . . there’s always a but in love stories, right?  
    Discover when and how Aiden learned who Keatyn really was, and why he didn’t confront her with his knowledge in pivotal new scenes from his point of view.  
    **This book contains series spoilers. Please finish book seven before reading this.
    Show book
  • Midnight Kiss - The Koto Chronicles #3 - cover

    Midnight Kiss - The Koto...

    Jody Morse, Jayme Morse

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    With the killer still on the loose, Skye and her friends venture to North Dakota with Samara, Declan, Emma, and Colby in tow to rescue Chance and Hunter from the Santos, the werewolf pack that’s taken them. The only problem? Petro, the Alpha of the Santos, gives them a series of tasks they must complete before they can have their friends back—a series of tasks that are just as improbable to complete as they are deadly.   
    Skye’s decided to put her love life on the back burner and focus on getting the twins back, but when a witch tells her that she will be kissed by her mate at midnight on her last day in North Dakota, she has no other choice than to face it head-on.
    Show book
  • Aesop's Fables - Bedtime Stories (Illustrated) - cover

    Aesop's Fables - Bedtime Stories...

    Aesop Aesop

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Aesops Fables - Bedtime Stories (Illustrated)
     
    Meet a tortoise that wins race against hare, greedy donkey, a tortoise who wants to fly, a clever lion and many other animals in this collection of tales, retold especially for children. Aesop’s fables are the perfect way to learn important lessons about life through the adventures of some unforgettable animal friends. It's a good source of bedtime stories for kids and moral story book for every reader.For centuries, children and adults have treasured the stories handed down by Aesop, a slave who lived in ancient Greece approximately six centuries B.C. Known for their charm and simplicity, these simple tales feature brief adventures of animals, birds, and beasts — with a message hidden in each narrative. With infamous vignettes, such as the race between the hare and the tortoise, the vain jackdaw, and the wolf in sheep’s clothing, the themes of the fables remain as fresh today as when they were first told and give an insight into the Ancient Greek world.ABOUT THE AUTHOR:Aesop (620–564 BCE) was an Ancient Greek story teller credited with a number of fables now collectively known as Aesop's Fables. Although his existence remains uncertain and (if they ever existed) no writings by him survive, numerous tales credited to him were gathered across the centuries and in many languages in a storytelling tradition that continues to this day. Many of the tales are characterized by animals and inanimate objects that speak, solve problems, and generally have human characteristics.Scattered details of Aesop's life can be found in ancient sources. An ancient literary work called 'The Aesop Romance' tells an episodic, probably highly fictional version of his life, including the traditional description of him as a strikingly ugly slave who by his cleverness acquires freedom and becomes an adviser to kings and city-states.
    Show book
  • Red Queen - cover

    Red Queen

    Victoria Aveyard

    • 9
    • 62
    • 0
    The #1 New York Times bestselling series! 
    Red Queen, by #1 New York Times bestselling author Victoria Aveyard, is a sweeping tale of power, intrigue, and betrayal, perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series.  
    Mare Barrow's world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own. 
     
    To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. 
    One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal. 
    And don’t miss War Storm, the thrilling final book in the bestselling Red Queen series!
    Show book